Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 27, 2021 23:42 GMT

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Catania, Sicily, Italy: past 7 days

Updated Sep 27, 2021 23:42 GMT -
There were 14 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and 1.8 in or near Catania during the past 7 days.
Biggest quake: 1.8 quake 16 km north of Giarre, Catania, Sicily, Italy, Sep 24, 2021 9:49 am (GMT +2)
Biggest quake today: 1.6 quake Catania, 18 km north of Vittoria, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy, Sep 27, 2021 6:08 am (GMT +2)
Most recent quake: 1.0 quake Italy: 5 Km S Alcara Li Fusi (ME) Sep 27, 2021 12:39 pm (GMT +2)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
Hide 6 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, September 27, 2021 10:39 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 27, 2021 12:39 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 10:39 GMT)
1.0

27 km
35 km (22 mi)Italy: 5 Km S Alcara Li Fusi (ME) MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 6:08 am (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 04:08 GMT)
1.6

23 km
80 km (50 mi)Catania, 18 km north of Vittoria, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Sunday, September 26, 2021 21:14 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Sep 26, 2021 11:14 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 26, 2021 21:14 GMT)
1.3

9.9 km
35 km (22 mi)Italy: 2 Km W Furnari (ME) MoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 10:47 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 26, 2021 20:47 GMT)
1.2

2.3 km
12 km (7.5 mi)Italy: 2 Km SW Zafferana Etnea (CT) MoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 10:24 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 26, 2021 20:24 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 7:13 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 26, 2021 17:13 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 4:58 am (GMT +2) (Sep 26, 2021 02:58 GMT)
1.1

6.2 km
11 km (6.8 mi)Italy: 3 Km N Milo (CT) MoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 07:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 25, 2021 9:53 am (GMT +2) (Sep 25, 2021 07:53 GMT)
1.5

2 km
12 km (7.5 mi)9.8 km northwest of Acireale, Catania, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 12:33 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 24, 2021 2:33 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 12:33 GMT)
1.1

4.1 km
7 km (4.3 mi)Italy: 5 Km W Milo (CT) MoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 9:49 am (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 07:49 GMT)
1.8

27 km
16 km (9.9 mi)16 km north of Giarre, Catania, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 9:20 am (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 07:20 GMT)
1.5

10.4 km
75 km (47 mi)13 km west of Floridia, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 4:59 am (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 02:59 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 11:33 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 23, 2021 1:33 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 23, 2021 11:33 GMT)
1.4

27 km
38 km (24 mi)Italy: 2 Km SE Alcara Li Fusi (ME) MoreMap
Sep 23, 2021 4:14 am (GMT +2) (Sep 23, 2021 02:14 GMT)
1.4

0.2 km
1 km (0.6 mi)Italy: 11 Km W Milo (CT) MoreMap
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 00:49 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 22, 2021 2:49 am (GMT +2) (Sep 22, 2021 00:49 GMT)
1.2

24 km
83 km (52 mi)Italy: 7 Km S Floridia (SR) MoreMap
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 23:45 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Sep 22, 2021 1:45 am (GMT +2) (Sep 21, 2021 23:45 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 1:21 am (GMT +2) (Sep 21, 2021 23:21 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 6:21 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 21, 2021 16:21 GMT)
1.6

0.4 km
17 km northeast of Adrano, Catania, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 6:20 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 21, 2021 16:20 GMT)
1.6

0.5 km
1 km (0.6 mi)17 km northeast of Adrano, Catania, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 3:59 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 21, 2021 13:59 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 108 joules (38.5 kilowatt hours) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.