Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Cupertino, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, December 6, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 6, 2022 22:09 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 1 quake between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 6 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Cupertino had 1 quake of magnitude 3.6 and 1 quake of magnitude 2.6. There were also 6 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 3.6 earthquake was felt in California, USA, 23 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.8 | 7km NNW of Lafayette, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.6 | 11 mi E of San Jose, Santa Clara County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Cupertino, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours4 quakes1 quake M2+1 quake M3+
Past 7 days44 quakes5 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 30 days203 quakes40 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 90 days740 quakes152 quakes M2+8 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days2,536 quakes488 quakes M2+31 quakes M3+6 quakes M4+1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (11 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, December 6, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Dec 6, 2022 4:34 am (GMT -8) (Dec 6, 2022 12:34 GMT)
?

n/a
8.2 mi south of San Jose, Santa Clara County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 6, 2022 2:52 am (GMT -8) (Dec 6, 2022 10:52 GMT)
?

n/a
13 mi north of Pacifica, San Mateo County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 5, 2022 11:38 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 6, 2022 07:38 GMT)
?

n/a
24 mi southeast of Stockton, San Joaquin County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 5, 2022 8:01 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 6, 2022 04:01 GMT)
0.8

14 km
7km NNW of Lafayette, CA More
Dec 5, 2022 7:33 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 6, 2022 03:33 GMT)
2.6

5.2 km
North Pacific Ocean, 14 mi west of San Francisco, California, USA
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 5, 2022 5:26 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 6, 2022 01:26 GMT)
0.8

8.4 km
10km E of Alum Rock, CA More
Monday, December 5, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 5, 2022 3:39 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 5, 2022 23:39 GMT)
1.3

9.1 km
10km E of Alum Rock, CA More
Dec 5, 2022 3:33 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 5, 2022 23:33 GMT)
0.9

8.8 km
10km E of Alum Rock, CA More
Dec 5, 2022 3:28 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 5, 2022 23:28 GMT)
1.5

8.2 km
10km E of Alum Rock, CA More
Dec 5, 2022 3:13 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 5, 2022 23:13 GMT)
3.6

8.2 km
11 mi east of San Jose, Santa Clara County, California, USA
I FELT IT - 53 reports
More
Dec 5, 2022 2:53 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 5, 2022 22:53 GMT)
0.8

9.1 km
12km ESE of Alum Rock, CA More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1010 joules (4.55 megawatt hours, equivalent to 3.91 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: San Andreas Geophysical Obs., Hollister, CA, USA (SAO/BK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station San Andreas Geophysical Obs., Hollister, CA, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Cupertino Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Cupertino?

The last earthquake in Cupertino occurred 18 hours ago: Minor mag. 0.8 earthquake - 7km NNW of Lafayette, CA, on Monday, Dec 5, 2022 at 8:01 pm (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Cupertino today?

In the past 24 hours, Cupertino, California, USA had 11 quakes up to magnitude 3.6.

What was the strongest quake in Cupertino today?

The strongest earthquake in Cupertino today occurred 23 hours ago: Light mag. 3.6 earthquake - 11 mi east of San Jose, Santa Clara County, California, USA, on Monday, Dec 5, 2022 at 3:13 pm (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 6, 2022 22:09 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings