Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Hisor, Republican Subordination, Tajikistan, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 11, 2022 04:23 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 58 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 498 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Hisor has had 5 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 58 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 498 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.3 | 26 km SE of Isfana, Leilek District, Batken, Kyrgyzstan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.6 | Shahr-e Buzurg, Badakhshan, 25 km E of Rustāq, Rustaq, Takhar, Afghanistan -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (561 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sep 9, 2022 1:29 am (GMT +5) (Sep 8, 2022 20:29 GMT)
4.3

10 km
631 km (392 mi)26 km southeast of Isfana, Leilek District, Batken, Kyrgyzstan 29 reportsMore
Sep 7, 2022 3:28 pm (GMT +5) (Sep 7, 2022 10:28 GMT)
4.2

283 km
537 km (334 mi)Republican Subordination, 70 km northeast of Duschanbe, Dushanbe, Tajikistan More
Jul 2, 2022 12:04 pm (GMT +5) (Jul 2, 2022 07:04 GMT)
4.9

10 km
602 km (374 mi)43 km southeast of Istaravshan, Viloyati Sughd, Tajikistan More
Jun 24, 2022 2:27 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jun 24, 2022 09:57 GMT)
4.6

10 km
359 km (223 mi)16 km north of Ārt Khwājah, Khwaja Ghar, Takhar, Afghanistan More
Jun 2, 2022 11:34 pm (GMT +5) (Jun 2, 2022 18:34 GMT)
4.3

10 km
488 km (303 mi)Republican Subordination, 13 km northwest of Duschanbe, Dushanbe, Tajikistan 97 reportsMore
Jun 1, 2022 8:35 am (GMT +5) (Jun 1, 2022 03:35 GMT)
4.2

597 km
379 km (235 mi)29 km southwest of Kurgan-Tyube, Viloyati Khatlon, Tajikistan More
May 12, 2022 3:27 pm (GMT +5) (May 12, 2022 10:27 GMT)
5.3

30 km
432 km (268 mi)27 km southwest of Boysun, Surxondaryo Region, Uzbekistan 33 reportsMore
May 6, 2022 11:58 am (GMT +6) (May 6, 2022 05:58 GMT)
4.6
542 km (337 mi)Republican Subordination, 67 km northeast of Duschanbe, Dushanbe, Tajikistan More
Apr 22, 2022 4:05 pm (GMT +5) (Apr 22, 2022 11:05 GMT)
4.7

10 km
394 km (245 mi)17 km northwest of Farkhor, Viloyati Khatlon, Tajikistan More
Apr 11, 2022 10:38 pm (GMT +4:30) (Apr 11, 2022 18:08 GMT)
4.5

225 km
329 km (204 mi)45 km north of Kunduz, Afghanistan More
Apr 11, 2022 5:59 am (GMT +4:30) (Apr 11, 2022 01:29 GMT)
5.3

146 km
467 km (290 mi)Viloyati Khatlon, 46 km southeast of Duschanbe, Dushanbe, Tajikistan More
Apr 3, 2022 12:48 pm (GMT +5) (Apr 3, 2022 07:48 GMT)
4.1

10 km
416 km (258 mi)33 km southwest of Kŭlob, Viloyati Khatlon, Tajikistan More
Mar 13, 2022 7:09 pm (GMT +4:30) (Mar 13, 2022 14:39 GMT)
4.3

10 km
367 km (228 mi)7.2 km northeast of Rustāq, Rustaq, Takhar, Afghanistan More
Mar 9, 2022 5:01 am (GMT +4:30) (Mar 9, 2022 00:31 GMT)
4.9

261 km
412 km (256 mi)43 km northwest of Faizabad, Faīẕābād, Badakhshan, Afghanistan More
Mar 3, 2022 11:30 pm (GMT +4:30) (Mar 3, 2022 19:00 GMT)
4.4

213 km
336 km (209 mi)50 km northeast of Kunduz, Afghanistan More
Mar 2, 2022 12:36 am (GMT +5) (Mar 1, 2022 19:36 GMT)
4.8

260 km
385 km (239 mi)41 km southeast of Kurgan-Tyube, Viloyati Khatlon, Tajikistan More
Feb 15, 2022 9:33 am (GMT +4:30) (Feb 15, 2022 05:03 GMT)
4.8

10 km
412 km (256 mi)55 km northwest of Faizabad, Faīẕābād, Badakhshan, Afghanistan 1 reportMore
Feb 14, 2022 3:55 pm (GMT +4:30) (Feb 14, 2022 11:25 GMT)
4.6

302 km
388 km (241 mi)37 km north of Rustāq, Rustaq, Takhar, Afghanistan More
Feb 12, 2022 12:29 pm (GMT +4:30) (Feb 12, 2022 07:59 GMT)
4.7

211 km
353 km (219 mi)61 km south of Kurgan-Tyube, Viloyati Khatlon, Tajikistan More
Feb 4, 2022 12:31 am (GMT +5) (Feb 3, 2022 19:31 GMT)
4.9

10 km
527 km (327 mi)Republican Subordination, 55 km northwest of Duschanbe, Dushanbe, Tajikistan More
Feb 3, 2022 5:38 am (GMT +4:30) (Feb 3, 2022 01:08 GMT)
4.2

10 km
379 km (235 mi)19 km northeast of Rustāq, Rustaq, Takhar, Afghanistan More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.9 x 1015 joules (524 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4.5 x 105 tons of TNT or 28.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Batken, Kyrgyzstan (BTK/KR network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Batken, Kyrgyzstan: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Hisor Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Hisor?

The last earthquake in Hisor occurred 3 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.3 earthquake - 26 km southeast of Isfana, Leilek District, Batken, Kyrgyzstan, on Friday, Sep 9, 2022 at 1:29 am (GMT +5).

How many quakes were there in Hisor since 1900?

Since 1900, Hisor, Republican Subordination, Tajikistan had 561 quakes up to magnitude 6.6.

What was the strongest quake in Hisor since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Hisor since 1900 occurred 24 years ago: Very strong mag. 6.6 earthquake - Shahr-e Buzurg, Badakhshan, 25 km east of Rustāq, Rustaq, Takhar, Afghanistan, on Saturday, May 30, 1998 at 06:22 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 30, 2022 14:25 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings