Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Norsewood, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, November 30, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 30, 2022 17:34 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 20 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 87 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 64 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Norsewood was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.6, 2 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 20 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 87 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 64 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A strong magnitude 5.6 earthquake hit North Island, Waikato, New Zealand, 7 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.2 | 14 km SW of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.6 | North Island, 22 km SW of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Norsewood, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours174 quakes87 quakes M2+20 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 7 days296 quakes145 quakes M2+25 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 30 days966 quakes370 quakes M2+47 quakes M3+5 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days2,365 quakes859 quakes M2+76 quakes M3+8 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days9,297 quakes3,222 quakes M2+287 quakes M3+19 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.4 or higher (106 out of 174 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 GMT (106 quakes)
Dec 1, 2022 6:23 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 17:23 GMT)
2.2

5 km
14 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 5:57 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 16:57 GMT)
2.1

5 km
16 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 5:41 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 16:41 GMT)
2.3

5 km
15 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 5:36 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 16:36 GMT)
2.1

5 km
15 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 5:28 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 16:28 GMT)
2.3

5 km
20 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 4:56 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:56 GMT)
2.7

27 km
22 km northeast of Waiouru, Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 4:51 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:51 GMT)
3.5

5 km
15 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 1, 2022 4:51 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:51 GMT)
3.5

5 km
North Island, 21 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 4:47 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:47 GMT)
2.9

5 km
15 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 4:46 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:46 GMT)
2.3

5 km
15 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 4:45 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:45 GMT)
2.3

5 km
15 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 4:41 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:41 GMT)
3.2

5 km
16 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 4:38 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:38 GMT)
2.8

5 km
15 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 4:35 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:35 GMT)
3.9

5 km
20 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 4:26 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:26 GMT)
2.0

5 km
North Island, 17 km south of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 4:21 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:21 GMT)
2.1

19 km
26 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 4:17 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:17 GMT)
2.1

5 km
14 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 4:14 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:14 GMT)
2.1

5 km
15 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 4:09 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:09 GMT)
2.8

5 km
19 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 4:09 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:09 GMT)
2.3

16 km
26 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 4:06 am (GMT +13) (Nov 30, 2022 15:06 GMT)
2.2

5 km
20 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 1013 joules (4.59 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3953 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Norsewood Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Norsewood?

The last earthquake in Norsewood occurred 11 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.2 earthquake - 14 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand, on Thursday, Dec 1, 2022 at 6:23 am (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Norsewood today?

In the past 24 hours, Norsewood, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand had 106 quakes up to magnitude 5.6.

What was the strongest quake in Norsewood today?

The strongest earthquake in Norsewood today occurred 7 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.6 earthquake - North Island, 22 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand, on Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022 at 11:47 pm (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Nov 30, 2022 17:34 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings