Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Piraeus, Attica, Greece, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, January 29, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 29, 2023 03:59 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 27 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Piraeus had 6 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 27 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 2.9 earthquake occurred in Thessaly, Greece, 14 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.1 | Greece: 9 Km NNE From Diakopto -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.9 | 19 km SE of Farsala, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Piraeus, Attica, Greece (updated )

Past 24 hours29 quakes6 quakes M2+
Past 7 days185 quakes38 quakes M2+5 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 30 days930 quakes173 quakes M2+35 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days2,500 quakes612 quakes M2+107 quakes M3+10 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days9,846 quakes2,093 quakes M2+249 quakes M3+16 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (33 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, January 29, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 29, 2023 4:20 am (GMT +2) (Jan 29, 2023 02:20 GMT)
1.1

10.3 km
Greece: 9 Km NNE From Diakopto More
Jan 29, 2023 3:04 am (GMT +2) (Jan 29, 2023 01:04 GMT)
0.6

5.9 km
Greece: 7 Km E From Marathias Nafpaktias More
Jan 29, 2023 2:25 am (GMT +2) (Jan 29, 2023 00:25 GMT)
1.8

18 km
Ionian Sea, 54 km south of Kalamata, Messenia, Peloponnese, Greece More
Saturday, January 28, 2023 GMT (30 quakes)
Jan 29, 2023 1:57 am (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 23:57 GMT)
1.8

13 km
Aegean Sea, 58 km northeast of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece More
Jan 29, 2023 1:50 am (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 23:50 GMT)
1.5

12 km
Greece: 3 Km SW From Thermopyles More
Jan 29, 2023 12:05 am (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 22:05 GMT)
1.5

13 km
Greece: 7 Km SSE From Farsala More
Jan 28, 2023 10:43 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 20:43 GMT)
0.6

10.6 km
Greece More
Jan 28, 2023 10:13 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 20:13 GMT)
2.4

136 km
Central Greece, 85 km northwest of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece More
Jan 28, 2023 10:09 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 20:09 GMT)
1.7

10.9 km
Greece: 4 Km E From Nea Styra More
Jan 28, 2023 10:06 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 20:06 GMT)
1.3

12 km
Greece: 1 Km NNW From Dimitsana More
Jan 28, 2023 8:38 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 18:38 GMT)
1.3

8.8 km
Greece: 11 Km NE From Eretria More
Jan 28, 2023 8:01 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 18:01 GMT)
1.5

15 km
Greece: 9 Km N From Xylokastron More
Jan 28, 2023 7:30 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 17:30 GMT)
1.3

11 km
Greece: 2 Km E From Oinoi Voiotia More
Jan 28, 2023 6:53 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 16:53 GMT)
1.5

16 km
Greece: 6 Km SE From Dimitsana More
Jan 28, 2023 6:47 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 16:47 GMT)
1.4

13 km
Greece: 11 Km N From Xylokastron More
Jan 28, 2023 6:22 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 16:22 GMT)
1.3

15 km
Greece: 10 Km N From Xylokastron More
Jan 28, 2023 5:57 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 15:57 GMT)
2.0

10.3 km
Ionian Sea, 10.4 km north of Xylokastro, Corinthia, Peloponnese, Greece More
Jan 28, 2023 5:48 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 15:48 GMT)
1.5

14 km
Greece: 8 Km N From Xylokastron More
Jan 28, 2023 5:25 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 15:25 GMT)
1.5

15 km
Greece: 10 Km N From Xylokastron More
Jan 28, 2023 5:09 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 15:09 GMT)
0.5

4.3 km
69 km southeast of Loutra Aidhipsou, Euboea, Central Greece More
Jan 28, 2023 5:09 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 15:09 GMT)
0.5

4.3 km
Greece: 6 Km ESE From Thebes More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.4 x 109 joules (672 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.578 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Castrocucco, Italy (CUC/MN network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Castrocucco, Italy: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Piraeus Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Piraeus?

The last earthquake in Piraeus occurred 1 hour and 39 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.1 earthquake - Greece: 9 Km NNE From Diakopto on Sunday, Jan 29, 2023 at 4:20 am (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Piraeus today?

In the past 24 hours, Piraeus, Attica, Greece had 33 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Piraeus today?

The strongest earthquake in Piraeus today occurred 14 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.9 earthquake - 19 km southeast of Farsala, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece, on Saturday, Jan 28, 2023 at 3:51 pm (GMT +2).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 29, 2023 03:59 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings