Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near San Jose, Santa Clara County, California, USA, past 30 days

Updated 7 Mar 2021 09:06 GMT -
During the past 30 days, San Jose was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 19 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 87 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.8 quake 5.7 mi northeast of Gilroy, Santa Clara County, California, USA, 21 Feb 2021 5:38 pm (GMT -8)
Most recent quake: 2.0 quake 3km ESE of Berkeley, CA, USA, 5 Mar 2021 2:57 pm (GMT -8)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.4 or higher (57 out of 108 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Mar 2021 2:57 pm (GMT -8) (5 Mar 2021 22:57:53 GMT)
2.0

7.2 km
(131 km)3km ESE of Berkeley, CA, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Mar 2021 10:48 am (GMT -8) (4 Mar 2021 18:48:49 GMT)
1.4

0.2 km
(247 km)8km ESE of Prunedale, CA, USA MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Mar 2021 8:23 pm (GMT -8) (3 Mar 2021 04:23:21 GMT)
2.1

3.4 km
(180 km)10km SE of Sunol, CA, USA MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2 Mar 2021 1:49 pm (GMT -8) (2 Mar 2021 21:49:40 GMT)
1.9

6 km
(209 km)15km E of Seven Trees, CA, USA MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 8:27 pm (GMT -8) (2 Mar 2021 04:27:54 GMT)
2.2

1.6 km
(231 km)11km SSW of Tres Pinos, CA, USA MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 7:45 pm (GMT -8) (2 Mar 2021 03:45:26 GMT)
1.5

4.9 km
(232 km)9km SSW of Tres Pinos, CA, USA MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Mar 2021 2:26 pm (GMT -8) (1 Mar 2021 22:26:02 GMT)
1.6

9.6 km
(157 km)2km NNE of Burlingame, CA, USA MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 10:26 pm (GMT -8) (1 Mar 2021 06:26:51 GMT)
2.3

7.4 km
(230 km)10km SSW of Tres Pinos, CA, USA MoreMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Feb 2021 8:31 am (GMT -8) (28 Feb 2021 16:31:38 GMT)
2.3

4.9 km
(242 km)7km N of Aromas, CA, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Feb 2021 12:53 pm (GMT -8) (27 Feb 2021 20:53:56 GMT)
1.4

1.8 km
(192 km)6km NNE of Alum Rock, CA, USA MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2021 07:37:14 GMT
1.6

10.4 km
(161 km)6km ESE of Fairview, CA, USA MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
25 Feb 2021 1:22 am (GMT -8) (25 Feb 2021 09:22:20 GMT)
1.6

0.4 km
(232 km)11km SSW of Tres Pinos, CA, USA MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 12:11 am (GMT -8) (25 Feb 2021 08:11:51 GMT)
2.8

6.2 km
(230 km)10.6 mi south of Hollister, San Benito County, California, USA 4 reportsMoreMap
24 Feb 2021 4:07 pm (GMT -8) (25 Feb 2021 00:07:25 GMT)
1.9

3.5 km
(239 km)6km SSW of Gilroy, CA, USA MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Feb 2021 2:44 am (GMT -8) (24 Feb 2021 10:44:04 GMT)
2.3

4.6 km
(228 km)10km ENE of Morgan Hill, CA, USA MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 16:44:29 GMT
1.6

7 km
(147 km)2km N of San Ramon, CA, USA MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 9:06 pm (GMT -8) (23 Feb 2021 05:06:58 GMT)
1.9

0.2 km
(190 km)6km E of Milpitas, CA, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 4:43 am (GMT -8) (22 Feb 2021 12:43:41 GMT)
2.0

4.5 km
(227 km)12km S of Tres Pinos, CA, USA 1 reportMoreMap
21 Feb 2021 9:41 pm (GMT -8) (22 Feb 2021 05:41:06 GMT)
2.3

8.2 km
(146 km)2km SE of Danville, CA, USA 4 reportsMoreMap
21 Feb 2021 5:38 pm (GMT -8) (22 Feb 2021 01:38:13 GMT)
3.8

6.2 km
(226 km)5.7 mi northeast of Gilroy, Santa Clara County, California, USA 65 reportsMoreMap
21 Feb 2021 4:38 pm (GMT -8) (22 Feb 2021 00:38:40 GMT)
1.9

8.1 km
(224 km)2km S of Tres Pinos, CA, USA MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 8:19 am (GMT -8) (21 Feb 2021 16:19:48 GMT)
1.7

5.2 km
(131 km)2km ESE of Berkeley, CA, USA MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 8:11 am (GMT -8) (21 Feb 2021 16:11:24 GMT)
1.8

1.5 km
(198 km)4km E of Alum Rock, CA, USA MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 7:34 am (GMT -8) (21 Feb 2021 15:34:40 GMT)
2.1

9.3 km
(222 km)1km NNE of Tres Pinos, CA, USA 1 reportMoreMap
20 Feb 2021 11:13 pm (GMT -8) (21 Feb 2021 07:13:54 GMT)
1.5

2.1 km
(211 km)15km E of Seven Trees, CA, USA MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 4:31 pm (GMT -8) (21 Feb 2021 00:31:25 GMT)
1.7

4 km
(240 km)8km NE of Interlaken, CA, USA MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 9:56 am (GMT -8) (19 Feb 2021 17:56:56 GMT)
1.4

4.6 km
(183 km)11km NE of Milpitas, CA, USA MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 7:44 pm (GMT -8) (19 Feb 2021 03:44:31 GMT)
2.1

4.9 km
(183 km)11km NE of Milpitas, CA, USA MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Feb 2021 12:31 pm (GMT -8) (18 Feb 2021 20:31:59 GMT)
1.4

0.2 km
(247 km)7km ESE of Prunedale, CA, USA MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 8:23 am (GMT -8) (17 Feb 2021 16:23:00 GMT)
1.4

6.1 km
(150 km)2km E of San Leandro, CA, USA MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 1:13 am (GMT -8) (17 Feb 2021 09:13:36 GMT)
2.6

3.8 km
(166 km)SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA, CALIF., USA 31 reportsMoreMap
16 Feb 2021 9:58 pm (GMT -8) (17 Feb 2021 05:58:12 GMT)
1.8

6 km
(240 km)6km SW of Gilroy, CA, USA MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Feb 2021 1:32 am (GMT -8) (16 Feb 2021 09:32:53 GMT)
1.9

3.3 km
(211 km)16km E of Seven Trees, CA, USA MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Feb 2021 2:52 am (GMT -8) (15 Feb 2021 10:52:27 GMT)
1.7

9.4 km
(232 km)7km SW of Ridgemark, CA, USA MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 4:48 am (GMT -8) (14 Feb 2021 12:48:18 GMT)
1.8

5.1 km
(178 km)8km ESE of Fremont, CA, USA MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 9:19 pm (GMT -8) (14 Feb 2021 05:19:47 GMT)
1.4

4.4 km
(229 km)4km NNE of Soquel, CA, USA MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 5:39 pm (GMT -8) (14 Feb 2021 01:39:41 GMT)
1.4

10.2 km
(221 km)8km SE of Tres Pinos, CA, USA MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 7:55 pm (GMT -8) (10 Feb 2021 03:55:24 GMT)
1.9

10.9 km
(165 km)4km ENE of Pleasanton, CA, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 10:58 am (GMT -8) (9 Feb 2021 18:58:32 GMT)
2.7

6.5 km
(178 km)5.4 mi east of Fremont, Alameda County, California, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
9 Feb 2021 4:09 am (GMT -8) (9 Feb 2021 12:09:04 GMT)
2.0

0.4 km
(192 km)5km N of Alum Rock, CA, USA 4 reportsMoreMap
9 Feb 2021 3:58 am (GMT -8) (9 Feb 2021 11:58:46 GMT)
1.4

8 km
(243 km)3km ESE of Aromas, CA, USA MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (11 earthquakes)
8 Feb 2021 2:47 pm (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 22:47:32 GMT)
1.4

2.2 km
(183 km)10km NE of Milpitas, CA, USA MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 11:06 am (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 19:06:39 GMT)
1.5

2.2 km
(246 km)8km ESE of Prunedale, CA, USA MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 5:25 am (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 13:25:28 GMT)
1.7

4.1 km
(183 km)10km NE of Milpitas, CA, USA MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 2:22 am (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 10:22:27 GMT)
2.2

5.4 km
(178 km)8km ESE of Fremont, CA, USA MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 2:18 am (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 10:18:45 GMT)
1.5

0.4 km
(192 km)5km NNE of Alum Rock, CA, USA MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 1:55 am (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 09:55:43 GMT)
2.1

3.9 km
(183 km)SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA, CALIF., USA 4 reportsMoreMap
7 Feb 2021 11:02 pm (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 07:02:11 GMT)
1.5

3.1 km
(183 km)10km NE of Milpitas, CA, USA 1 reportMoreMap
7 Feb 2021 8:20 pm (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 04:20:09 GMT)
1.7

4.2 km
(183 km)11km NE of Milpitas, CA, USA MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 4:54 pm (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 00:54:48 GMT)
1.6

4.4 km
(183 km)11km NE of Milpitas, CA, USA MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 4:52 pm (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 00:52:53 GMT)
1.9

3.8 km
(183 km)10km NE of Milpitas, CA, USA MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 4:45 pm (GMT -8) (8 Feb 2021 00:45:33 GMT)
3.1

5.1 km
(183 km)6.5 mi northeast of Milpitas, Santa Clara County, California, USA 26 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 4:30 am (GMT -8) (7 Feb 2021 12:30:31 GMT)
1.4

3 km
(240 km)6km SW of Gilroy, CA, USA MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 12:00 am (GMT -8) (6 Feb 2021 08:00:08 GMT)
2.3

4.5 km
(231 km)10km SSW of Tres Pinos, CA, USA MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 10:58 pm (GMT -8) (6 Feb 2021 06:58:45 GMT)
2.1

7.9 km
(199 km)SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA, CALIF., USA MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 8:58 pm (GMT -8) (6 Feb 2021 04:58:01 GMT)
1.9

0.5 km
(232 km)11km SSW of Tres Pinos, CA, USA MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 1:06 pm (GMT -8) (5 Feb 2021 21:06:24 GMT)
2.6

3.5 km
(244 km)1km NNE of Aromas, CA, USA MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4 x 1010 joules (11 megawatt hours, equivalent to 9.49 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.