Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Axochiapan, Morelos, Mexico - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 3.4 earthquake North Pacific Ocean, Guerrero, Mexico -
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 5.0 44 km northwest of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico - Feb 17, 2024 -
Updated: Mar 2, 2024 18:08 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Axochiapan, Morelos, Mexico, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake near Axochiapan, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
In the past 24 hours, Axochiapan has had 2 quakes of magnitudes above 2 and up to 3.6.
In the past 30 days, Axochiapan has had 12 quakes of magnitudes above 2 and up to 5.0 within up to 100 km (63 mi) distance:
  • 0 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
Latest today: Mag. 3.4 Earthquake North Pacific Ocean, 29 km SW of Técpan de Galeana, Guerrero, Mexico -
Strongest: Mag. 5.0 Earthquake 44 km NW of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico -
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Check for new quakes now!
in sec
Pause automatic refreshing
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 3.2 or higher, within up to 300 km (186 mi) distance (188 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Mar 2, 03:39 am (Mazatlan)
Mar 2, 10:39 GMT

3.4

2.9 km
271 km (168 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southwest of Técpan de Galeana, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
Info
Mar 2, 03:24 am (Mexico City)
Mar 2, 09:24 GMT

3.4

26 km
220 km (137 mi) to the S 16 km south of Ometepec, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
Info
Mar 1, 11:23 pm (Mexico City)
Mar 2, 05:23 GMT

3.6

3.3 km
73 km (45 mi) to the W 31 km southwest of Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
I FELT IT - 1 report
Info
Friday, March 1, 2024 GMT (7 quakes)
Mar 1, 01:12 pm (Mexico City)
Mar 1, 19:12 GMT

3.7

43 km
223 km (138 mi) to the SW 50 km northwest of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
Info
Mar 1, 11:22 am (GMT -7)
Mar 1, 18:22 GMT

3.5

17 km
279 km (173 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 56 km southwest of Santiago Pinotepa Nacional, Mexico
I FELT IT
Info
Mar 1, 03:33 am (Mexico City)
Mar 1, 09:33 GMT

3.8

29 km
272 km (169 mi) to the SW 15 km east of Petatlan, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
Info
Mar 1, 02:19 am (GMT -7)
Mar 1, 09:19 GMT

3.3

5 km
278 km (173 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southwest of Santiago Pinotepa Nacional, Mexico
I FELT IT
Info
Mar 1, 03:16 am (Mexico City)
Mar 1, 09:16 GMT

3.6

45 km
274 km (170 mi) to the SW 20 km southeast of Petatlan, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
Info
Mar 1, 12:52 am (Mexico City)
Mar 1, 06:52 GMT
3.7

67 km
208 km (129 mi) to the W 6.8 km southwest of Ciudad Altamirano, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
Info
Mar 1, 12:43 am (Mexico City)
Mar 1, 06:43 GMT

3.2

5 km
232 km (144 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 15 km west of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
Info
Thursday, February 29, 2024 GMT (9 quakes)
Feb 29, 04:48 pm (Mexico City)
Feb 29, 22:48 GMT

3.2

19 km
197 km (123 mi) to the SW 31 km north of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
Info
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.1 x 1012 joules (2.52 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2171 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Axochiapan Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Unam - Mexico, Mexico (UNM/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Unam - Mexico, Mexico: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 690 quakes on average per year in or near Axochiapan, Morelos, Mexico:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.01 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 100 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.02 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 50 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.19 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 5.3 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 4 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 60 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 66 quakes per year
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 68 quakes per year
Axochiapan has a high level of seismic activity. Axochiapan has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 60 to 65 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Axochiapan, Morelos, Mexico, by magnitude

30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (12 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (16.67%)
3+
7 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (58.33%)
2+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (25%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (33 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (3.03%)
4+
1 quake
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.03%)
3+
29 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (87.88%)
2+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (6.06%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (110 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.91%)
4+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.55%)
3+
94 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (85.45%)
2+
10 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (9.09%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (311 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.32%)
4+
14 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.5%)
3+
254 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (81.67%)
2+
36 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (11.58%)
below M2
6 quakes
(1.93%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (693 in total as 100%)
7+
1 quake
Mag 7 or higher (0.14%)
6+
-
betw. Mag 6 - 7
5+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.29%)
4+
40 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (5.77%)
3+
571 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (82.4%)
2+
66 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (9.52%)
below M2
13 quakes
(1.88%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 24 hours2 quakesno data11----
Past 7 days2 quakesno data11----
Past 30 days12 quakesno data372---
Past 90 days33 quakesno data22911--
Past 365 days110 quakesno data109451--
Past 3 years311 quakes636254141--
Past 10 years693 quakes1366571402-1
Magnitude 1.0+, within up to 100 km (62 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Axochiapan Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Axochiapan, Morelos, Mexico?

Axochiapan has a high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 690 quakes on average per year in or near Axochiapan, Morelos, Mexico. Axochiapan has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 60 to 65 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Axochiapan?

The last earthquake in Axochiapan occurred 7 hours ago and had a magnitude of 3.4:

A light magnitude 3.4 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of Guerrero State,  Mexico, in the early morning of Saturday, Mar 2, 2024 at 3.39 am local time (America/Mazatlan GMT -7). The quake had a very shallow depth of 2.9 km (1.8 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Axochiapan in the past 30 days?

In the past 30 days, Axochiapan has been shaken by 0 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 2 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 7 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Axochiapan in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in Axochiapan in the past 30 days had a magnitude of 5.0 and occurred 14 days ago:

Mag. 5.0 earthquake 44 km northwest of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico - Feb 17, 2024 -

A strong magnitude 5.0 earthquake hit 44 km (27 mi) away from Acapulco, Guerrero,  Mexico, in the late afternoon of Saturday, Feb 17, 2024 at 6.01 pm local time (America/Mexico City GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 23 km (15 mi) and was felt widely in the area.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Axochiapan, Morelos, Mexico

Strongest in over 100 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near Axochiapan, Morelos, Mexico, during the past 100 years was a magnitude 7.1 earthquake that hit Puebla,  Mexico, 6 years ago on Tuesday, Sep 19, 2017, at 01:14 pm local time (America/Mexico City GMT -5).

This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Axochiapan, Morelos, Mexico, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes near Axochiapan (within 100 km/62 mi) in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Dec 7, 2023 20:03 GMT
Dec 7, 2023 02:03 pm (Mexico City)
5.7

48 km
24 km (15 mi) to the S 47 km southwest of Matamoros, Puebla, Mexico 100 reportsInfo
Sep 14, 2023 10:44 GMT
Sep 14, 2023 04:44 am (Mexico City)
4.4

60 km
72 km (44 mi) to the SW 37 km southeast of Iguala de la Independencia, Guerrero, Mexico 4 reportsInfo
Jun 30, 2020 04:05 GMT
Jun 29, 2020 11:05 pm (Mexico City)
4.7

59 km
72 km (45 mi) to the S Guerrero, 181 km south of Mexico City (Ciudad de México) 5 reportsInfo
Dec 16, 2019 14:07 GMT
Dec 16, 2019 08:07 am (Mexico City)
4.3

53 km
79 km (49 mi) to the SW 4.2 km southwest of Tuliman, Guerrero, Mexico Info
Nov 1, 2017 20:48 GMT
Nov 1, 2017 02:48 pm (Mexico City)
4.3

52 km
32 km (20 mi) to the SE 5.6 km south of Ciudad de Chiautla de Tapia, Puebla, Mexico 5 reportsInfo
Sep 19, 2017 18:14 GMT
Sep 19, 2017 01:14 pm (Mexico City)
7.1

56 km
27 km (17 mi) to the E 1.7 km south of Casa Blanca (Cuyotliapa), Puebla, Mexico 345 reportsInfo
Sep 22, 2016 18:08 GMT
Sep 22, 2016 12:08 pm (Mexico City)
4.6

51 km
66 km (41 mi) to the SE 0.5 km southwest of Guadalupe Tulcingo, Puebla, Mexico Info
Aug 28, 2015 01:56 GMT
Aug 27, 2015 07:56 pm (Mexico City)
4.6

58 km
86 km (54 mi) to the SW 18 km south of Iguala de la Independencia, Guerrero, Mexico Info
Mar 20, 2015 22:30 GMT
Mar 20, 2015 04:30 pm (Mexico City)
5.4

53 km
50 km (31 mi) to the SE 9.3 km north of Acaxtlahuacan de Albino Zertuche, Puebla, Mexico 28 reportsInfo
Dec 24, 2014 22:53 GMT
Dec 24, 2014 04:53 pm (Mexico City)
4.4

47 km
73 km (45 mi) to the SW 12 km southeast of Tuliman, Guerrero, Mexico Info
Jun 16, 2013 05:19 GMT
Jun 15, 2013 11:19 pm (Mexico City)
5.8

54 km
37 km (23 mi) to the SW 22 km west of Jolalpan, Puebla, Mexico 22 reportsInfo
May 22, 2009 19:24 GMT
May 22, 2009 01:24 pm (Mexico City)
5.6

62 km
53 km (33 mi) to the SE 3.1 km east of Chila de la Sal, Puebla, Mexico Info
Nov 19, 2003 13:50 GMT
Nov 19, 2003 07:50 am (Mexico City)
5.3

90 km
69 km (43 mi) to the SW 32 km southeast of Iguala de la Independencia, Guerrero, Mexico Info
Jul 21, 2000 06:13 GMT
Jul 21, 2000 12:13 am (Mexico City)
5.9

80 km
20 km (12 mi) to the SW Puebla, 44 km south of Cuautla, Morelos, Mexico Info
Apr 3, 1997 21:22 GMT
Apr 3, 1997 03:22 pm (Mexico City)
5.2

57 km
69 km (43 mi) to the SE Puebla, 60 km northwest of Huajuapan de Leon, Oaxaca, Mexico Info
May 6, 1994 21:09 GMT
May 6, 1994 03:09 pm (Mexico City)
5.3

56 km
81 km (50 mi) to the E 66 km west of Tehuacan, Puebla, Mexico Info
Jun 4, 1984 04:34 GMT
Jun 3, 1984 10:34 pm (Mexico City)
5.4

60 km
58 km (36 mi) to the SE 41 km southeast of Matamoros, Puebla, Mexico Info
Oct 24, 1980 14:53 GMT
Oct 24, 1980 08:53 am (Mexico City)
6.4

72 km
63 km (39 mi) to the SE 49 km southeast of Matamoros, Puebla, Mexico Info

Map of largest quakes in or near Axochiapan, Morelos, Mexico

[smaller] [bigger]
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings