Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Heraklion, Crete, Greece, past 30 days

Updated 1 Mar 2021 05:07 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Heraklion was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 24 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 16 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.0 quake Eastern Mediterranean, 76 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece, 16 Feb 2021 6:27 pm (GMT +2)
Biggest quake today: 2.6 quake Aegean Sea, 39 km northeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece, 28 Feb 2021 7:45 pm (GMT +2)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (42 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Feb 2021 7:45 pm (GMT +2) (28 Feb 2021 17:45:57 GMT)
2.6

50 km
(95 km)Aegean Sea, 39 km northeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Feb 2021 19:15:01 GMT
1.3

5 km
(138 km)1 Km E From Agios Nikolaos, Greece MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
26 Feb 2021 11:52 pm (GMT +2) (26 Feb 2021 21:52:29 GMT)
2.6

12 km
(148 km)10.3 km north of Ierapetra, Lasithi, Crete, Greece MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 2:33 am (GMT +2) (26 Feb 2021 00:33:30 GMT)
1.6

14 km
(177 km)37 Km WSW From Arvi, Greece MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Feb 2021 3:05 am (GMT +2) (23 Feb 2021 01:05:47 GMT)
2.4

5.4 km
(118 km)Aegean Sea, 68 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 1:33 am (GMT +2) (22 Feb 2021 23:33:12 GMT)
1.6

6.1 km
(174 km)17 Km S From Arvi, Greece MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 5:57 pm (GMT +2) (22 Feb 2021 15:57:56 GMT)
2.3

9.7 km
(182 km)6.2 km northeast of Ierapetra, Lasithi, Crete, Greece MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 5:09 pm (GMT +2) (22 Feb 2021 15:09:08 GMT)
2.2

16 km
(186 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 64 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 2:10 pm (GMT +2) (20 Feb 2021 12:10:09 GMT)
2.0

19 km
(177 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 55 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 7:25 am (GMT +2) (20 Feb 2021 05:25:31 GMT)
1.7

7.1 km
(190 km)GIRIT ADASI ACIKLARI (MEDITERRANEAN SEA), Greece MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 7:25 am (GMT +2) (20 Feb 2021 05:25:29 GMT)
2.1

43 km
(198 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 89 km southwest of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 4:44 am (GMT +2) (20 Feb 2021 02:44:04 GMT)
2.2

10 km
(52 km)Aegean Sea, 52 km south of Santorini Island, Greece MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Feb 2021 10:17 pm (GMT +2) (19 Feb 2021 20:17:04 GMT)
2.2

38 km
(182 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 73 km southwest of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 9:18 pm (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 19:18:52 GMT)
2.5

25 km
(187 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 65 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 7:18 pm (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 17:18:25 GMT)
2.8

33 km
(189 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 68 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
16 Feb 2021 6:27 pm (GMT +2) (16 Feb 2021 16:27:19 GMT)
3.0

32 km
(179 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 76 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 6:02 am (GMT +2) (16 Feb 2021 04:02:29 GMT)
3.0

33 km
(180 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 76 km southwest of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 3:42 pm (GMT +2) (14 Feb 2021 13:42:01 GMT)
1.9

19 km
(201 km)42 Km ESE From Gavdhos, Greece MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 8:35 am (GMT +2) (14 Feb 2021 06:35:09 GMT)
2.5

19 km
(192 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 59 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Feb 2021 1:17 pm (GMT +2) (13 Feb 2021 11:17:12 GMT)
2.4

34 km
(191 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 64 km southwest of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
13 Feb 2021 12:02 am (GMT +2) (12 Feb 2021 22:02:58 GMT)
1.5

28 km
(203 km)6 Km SW From Tympaki, Greece MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 1:42 pm (GMT +2) (12 Feb 2021 11:42:33 GMT)
1.5

14 km
(177 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 55 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Feb 2021 7:32 am (GMT +2) (11 Feb 2021 05:32:08 GMT)
2.0

8.1 km
(144 km)24 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 1:57 am (GMT +2) (10 Feb 2021 23:57:02 GMT)
0.9

7.6 km
(163 km)13 Km SE From Tympaki, Greece MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 4:09 am (GMT +2) (10 Feb 2021 02:09:04 GMT)
1.5

5 km
(186 km)29 Km S From Arvi, Greece MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 00:31:41 GMT
1.9

5 km
(191 km)GIRIT ADASI ACIKLARI (MEDITERRANEAN SEA), Greece MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 5:59 am (GMT +2) (9 Feb 2021 03:59:48 GMT)
2.1

30 km
(194 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 84 km southwest of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 4:54 pm (GMT +2) (7 Feb 2021 14:54:50 GMT)
2.6

24 km
(199 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 89 km southwest of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 2:29 am (GMT +2) (7 Feb 2021 00:29:50 GMT)
1.6

41 km
(144 km)18 Km NW From Arvi, Greece MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 1:46 am (GMT +2) (6 Feb 2021 23:46:02 GMT)
1.6

28 km
(160 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 61 km southwest of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 6:14 pm (GMT +2) (6 Feb 2021 16:14:54 GMT)
1.8

25 km
(166 km)8 Km SSE From Tympaki, Greece MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 11:54 am (GMT +2) (6 Feb 2021 09:54:55 GMT)
2.2

5 km
(201 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 85 km southwest of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 11:01 am (GMT +2) (6 Feb 2021 09:01:11 GMT)
2.8

12 km
(160 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 50 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 8:02 am (GMT +2) (6 Feb 2021 06:02:23 GMT)
2.0

16 km
(174 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 71 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 7:41 am (GMT +2) (6 Feb 2021 05:41:50 GMT)
2.4

14 km
(111 km)Aegean Sea, 71 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 12:29 am (GMT +2) (4 Feb 2021 22:29:45 GMT)
1.7

17 km
(144 km)20 Km NW From Arvi, Greece MoreMap
Tue, 2 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Feb 2021 8:03 pm (GMT +2) (2 Feb 2021 18:03:11 GMT)
2.2

27 km
(167 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 5.6 km east of Saint Paul Islet Island, Crete, Greece MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 11:56 am (GMT +2) (2 Feb 2021 09:56:49 GMT)
2.7

12 km
(151 km)29 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Feb 2021 4:56 am (GMT +2) (1 Feb 2021 02:56:57 GMT)
1.7

28 km
(157 km)38 Km SE From Tympaki, Greece MoreMap
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
31 Jan 2021 11:21 pm (GMT +2) (31 Jan 2021 21:21:05 GMT)
1.4

19 km
(154 km)28 Km W From Arvi, Greece MoreMap
Sat, 30 Jan 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
30 Jan 2021 11:26 pm (GMT +2) (30 Jan 2021 21:26:10 GMT)
2.6

24 km
(184 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 63 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
30 Jan 2021 10:46 pm (GMT +2) (30 Jan 2021 20:46:01 GMT)
2.0

13 km
Sousaki (2 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 68 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1010 joules (3.25 megawatt hours, equivalent to 2.8 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.