Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Ōfunato, Ōfunato-shi, Iwate, Japan, past 30 days

Updated 10 Apr 2021 23:39 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Ōfunato was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 7.0, 1 quake of magnitude 5.0, 1 quake of magnitude 4.0, 13 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 23 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 7.0 quake 16 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan, 20 Mar 2021 6:09 pm (GMT +9)
Biggest quake today: 3.3 quake North Pacific Ocean, 30 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan, Apr 10, 2021 11:02:25.56
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (39 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sat, 10 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Apr 10, 2021 11:02:25.56 (10 Apr 2021 02:02:25 GMT)
3.3

45 km
(117 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 9 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
9 Apr 2021 3:46 pm (GMT +9) (9 Apr 2021 06:46:06 GMT)
2.8

55 km
(124 km)North Pacific Ocean, 35 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 9:38 am (GMT +9) (9 Apr 2021 00:38:20 GMT)
3.7

133 km
(38 km)Shiwa-gun, 20 km south of Morioka, Iwate, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 7 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
7 Apr 2021 3:45 pm (GMT +9) (7 Apr 2021 06:45:38 GMT)
2.9

67 km
(77 km)North Pacific Ocean, 35 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
7 Apr 2021 2:09 pm (GMT +9) (7 Apr 2021 05:09:41 GMT)
2.7

53 km
(87 km)North Pacific Ocean, 39 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
7 Apr 2021 10:31 am (GMT +9) (7 Apr 2021 01:31:37 GMT)
2.5

46 km
(116 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 6 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Apr 2021 11:27 am (GMT +9) (6 Apr 2021 02:27:37 GMT)
3.0

34 km
(125 km)North Pacific Ocean, 80 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 5 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Apr 2021 4:15 am (GMT +9) (5 Apr 2021 19:15:53 GMT)
3.0

37 km
(122 km)North Pacific Ocean, 78 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 4 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Apr 2021 9:04 pm (GMT +9) (4 Apr 2021 12:04:13 GMT)
2.6

41 km
(128 km)North Pacific Ocean, 58 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 3 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
4 Apr 2021 7:19 am (GMT +9) (3 Apr 2021 22:19:51 GMT)
2.8

52 km
(125 km)North Pacific Ocean, 72 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
4 Apr 2021 4:29 am (GMT +9) (3 Apr 2021 19:29:25 GMT)
2.6

53 km
(86 km)North Pacific Ocean, 38 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
4 Apr 2021 12:25 am (GMT +9) (3 Apr 2021 15:25:49 GMT)
3.0

30 km
(131 km)North Pacific Ocean, 63 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
3 Apr 2021 9:58 pm (GMT +9) (3 Apr 2021 12:58:26 GMT)
5.0

45 km
(110 km)North Pacific Ocean, 35 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
3 Apr 2021 5:41 am (GMT +9) (2 Apr 2021 20:41:16 GMT)
2.5

32 km
(130 km)North Pacific Ocean, 63 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
3 Apr 2021 12:10 am (GMT +9) (2 Apr 2021 15:10:30 GMT)
4.0

72 km
(76 km)North Pacific Ocean, 34 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Apr 2021 6:34 pm (GMT +9) (1 Apr 2021 09:34:19 GMT)
2.5

61 km
(97 km)3.8 km south of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 31 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
1 Apr 2021 5:21 am (GMT +9) (31 Mar 2021 20:21:10 GMT)
2.9

37 km
(119 km)North Pacific Ocean, 65 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
1 Apr 2021 2:07 am (GMT +9) (31 Mar 2021 17:07:37 GMT)
3.3

86 km
(44 km)3.7 km west of Kitakami, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
31 Mar 2021 11:19 pm (GMT +9) (31 Mar 2021 14:19:24 GMT)
3.8

52 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 39 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 30 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
30 Mar 2021 4:55 pm (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 07:55:18 GMT)
2.6

52 km
(111 km)North Pacific Ocean, 45 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 12:02 pm (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 03:02:57 GMT)
2.5

132 km
(49 km)7.3 km west of Hanamaki, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 9:18 am (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 00:18:23 GMT)
3.1

41 km
(127 km)North Pacific Ocean, 86 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Mar 2021 8:25 pm (GMT +9) (29 Mar 2021 11:25:04 GMT)
2.7

55 km
(141 km)North Pacific Ocean, 63 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 28 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
29 Mar 2021 4:54 am (GMT +9) (28 Mar 2021 19:54:53 GMT)
3.0

34 km
(125 km)North Pacific Ocean, 73 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
28 Mar 2021 8:18 pm (GMT +9) (28 Mar 2021 11:18:09 GMT)
2.6

50 km
(140 km)North Pacific Ocean, 73 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 26 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
26 Mar 2021 1:10 pm (GMT +9) (26 Mar 2021 04:10:53 GMT)
3.0

51 km
(90 km)North Pacific Ocean, 41 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
26 Mar 2021 12:49 pm (GMT +9) (26 Mar 2021 03:49:08 GMT)
2.7

15 km
(59 km)Miyako-shi, 24 km north of Tōno, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 24 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
25 Mar 2021 7:44 am (GMT +9) (24 Mar 2021 22:44:42 GMT)
2.5

35 km
(135 km)North Pacific Ocean, 52 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
24 Mar 2021 5:35 pm (GMT +9) (24 Mar 2021 08:35:15 GMT)
2.9

55 km
(82 km)North Pacific Ocean, 27 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 21 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
22 Mar 2021 4:42 am (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 19:42:40 GMT)
3.1

51 km
(91 km)North Pacific Ocean, 41 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 5:50 pm (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 08:50:17 GMT)
2.6

39 km
(117 km)North Pacific Ocean, 72 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 5:36 pm (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 08:36:05 GMT)
2.6

38 km
(117 km)North Pacific Ocean, 72 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
20 Mar 2021 7:25 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 10:25:43 GMT)
3.6

15 km
(98 km)North Pacific Ocean, 44 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 6:09 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 09:09:45 GMT)
7.0

44 km
(63 km)16 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan 100 reportsMoreMap
Thu, 18 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Mar 2021 4:52 am (GMT +9) (18 Mar 2021 19:52:00 GMT)
2.8

47 km
(96 km)North Pacific Ocean, 13 km east of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 17 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 Mar 2021 11:48 pm (GMT +9) (17 Mar 2021 14:48:33 GMT)
3.8

45 km
(107 km)North Pacific Ocean, 36 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
17 Mar 2021 2:09 pm (GMT +9) (17 Mar 2021 05:09:08 GMT)
2.9

107 km
(63 km)Motoyoshi Gun, 32 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 15 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Mar 2021 5:46 am (GMT +9) (15 Mar 2021 20:46:15 GMT)
2.5

114 km
(51 km)22 km southeast of Ichinoseki, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 12 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Mar 2021 7:03 am (GMT +9) (12 Mar 2021 22:03:12 GMT)
2.8

33 km
(131 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2 x 1015 joules (555 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4.8 x 105 tons of TNT or 29.8 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.