Help Ukraine

Past earthquakes in Redding, California, USA: December 2021 - list, stats and map

Updated May 21, 2022 18:59 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes during December 2021:

  • 9 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 36 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 50 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
During December 2021, Redding had 9 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 36 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 50 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.9 | 31 mi S of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 16 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (111 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 31, 2021 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 31, 2021 10:08 am (GMT -8) (Dec 31, 2021 18:08 GMT)
1.7

22 km
11km NE of Petrolia, CA MoreMap
Thursday, December 30, 2021 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 30, 2021 10:07 am (GMT -8) (Dec 30, 2021 18:07 GMT)
2.9

7.6 km
California, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 29, 2021 6:32 am (GMT -8) (Dec 29, 2021 14:32 GMT)
2.7

5.1 km
28 mi southwest of Susanville, Lassen County, California, USA MoreMap
Dec 29, 2021 1:11 am (GMT -8) (Dec 29, 2021 09:11 GMT)
2.3

6.1 km
3km ENE of Prattville, CA MoreMap
Dec 28, 2021 7:13 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 29, 2021 03:13 GMT)
1.1

15 km
6 Km NNE of Plumas Eureka, California MoreMap
Tuesday, December 28, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 28, 2021 3:17 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 28, 2021 23:17 GMT)
2.8

27 km
24 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA MoreMap
Dec 28, 2021 3:13 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 28, 2021 23:13 GMT)
1.7

27 km
13km WSW of Rio Dell, CA MoreMap
Dec 27, 2021 6:55 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 28, 2021 02:55 GMT)
1.3

4.4 km
7 Km SW of Cromberg, California MoreMap
Monday, December 27, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 27, 2021 1:31 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 27, 2021 21:31 GMT)
?

n/a
0.4 mi east of Hayfork, Trinity County, California, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 26, 2021 9:26 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 27, 2021 05:26 GMT)
?

n/a
24 mi south of Chico, Butte County, California, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, December 26, 2021 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 25, 2021 9:07 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 26, 2021 05:07 GMT)
?

n/a
4.6 mi southeast of Redding, Shasta County, California, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, December 24, 2021 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 24, 2021 10:30 am (GMT -8) (Dec 24, 2021 18:30 GMT)
3.0

25 km
27 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA MoreMap
Dec 23, 2021 11:27 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 24, 2021 07:27 GMT)
2.1

4.3 km
9km NNW of Lake Pillsbury, CA MoreMap
Dec 23, 2021 10:23 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 24, 2021 06:23 GMT)
1.6

5.7 km
7km NE of Willits, CA MoreMap
Dec 23, 2021 10:12 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 24, 2021 06:12 GMT)
2.0

2.8 km
10km NNW of Redwood Valley, CA MoreMap
Dec 23, 2021 7:01 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 24, 2021 03:01 GMT)
1.9

3.4 km
10km NNW of Redwood Valley, CA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1011 joules (33.1 megawatt hours, equivalent to 28.5 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 21, 2022 18:59 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.