Latest quakes in or near Olympia, Washington, USA, in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 10, 2022 10:27 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 168 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 30 days, Olympia had 1 quake of magnitude 3.1 and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 168 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.1 | 15 mi SE of Kent, King County, Washington, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Olympia, Washington, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:4 quakes
Past 7 days:15 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 30 days:63 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 90 days:177 quakes | 17 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 365 days:700 quakes | 64 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 1.6 or higher (68 out of 172 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 4:54 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 23:54 GMT)
1.9

10.9 km
Washington MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:19 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 19:19 GMT)
?

n/a
6.7 km east of Victoria, Capital Regional District, British Columbia, Canada (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 11:04 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 18:04 GMT)
?

n/a
0.3 mi west of Seaside, Clatsop County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Monday, August 8, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Aug 8, 2022 11:23 am (GMT -7) (Aug 8, 2022 18:23 GMT)
1.6
Explosion - 5 Km SW of Port Ludlow, Washington 1 reportMoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 1:42 am (GMT -7) (Aug 8, 2022 08:42 GMT)
?

n/a
1.8 mi north of Kirkland, King County, Washington, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 8:00 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 8, 2022 03:00 GMT)
?

n/a
1 mi northeast of Seattle, King County, Washington, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 5:07 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 8, 2022 00:07 GMT)
?

n/a
Kitsap County, 20 mi northwest of Seattle, King County, Washington, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sunday, August 7, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 6, 2022 9:45 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 7, 2022 04:45 GMT)
?

n/a
16 mi northwest of Astoria, Clatsop County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Saturday, August 6, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 5, 2022 10:41 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 6, 2022 05:41 GMT)
?

n/a
1.1 km southwest of Victoria, Capital Regional District, British Columbia, Canada (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Friday, August 5, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 5, 2022 6:43 am (GMT -7) (Aug 5, 2022 13:43 GMT)
?

n/a
2 mi north of Kirkland, King County, Washington, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 5, 2022 5:53 am (GMT -7) (Aug 5, 2022 12:53 GMT)
?

n/a
15 mi east of Kent, King County, Washington, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thursday, August 4, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 4, 2022 9:47 am (GMT -7) (Aug 4, 2022 16:47 GMT)
?

n/a
0.7 mi east of Oak Harbor, Island County, Washington, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Aug 4, 2022 6:22 am (GMT -7) (Aug 4, 2022 13:22 GMT)
3.1

22 km
15 mi southeast of Kent, King County, Washington, USA
I FELT IT - 16 reports
MoreMap
Wednesday, August 3, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Aug 3, 2022 11:30 am (GMT -7) (Aug 3, 2022 18:30 GMT)
1.7

0.4 km
Explosion - 4 Km E of Granite Falls, Washington MoreMap
Aug 3, 2022 2:13 am (GMT -7) (Aug 3, 2022 09:13 GMT)
?

n/a
1.7 mi northeast of Seattle, King County, Washington, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Aug 3, 2022 12:28 am (GMT -7) (Aug 3, 2022 07:28 GMT)
?

n/a
6.4 mi northeast of Portland, Multnomah County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 4 reportsMoreMap
Aug 2, 2022 5:51 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 3, 2022 00:51 GMT)
1.6

1.5 km
23 Km ENE of Ashford, Washington MoreMap
Tuesday, August 2, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Aug 2, 2022 7:19 am (GMT -7) (Aug 2, 2022 14:19 GMT)
?

n/a
Clark County, Washington, 10 mi north of Eugene, Multnomah County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Aug 1, 2022 9:26 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 2, 2022 04:26 GMT)
?

n/a
7.9 mi east of Vancouver, Clark County, Washington, USA (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Aug 1, 2022 5:09 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 2, 2022 00:09 GMT)
?

n/a
3.7 mi north of Seattle, King County, Washington, USA (unconfirmed) 3 reportsMoreMap
Monday, August 1, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 1, 2022 2:43 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 1, 2022 21:43 GMT)
1.8

25 km
6 Km NNW of Kingston, Washington MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.3 x 109 joules (926 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.796 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Olympia Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Olympia?

The last earthquake in Olympia occurred 11 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.9 earthquake - Washington on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 4:54 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Olympia past month?

In the past 30 days, Olympia, Washington, USA had 68 quakes up to magnitude 3.1.

What was the strongest quake in Olympia past month?

The strongest earthquake in Olympia past month occurred 6 days ago: Weak mag. 3.1 earthquake - 15 mi southeast of Kent, King County, Washington, USA, on Thursday, Aug 4, 2022 at 6:22 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 10, 2022 10:27 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings