Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes near Ōfunato, Ōfunato-shi, Iwate, Japan, during the year 2020

Updated 23 Apr 2021 08:55 GMT -
During 2020, Ōfunato was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 1 quake of magnitude 5.0, 25 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 36 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 13 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 6.4 quake North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan, 19 April 2020 20:39 GMT
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (77 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
31 Dec 2020 5:11 am (GMT +9) (30 Dec 2020 20:11:02 GMT)
3.6

41 km
(128 km)North Pacific Ocean, 60 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 6:25 pm (GMT +9) (30 Dec 2020 09:25:38 GMT)
2.7

36 km
(116 km)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km east of Kasakai-jima Island, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Dec 2020 11:40 am (GMT +9) (28 Dec 2020 02:40:54 GMT)
2.9

66 km
(70 km)North Pacific Ocean, 33 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Dec 2020 4:12 pm (GMT +9) (27 Dec 2020 07:12:17 GMT)
2.9

47 km
(111 km)North Pacific Ocean, 40 km northeast of Kasakai-jima Island, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
26 Dec 2020 8:35 am (GMT +9) (25 Dec 2020 23:35:17 GMT)
2.5

41 km
(112 km)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km northeast of Kasakai-jima Island, Japan MoreMap
26 Dec 2020 6:32 am (GMT +9) (25 Dec 2020 21:32:32 GMT)
4.4

19 km
(76 km)7.7 km northwest of Miyako, Iwate, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
26 Dec 2020 3:07 am (GMT +9) (25 Dec 2020 18:07:51 GMT)
2.7

44 km
(105 km)North Pacific Ocean, 36 km northeast of Kasakai-jima Island, Japan MoreMap
26 Dec 2020 1:58 am (GMT +9) (25 Dec 2020 16:58:53 GMT)
2.6

47 km
(96 km)North Pacific Ocean, 13 km east of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
25 Dec 2020 11:16 pm (GMT +9) (25 Dec 2020 14:16:22 GMT)
3.1

64 km
(139 km)North Pacific Ocean, 60 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
25 Dec 2020 7:23 pm (GMT +9) (25 Dec 2020 10:23:04 GMT)
2.8

64 km
(78 km)North Pacific Ocean, 21 km south of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
25 Dec 2020 6:27 am (GMT +9) (24 Dec 2020 21:27:25 GMT)
4.5

103 km
(64 km)Kesennuma Shi, Miyagi, 35 km southeast of Ichinoseki, Iwate, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
25 Dec 2020 6:02 am (GMT +9) (24 Dec 2020 21:02:07 GMT)
3.2

41 km
(125 km)North Pacific Ocean, 59 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Dec 2020 10:08 pm (GMT +9) (23 Dec 2020 13:08:37 GMT)
4.1

63 km
(143 km)North Pacific Ocean, 66 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 21 Dec 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
22 Dec 2020 4:49 am (GMT +9) (21 Dec 2020 19:49:53 GMT)
3.2

55 km
(140 km)North Pacific Ocean, 75 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
21 Dec 2020 9:11 pm (GMT +9) (21 Dec 2020 12:11:10 GMT)
2.7

44 km
(129 km)North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
20 Dec 2020 6:35 pm (GMT +9) (20 Dec 2020 09:35:48 GMT)
5.0

41 km
(127 km)North Pacific Ocean, 61 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
20 Dec 2020 4:34 pm (GMT +9) (20 Dec 2020 07:34:05 GMT)
2.7

53 km
(87 km)North Pacific Ocean, 18 km northeast of Kasakai-jima Island, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 19 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Dec 2020 12:08 pm (GMT +9) (19 Dec 2020 03:08:50 GMT)
2.7

52 km
(129 km)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 18 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Dec 2020 5:13 am (GMT +9) (18 Dec 2020 20:13:33 GMT)
2.5

104 km
(72 km)Miyako-shi, 22 km northeast of Tōno, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 17 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Dec 2020 11:37 pm (GMT +9) (17 Dec 2020 14:37:25 GMT)
2.6

53 km
(86 km)North Pacific Ocean, 38 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Dec 2020 5:31 am (GMT +9) (15 Dec 2020 20:31:02 GMT)
2.6

37 km
(122 km)North Pacific Ocean, 69 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 12 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Dec 2020 3:12 am (GMT +9) (12 Dec 2020 18:12:06 GMT)
3.0

39 km
(125 km)North Pacific Ocean, 58 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 26 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Nov 2020 5:54 am (GMT +9) (26 Nov 2020 20:54:27 GMT)
4.5

64 km
(68 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km east of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 24 Nov 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
25 Nov 2020 3:11 am (GMT +9) (24 Nov 2020 18:11:30 GMT)
3.6

50 km
(113 km)North Pacific Ocean, 46 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
24 Nov 2020 11:34 am (GMT +9) (24 Nov 2020 02:34:30 GMT)
3.6

50 km
(88 km)North Pacific Ocean, 36 km east of Ishinomaki, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 30 Oct 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Oct 2020 2:38 pm (GMT +9) (30 Oct 2020 05:38:30 GMT)
4.1

40 km
(134 km)134 km east of Sendai, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 27 Oct 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Oct 12:44 pm (GMT +9) (27 Oct 2020 03:44:30 GMT)
4.2

60 km
(103 km)97 km northeast of Sendai, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 26 Oct 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Oct 7:42 am (GMT +9) (26 Oct 2020 22:42:30 GMT)
3.8

50 km
(113 km)128 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 6 Oct 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Oct 3:27 pm (GMT +9) (6 Oct 2020 06:27:34 GMT)
4.6

93 km
(92 km)6.8 km southeast of Yamada, Shimohei-gun, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 5 Oct 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Oct 2020 14:01:17 GMT
4.7

70 km
(112 km)9.5 km west of Yamada, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 30 Sep 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Sep 10:58 pm (GMT +9) (30 Sep 2020 13:58:46 GMT)
4.9

56 km
(119 km)132 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 17 Sep 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Sep 2020 00:18:02 GMT
4.7

69 km
(112 km)3.5 km west of Yamada, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 13 Sep 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Sep 2020 21:25:30 GMT
4.0

40 km
(134 km)134 km east of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 (GMT) (10 earthquakes)
12 Sep 2020 20:29:30 GMT
4.2

40 km
(130 km)119 km east of Sendai, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
12 Sep 2020 10:05:30 GMT
3.8

40 km
(125 km)126 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
12 Sep 2020 05:40:30 GMT
3.5

30 km
(134 km)134 km east of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
12 Sep 2020 05:18:30 GMT
3.5

30 km
(134 km)134 km east of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
12 Sep 2020 03:49:05 GMT
4.5

40 km
(134 km)132 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
12 Sep 2020 03:31:30 GMT
3.7

40 km
(134 km)134 km east of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
12 Sep 2020 03:03:30 GMT
4.1

40 km
(125 km)126 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
12 Sep 2020 03:00:30 GMT
4.2

30 km
(134 km)134 km east of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
12 Sep 2020 02:50:42 GMT
4.9

40 km
(143 km)115 km northeast of Sendai, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
12 Sep 2020 02:44:11 GMT
6.1

40 km
(134 km)North Pacific Ocean, 54 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan 14 reportsMoreMap
Wed, 9 Sep 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Sep 2020 02:45:30 GMT
4.0

50 km
(98 km)15 km east of Miyako, Iwate, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Thu, 3 Sep 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Sep 2020 03:05:30 GMT
4.1

50 km
(114 km)35 km southeast of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 27 Aug 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
27 Aug 2020 10:46:30 GMT
3.8

50 km
(125 km)30 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
27 Aug 2020 00:48:44 GMT
4.5

60 km
(115 km)132 km northeast of Sendai, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 25 Aug 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Aug 2020 00:08:30 GMT
3.7

60 km
(113 km)135 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 9 Aug 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Aug 2020 08:54:30 GMT
3.7

40 km
(123 km)130 km northeast of Sendai, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 28 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Jul 2020 10:46:30 GMT
3.8

50 km
(96 km)114 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 24 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Jul 2020 10:35:30 GMT
3.5

50 km
(112 km)20 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 16 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Jul 2020 09:07:30 GMT
3.7

60 km
(88 km)77 km east of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 11 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Jul 2020 13:12:30 GMT
3.9

50 km
(105 km)121 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 1 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Jul 2020 04:12:30 GMT
3.6

50 km
(98 km)108 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 19 Jun 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
19 Jun 2020 17:38:30 GMT
3.7

50 km
(105 km)12 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
19 Jun 2020 05:45:30 GMT
4.0

40 km
(123 km)35 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 14 Jun 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
14 Jun 2020 13:33:30 GMT
3.8

50 km
(113 km)128 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 12 Jun 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Jun 2020 15:54:30 GMT
3.6

50 km
(96 km)114 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 3 Jun 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Jun 2020 12:20:30 GMT
4.0

30 km
(135 km)162 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 28 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 May 2020 17:46:30 GMT
3.9

50 km
(103 km)97 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 14 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
14 May 2020 21:40:16 GMT
4.8

50 km
(138 km)137 km east of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 12 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 May 2020 12:51:30 GMT
3.5

60 km
(109 km)110 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 29 Apr 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Apr 2020 09:25:30 GMT
3.7

50 km
(98 km)15 km east of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 20 Apr 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Apr 2020 01:49:37 GMT
4.5

35 km
(115 km)127 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 19 Apr 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Apr 2020 20:39:06 GMT
6.4

53 km
(125 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan 13 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 11 Apr 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Apr 2020 23:29:30 GMT
3.8

50 km
(113 km)128 km northeast of Sendai, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Wed, 8 Apr 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Apr 2020 10:44:30 GMT
3.7

50 km
(98 km)15 km east of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 25 Mar 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Mar 2020 22:18:20 GMT
4.2

42 km
(128 km)134 km east of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 3 Mar 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Mar 2020 19:55:30 GMT
3.7

60 km
(103 km)97 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 26 Feb 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2020 18:02:30 GMT
3.7

50 km
(96 km)114 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 23 Feb 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Feb 2020 22:29:30 GMT
3.8

50 km
(134 km)46 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 22 Feb 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Feb 2020 01:45:30 GMT
3.5

40 km
(113 km)North Pacific Ocean, 38 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 10 Feb 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
10 Feb 2020 03:22:30 GMT
3.6

120 km
(44 km)80 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 28 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Jan 2020 14:59:30 GMT
3.9

50 km
(105 km)121 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 20 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Jan 2020 22:20:30 GMT
3.6

50 km
(88 km)77 km east of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 17 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Jan 2020 17:53:30 GMT
4.0

50 km
(113 km)128 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 3 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Jan 2020 22:50:30 GMT
3.6

40 km
(139 km)151 km northeast of Sendai, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.5 x 1014 joules (97.8 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 84133 tons of TNT or 5.3 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.