Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Redding, California, USA, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated Apr 17, 2022 10:27 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 28 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 176 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Redding has had 2 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 4 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 28 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 176 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.1 | 22 mi S of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.2 | 32 mi S of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (210 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Apr 4, 2022 8:16 am (GMT -7) (Apr 4, 2022 15:16 GMT)
4.1

21 km
198 km (123 mi)9km W of Rio Dell, CA 28 reportsMoreMap
Nov 3, 2021 5:24 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 4, 2021 00:24 GMT)
4.1

7.4 km
118 km (73 mi)19km NW of Covelo, CA 3 reportsMoreMap
Nov 2, 2021 5:24 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 3, 2021 00:24 GMT)
4.4

30 km
200 km (124 mi)7km NE of Petrolia, CA 8 reportsMoreMap
Apr 20, 2021 2:48 am (GMT -7) (Apr 20, 2021 09:48 GMT)
4.0

34 km
153 km (95 mi)20km ENE of Redway, CA, USA 8 reportsMoreMap
Mar 24, 2021 8:41 am (GMT -7) (Mar 24, 2021 15:41 GMT)
4.0

8.2 km
68 km (42 mi)21km SSW of Willits, CA, USA 9 reportsMoreMap
Aug 19, 2020 00:55 GMT
4.2

8.2 km
60 km (37 mi)6.8 mi southeast of Willits, Mendocino County, California 14 reportsMoreMap
2020-03-24 18:58:37 -08:00 (Mar 25, 2020 02:58 GMT)
5.5

65 km
39 km (24 mi)18km SW of Anderson, CA (USA) 1 reportMoreMap
2019-04-28 23:16:08 -08:00 (Apr 29, 2019 07:16 GMT)
4.3

3.1 km
58 km (36 mi)10km NNW of Redwood Valley, CA (USA) 25 reportsMoreMap
Feb 6, 2019 18:23 GMT
4.4

26 km
152 km (94 mi) NORTHERN CALIFORNIA 25 reportsMoreMap
2017-12-13 20:57:18 -08:00 (Dec 14, 2017 04:57 GMT)
4.3

7 km
104 km (65 mi)- 17km WSW of Laytonville, CA 12 reportsMoreMap
Oct 13, 2017 23:10 GMT
4.0
54 km (34 mi) NORTHERN CALIFORNIA 10 reportsMoreMap
Nov 6, 2016 13:00 GMT
4.1
107 km (66 mi) NORTHERN CALIFORNIA 2 reportsMoreMap
Aug 28, 2016 21:20 GMT
4.5

35 km
136 km (85 mi) NORTHERN CALIFORNIA MoreMap
Aug 10, 2016 02:57 GMT
5.1

18 km
38 km (24 mi) NORTHERN CALIFORNIA 23 reportsMoreMap
Jul 21, 2016 23:09 GMT
4.7

23 km
162 km (101 mi) NORTHERN CALIFORNIA 19 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, May 30, 2015 04:33:37 (May 30, 2015 11:33 GMT)
4.7

39 km
86 km (53 mi)12km WNW of Brooktrails, California 1 reportMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.3 x 1015 joules (2592 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2.2 x 106 tons of TNT or 139.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Redding Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Redding?

The last earthquake in Redding occurred 6 weeks ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - 22 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA, on Monday, Apr 4, 2022 at 8:16 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Redding since 1900?

Since 1900, Redding, California, USA had 210 quakes up to magnitude 7.2.

What was the strongest quake in Redding since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Redding since 1900 occurred 30 years ago: Major magnitude 7.2 earthquake - 32 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA, on Saturday, April 25, 1992 at 18:06 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 16, 2022 23:36 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.