Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Messina, Province of Messina, Sizilien, Italy, past 30 days

Updated 8 Mar 2021 22:09 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Messina was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 30 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 96 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.4 quake Tyrrhenian Sea, 33 km northwest of Messina, Sizilien, Italy, 25 Feb 2021 5:18 am (GMT +1)
Biggest quake today: 2.8 quake Tyrrhenian Sea, 46 km north of Messina, Sizilien, Italy, 8 Mar 2021 9:41 am (GMT +1)
Most recent quake: 1.9 quake 8 Km NW Adrano (CT), Italy, 8 Mar 2021 7:31 pm (GMT +1)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.6 or higher (69 out of 129 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 8 Mar 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
8 Mar 2021 7:31 pm (GMT +1) (8 Mar 2021 18:31:06 GMT)
1.9

4.2 km
Etna (20 km) - Sicily, Italy8 Km NW Adrano (CT), Italy MoreMap
8 Mar 2021 12:26 pm (GMT +1) (8 Mar 2021 11:26:52 GMT)
2.3

117 km
(37 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 23 km northwest of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
8 Mar 2021 9:41 am (GMT +1) (8 Mar 2021 08:41:08 GMT)
2.8

164 km
(36 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 46 km north of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
8 Mar 2021 5:02 am (GMT +1) (8 Mar 2021 04:02:13 GMT)
1.8

8.7 km
(36 km)4 Km SE Librizzi (ME), Italy MoreMap
Sat, 6 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
6 Mar 2021 4:18 pm (GMT +1) (6 Mar 2021 15:18:17 GMT)
2.1

7.7 km
Etna (27 km) - Sicily, Italy21 km southwest of Barcellona Pozzo di Gotto, Italy MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 4:05 am (GMT +1) (6 Mar 2021 03:05:39 GMT)
2.0

130 km
Vulcano (28 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 22 km north of Milazzo, Province of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 3:18 am (GMT +1) (6 Mar 2021 02:18:25 GMT)
2.6

145 km
Vulcano (42 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 25 km north of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 12:15 pm (GMT +1) (5 Mar 2021 11:15:02 GMT)
2.4

82 km
(36 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 42 km west of Vibo Valentia, Calabria, Italy MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 8:39 am (GMT +1) (5 Mar 2021 07:39:36 GMT)
2.0

8.3 km
Etna (43 km) - Sicily, ItalyIonian Sea, 33 km southwest of Reggio Calabria, Italy MoreMap
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Mar 2021 7:09 am (GMT +1) (4 Mar 2021 06:09:38 GMT)
1.7

6.2 km
Etna (5 km) - Sicily, Italy11 Km SE Bronte (CT), Italy MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
3 Mar 2021 10:26 pm (GMT +1) (3 Mar 2021 21:26:34 GMT)
2.0

18 km
Etna (11 km) - Sicily, Italy19 km northwest of Giarre, Catania, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 7:46 am (GMT +1) (3 Mar 2021 06:46:08 GMT)
1.9

22 km
Etna (9 km) - Sicily, Italy9 Km W Linguaglossa (CT), Italy MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 6:36 am (GMT +1) (3 Mar 2021 05:36:22 GMT)
2.6

96 km
(39 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 40 km west of Vibo Valentia, Calabria, Italy MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 5:04 am (GMT +1) (3 Mar 2021 04:04:23 GMT)
1.8

16 km
Etna (14 km) - Sicily, Italy2 Km N Santa Venerina (CT), Italy MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 02:10:35 GMT
2.1

128 km
Vulcano (29 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 19 km north of Milazzo, Province of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
3 Mar 2021 12:06 am (GMT +1) (2 Mar 2021 23:06:42 GMT)
1.9

8.1 km
Etna (25 km) - Sicily, Italy6 Km N Malvagna (ME), Italy MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 11:25 pm (GMT +1) (2 Mar 2021 22:25:44 GMT)
1.7

5.6 km
Vulcano (25 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyCosta Siciliana Nord-orientale (Messina), Italy MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 9:49 pm (GMT +1) (2 Mar 2021 20:49:54 GMT)
2.0

16 km
Etna (8 km) - Sicily, Italy16 km northwest of Giarre, Catania, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 6:29 am (GMT +1) (2 Mar 2021 05:29:21 GMT)
2.0

23 km
Etna (10 km) - Sicily, Italy15 km northwest of Giarre, Catania, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 5:12 am (GMT +1) (2 Mar 2021 04:12:30 GMT)
1.6

19 km
Etna (7 km) - Sicily, Italy10 Km S Moio Alcantara (ME), Italy MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 4:22 am (GMT +1) (2 Mar 2021 03:22:39 GMT)
2.0

7.2 km
Vulcano (33 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 11 km west of Barcellona Pozzo di Gotto, Italy MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Mar 2021 4:51 pm (GMT +1) (1 Mar 2021 15:51:14 GMT)
2.0

35 km
Etna (12 km) - Sicily, Italy16 km northeast of Bronte, Catania, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 2:02 am (GMT +1) (1 Mar 2021 01:02:19 GMT)
1.6

18 km
Vulcano (25 km) - Eolian Islands, Italy1 Km NE Gioiosa Marea (ME), Italy MoreMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
28 Feb 2021 8:12 pm (GMT +1) (28 Feb 2021 19:12:33 GMT)
2.2

117 km
Vulcano (39 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 29 km northwest of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 2:33 pm (GMT +1) (28 Feb 2021 13:33:00 GMT)
1.7

3.9 km
Etna (6 km) - Sicily, Italy6 Km W Milo (CT), Italy MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
26 Feb 2021 9:43 am (GMT +1) (26 Feb 2021 08:43:09 GMT)
1.6

10.2 km
Etna (71 km) - Sicily, Italy5 Km SE Reggio Di Calabria (RC), Italy MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 7:02 am (GMT +1) (26 Feb 2021 06:02:26 GMT)
2.7

10.7 km
Etna (72 km) - Sicily, Italy4.3 km southeast of Reggio Calabria, Italy MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
25 Feb 2021 3:06 pm (GMT +1) (25 Feb 2021 14:06:18 GMT)
1.7

7.3 km
Vulcano (83 km) - Eolian Islands, Italy7 Km E Santo Stefano in Aspromonte (RC), Italy MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 10:56 am (GMT +1) (25 Feb 2021 09:56:04 GMT)
2.1

72 km
(42 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 35 km northwest of Gioia Tauro, Italy MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 8:42 am (GMT +1) (25 Feb 2021 07:42:07 GMT)
2.4

128 km
Vulcano (46 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 23 km north of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 5:18 am (GMT +1) (25 Feb 2021 04:18:23 GMT)
3.4

152 km
Vulcano (37 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 33 km northwest of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 11:31 pm (GMT +1) (23 Feb 2021 22:31:36 GMT)
1.9

137 km
(38 km)Tirreno Meridionale (MARE), Italy 1 reportMoreMap
23 Feb 2021 10:24 pm (GMT +1) (23 Feb 2021 21:24:37 GMT)
1.6

8.1 km
Vulcano (31 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyCosta Siciliana Nord-orientale (Messina), Italy MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 11:12 pm (GMT +1) (22 Feb 2021 22:12:42 GMT)
1.9

127 km
(43 km)Tirreno Meridionale (MARE), Italy MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 1:20 pm (GMT +1) (22 Feb 2021 12:20:14 GMT)
1.6

9.7 km
Etna (17 km) - Sicily, Italy1 Km N Linguaglossa (CT), Italy MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Feb 2021 11:31 am (GMT +1) (21 Feb 2021 10:31:18 GMT)
1.7

24 km
Etna (8 km) - Sicily, Italy7 Km E Maletto (CT), Italy MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 10:59 pm (GMT +1) (20 Feb 2021 21:59:10 GMT)
2.1

10.1 km
Vulcano (23 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 17 km northwest of Barcellona Pozzo di Gotto, Italy MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 9:23 pm (GMT +1) (20 Feb 2021 20:23:39 GMT)
2.5

143 km
(31 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 45 km north of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 1:23 am (GMT +1) (20 Feb 2021 00:23:59 GMT)
2.2

145 km
Vulcano (28 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 14 km north of Milazzo, Province of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Feb 2021 5:46 am (GMT +1) (19 Feb 2021 04:46:51 GMT)
2.2

186 km
Stromboli (21 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 58 km north of Messina, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Feb 2021 8:55 pm (GMT +1) (18 Feb 2021 19:55:42 GMT)
1.6

42 km
Etna (42 km) - Sicily, Italy7 Km NW Mandanici (ME), Italy MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 6:02 pm (GMT +1) (17 Feb 2021 17:02:49 GMT)
2.4

5.8 km
Etna (4 km) - Sicily, Italy15 km northeast of Adrano, Catania, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 5:47 pm (GMT +1) (17 Feb 2021 16:47:00 GMT)
1.9

6.3 km
Etna (47 km) - Sicily, ItalyCosta Catanese (Catania), Italy MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 1:24 am (GMT +1) (17 Feb 2021 00:24:06 GMT)
1.8

32 km
Etna (50 km) - Sicily, ItalyCosta Catanese (Catania), Italy MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 12:32 am (GMT +1) (16 Feb 2021 23:32:59 GMT)
2.4

204 km
Lipari (29 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 30 km east of Lipari Island, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 3:32 pm (GMT +1) (16 Feb 2021 14:32:06 GMT)
1.6

12 km
Vulcano (77 km) - Eolian Islands, Italy1 Km NW Cardeto (RC), Italy MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 9:50 am (GMT +1) (15 Feb 2021 08:50:00 GMT)
1.8

0.9 km
Etna (1 km) - Sicily, Italy10 Km W Milo (CT), Italy MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 1:20 am (GMT +1) (15 Feb 2021 00:20:55 GMT)
2.7

60 km
Etna (94 km) - Sicily, Italy32 km east of Reggio Calabria, Italy MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 7:37 pm (GMT +1) (14 Feb 2021 18:37:11 GMT)
3.3

10 km
Stromboli (108 km) - Eolian Islands, Italy4.9 km north of Siderno, Provincia di Reggio Calabria, Italy 1 reportMoreMap
14 Feb 2021 7:37 pm (GMT +1) (14 Feb 2021 18:37:02 GMT)
2.4

116 km
Vulcano (31 km) - Eolian Islands, ItalyTyrrhenian Sea, 4.8 km northeast of Milazzo, Italy MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (8 earthquakes)
13 Feb 2021 10:46 pm (GMT +1) (13 Feb 2021 21:46:58 GMT)
1.8

0.6 km
Etna (1 km) - Sicily, Italy11 Km W Milo (CT), Italy MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 8:43 pm (GMT +1) (13 Feb 2021 19:43:38 GMT)
1.7

6 km
Etna (19 km) - Sicily, Italy3 Km E Castiglione Di Sicilia (CT), Italy MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 5:13 pm (GMT +1) (13 Feb 2021 16:13:35 GMT)
2.4

0.5 km
Etna (0 km) - Sicily, Italy17 km northeast of Adrano, Catania, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 3:16 pm (GMT +1) (13 Feb 2021 14:16:47 GMT)
1.7

8.2 km
Etna (5 km) - Sicily, Italy7 Km NW Milo (CT), Italy MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 3:09 pm (GMT +1) (13 Feb 2021 14:09:33 GMT)
1.9

3.3 km
Etna (11 km) - Sicily, Italy4 Km N Ragalna (CT), Italy MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 2:39 pm (GMT +1) (13 Feb 2021 13:39:31 GMT)
1.7

4 km
Etna (9 km) - Sicily, Italy5 Km N Ragalna (CT), Italy MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 2:24 pm (GMT +1) (13 Feb 2021 13:24:25 GMT)
1.7

3.4 km
Etna (10 km) - Sicily, Italy5 Km NE Ragalna (CT), Italy MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 1:55 am (GMT +1) (13 Feb 2021 00:55:13 GMT)
1.6

1.6 km
Etna (1 km) - Sicily, Italy11 Km W Milo (CT), Italy MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 10:57 pm (GMT +1) (12 Feb 2021 21:57:28 GMT)
1.8

0.7 km
Etna (1 km) - Sicily, Italy11 Km W Milo (CT), Italy MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 4:25 pm (GMT +1) (12 Feb 2021 15:25:11 GMT)
2.5

1.2 km
Etna (0 km) - Sicily, Italy18 km northeast of Adrano, Catania, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Feb 2021 12:26 am (GMT +1) (11 Feb 2021 23:26:37 GMT)
3.0

1 km
Etna (1 km) - Sicily, Italy30 km north of Catina, Catania, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
10 Feb 2021 11:50 am (GMT +1) (10 Feb 2021 10:50:08 GMT)
1.7

2.9 km
Etna (8 km) - Sicily, Italy9 Km SW Linguaglossa (CT), Italy MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 5:47 am (GMT +1) (9 Feb 2021 04:47:06 GMT)
1.7

0.7 km
Etna (9 km) - Sicily, Italy8 Km SW Linguaglossa (CT), Italy MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
8 Feb 2021 8:08 pm (GMT +1) (8 Feb 2021 19:08:14 GMT)
1.7

16 km
Etna (14 km) - Sicily, Italy1 Km NE Sant'Alfio (CT), Italy MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 5:06 pm (GMT +1) (8 Feb 2021 16:06:09 GMT)
1.6

9.9 km
Vulcano (35 km) - Eolian Islands, Italy4 Km N Basicò (ME), Italy MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 4:46 pm (GMT +1) (8 Feb 2021 15:46:59 GMT)
1.9

10.3 km
Etna (36 km) - Sicily, Italy2 Km NW Basicò (ME), Italy MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 7:00 am (GMT +1) (8 Feb 2021 06:00:43 GMT)
1.9

4 km
Etna (11 km) - Sicily, Italy3 Km W Sant'Alfio (CT), Italy MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 3:21 am (GMT +1) (8 Feb 2021 02:21:40 GMT)
2.2
Etna (9 km) - Sicily, Italy9 km east of Adrano, Catania, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 10:03 am (GMT +1) (7 Feb 2021 09:03:25 GMT)
2.3

0.8 km
Etna (0 km) - Sicily, Italy18 km northeast of Adrano, Catania, Sizilien, Italy MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.4 x 1010 joules (6.63 megawatt hours, equivalent to 5.7 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.