Latest quakes in or near San Diego City, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Monday, August 15, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 15, 2022 22:44 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 32 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, San Diego had 1 quake of magnitude 2.1. There were also 32 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 2.1 earthquake occurred in 6km S of Niland, CA, 23 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.9 | 9km NNE of Cabazon, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.1 | 6km S of Niland, CA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near San Diego, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:10 quakes | 1 quake M2+
Past 7 days:95 quakes | 8 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:406 quakes | 33 quakes M2+ | 24 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:1,319 quakes | 139 quakes M2+ | 78 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:5,306 quakes | 572 quakes M2+ | 259 quakes M3+ | 11 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 5 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (38 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, August 15, 2022 GMT (34 quakes)
Aug 15, 2022 1:53 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 20:53 GMT)
0.9

14 km
9km NNE of Cabazon, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:38 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 19:38 GMT)
1.1

0.3 km
Quarry Blast - 2km W of Rancho San Diego, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:22 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 19:22 GMT)
1.7

0.4 km
Quarry Blast - 5km SE of Chula Vista, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:08 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 19:08 GMT)
0.6

7.5 km
24km NNW of Borrego Springs, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 11:46 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 18:46 GMT)
?

n/a
1.2 mi northwest of Baldwin Park, Los Angeles County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 10:27 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 17:27 GMT)
1.1

0.2 km
Quarry Blast - 14km SSE of Ocotillo Wells, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 10:15 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 17:15 GMT)
0.7

6.8 km
6km WNW of Morongo Valley, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 7:20 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 14:20 GMT)
0.5

6.7 km
13km WNW of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 6:32 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 13:32 GMT)
0.4

15 km
9km S of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 5:43 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 12:43 GMT)
0.9

15 km
3km SE of Loma Linda, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 5:05 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 12:05 GMT)
0.3

14 km
17km SE of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 3:29 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 10:29 GMT)
0.9

13 km
10km S of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 3:07 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 10:07 GMT)
?

n/a
2.8 km northeast of Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 2:30 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 09:30 GMT)
0.6

14 km
19km E of Julian, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 1:13 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 08:13 GMT)
0.1

14 km
18km ESE of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 1:07 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 08:07 GMT)
0.1

4.7 km
15km S of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 1:06 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 08:06 GMT)
0.4

17 km
8km SW of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:59 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 07:59 GMT)
1.3

7.4 km
6km S of Niland, CA 1 reportMoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:47 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 07:47 GMT)
0.2

16 km
9km S of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:47 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 07:47 GMT)
0.6

15 km
10km S of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:47 am (GMT -7) (Aug 15, 2022 07:47 GMT)
0.5

15 km
10km S of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 108 joules (44.9 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

San Diego Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in San Diego?

The last earthquake in San Diego occurred 1 hour and 51 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.9 earthquake - 9km NNE of Cabazon, CA, on Monday, Aug 15, 2022 at 1:53 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in San Diego today?

In the past 24 hours, San Diego City, California, USA had 38 quakes up to magnitude 2.1.

What was the strongest quake in San Diego today?

The strongest earthquake in San Diego today occurred 23 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.1 earthquake - 6km S of Niland, CA, on Sunday, Aug 14, 2022 at 4:36 pm (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 15, 2022 22:44 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings