Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near San Vicente, El Salvador, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, February 2, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 2, 2023 22:26 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 4 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, San Vicente was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.4, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 9 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 4 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A moderate magnitude 4.4 earthquake occurred in Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 23 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.3 | Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 19 km W of Ahuachapan, El Salvador -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.4 | 30 km S of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near San Vicente, El Salvador (updated )

Past 24 hours16 quakes9 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 7 days95 quakes48 quakes M2+24 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 30 days800 quakes453 quakes M2+139 quakes M3+0 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days1,203 quakes685 quakes M2+275 quakes M3+12 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+
Past 365 days3,294 quakes1,874 quakes M2+900 quakes M3+99 quakes M4+12 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, February 2, 2023 GMT (15 quakes)
Feb 2, 2023 1:17 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 19:17 GMT)
2.3

9 km
Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 19 km west of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Feb 2, 2023 10:03 am (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 16:03 GMT)
3.2

29 km
North Pacific Ocean, 94 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Feb 2, 2023 6:35 am (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 12:35 GMT)
2.0

8 km
Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 15 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Feb 2, 2023 4:43 am (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 10:43 GMT)
3.0

2 km
Departamento de Intibuca, 36 km west of Siguatepeque, Honduras
I FELT IT
More
Feb 2, 2023 3:50 am (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 09:50 GMT)
1.8

11 km
8.3 km north of Ahuachapan, Ahuachapán, Departamento de Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Feb 2, 2023 3:22 am (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 09:22 GMT)
2.1

10 km
Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 16 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Feb 2, 2023 2:00 am (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 08:00 GMT)
2.2

6 km
Guatemala, 15 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Feb 2, 2023 1:55 am (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 07:55 GMT)
2.3

1 km
North Pacific Ocean, 49 km south of Sonsonate, El Salvador More
Feb 2, 2023 1:54 am (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 07:54 GMT)
2.5

21 km
North Pacific Ocean, 85 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador More
Feb 2, 2023 1:27 am (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 07:27 GMT)
1.8

7 km
25 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Feb 2, 2023 1:13 am (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 07:13 GMT)
1.9

29 km
North Pacific Ocean, 22 km south of Sonsonate, El Salvador More
Feb 1, 2023 10:24 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 04:24 GMT)
2.7

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 74 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Feb 1, 2023 10:17 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 04:17 GMT)
2.5

8 km
23 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Feb 1, 2023 8:48 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 02:48 GMT)
2.1

8 km
Guatemala, 14 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Feb 1, 2023 7:29 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 2, 2023 01:29 GMT)
1.9

7 km
Guatemala, 14 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Wednesday, February 1, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 1, 2023 5:10 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 1, 2023 23:10 GMT)
4.4

12 km
30 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 1011 joules (72.1 megawatt hours, equivalent to 62 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Montecristo, El Salvador (SNET/SV network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Montecristo, El Salvador: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

San Vicente Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in San Vicente?

The last earthquake in San Vicente occurred 3 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.3 earthquake - Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 19 km west of Ahuachapan, El Salvador, on Thursday, Feb 2, 2023 at 1:17 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in San Vicente today?

In the past 24 hours, San Vicente, El Salvador had 16 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in San Vicente today?

The strongest earthquake in San Vicente today occurred 23 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - 30 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, on Wednesday, Feb 1, 2023 at 5:10 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 2, 2023 22:26 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings