Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 23, 2021 20:14 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes near San Miguel, Departamento de San Miguel, El Salvador: August 2021

Updated Oct 23, 2021 20:14 GMT -
During Aug 2021, San Miguel was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 11 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.5 quake North Pacific Ocean, 33 km southeast of La Union, El Salvador, Aug 6, 2021 11:30 am (GMT -6)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (18 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 31, 2021 06:04 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Aug 31, 2021 12:04 am (GMT -6) (Aug 31, 2021 06:04 GMT)
2.1

5 km
1 km (0.6 mi)18 km north of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 31, 2021 12:04 am (GMT -6) (Aug 31, 2021 06:04 GMT)
1.8

5 km
5 km (3.1 mi)10.6 km west of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 31, 2021 12:03 am (GMT -6) (Aug 31, 2021 06:03 GMT)
2.7

1 km
37 km (23 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 44 km south of La Union, El Salvador MoreMap
Monday, August 30, 2021 08:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 30, 2021 2:33 am (GMT -6) (Aug 30, 2021 08:33 GMT)
4.0

35 km
66 km (41 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 63 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Sunday, August 29, 2021 04:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 28, 2021 10:46 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 29, 2021 04:46 GMT)
2.6

36 km
65 km (40 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 62 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Thursday, August 26, 2021 01:10 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 25, 2021 7:10 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 26, 2021 01:10 GMT)
3.8

33 km
65 km (40 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southwest of Puerto El Triunfo, El Salvador 2 reportsMoreMap
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 14:14 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 18, 2021 8:14 am (GMT -6) (Aug 18, 2021 14:14 GMT)
4.2

38 km
68 km (42 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 64 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 18, 2021 2:41 am (GMT -6) (Aug 18, 2021 08:41 GMT)
2.8

34 km
63 km (39 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 58 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Monday, August 16, 2021 08:10 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 16, 2021 2:10 am (GMT -6) (Aug 16, 2021 08:10 GMT)
2.0

4 km
9 km (5.6 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 25 km southwest of San Lorenzo, Honduras MoreMap
Aug 16, 2021 2:10 am (GMT -6) (Aug 16, 2021 08:10 GMT)
2.8

8 km
19 km (12 mi)13 km southwest of La Union, La Unión, Departamento de La Union, El Salvador MoreMap
Thursday, August 12, 2021 02:47 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 11, 2021 8:47 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 12, 2021 02:47 GMT)
3.2

55 km
43 km (27 mi)North Pacific Ocean, El Salvador MoreMap
Wednesday, August 11, 2021 07:51 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Aug 11, 2021 1:51 am (GMT -6) (Aug 11, 2021 07:51 GMT)
2.3

5 km
39 km (24 mi)Departamento de La Union, 22 km east of San Francisco, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 11, 2021 1:51 am (GMT -6) (Aug 11, 2021 07:51 GMT)
2.5

7 km
3 km (1.9 mi)16 km southeast of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 11, 2021 1:51 am (GMT -6) (Aug 11, 2021 07:51 GMT)
2.4

1 km
12 km (7.5 mi)12 km northeast of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Monday, August 9, 2021 10:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 9, 2021 4:32 am (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2021 10:32 GMT)
3.3

27 km
70 km (43 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 66 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Friday, August 6, 2021 17:30 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 6, 2021 11:30 am (GMT -6) (Aug 6, 2021 17:30 GMT)
4.5

188 km
17 km (10.6 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 33 km southeast of La Union, El Salvador MoreMap
Wednesday, August 4, 2021 04:25 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 3, 2021 10:25 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 4, 2021 04:25 GMT)
2.7

48 km
55 km (34 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 49 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Monday, August 2, 2021 08:29 GMT (1 earthquake)
2021-08-02 02:29:57 (Aug 2, 2021 08:29 GMT)
2.8

28 km
66 km (41 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 62 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.9 x 1011 joules (164 megawatt hours, equivalent to 141 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.