Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Mountain View, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 18, 2022 06:24 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 28 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Mountain View had 1 quake of magnitude 2.0. There were also 28 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 2.0 earthquake occurred in 6km WNW of The Geysers, CA, 13 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.2 | 7km W of Cobb, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.0 | 6km WNW of The Geysers, CA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Mountain View, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:12 quakes | 1 quake M2+
Past 7 days:82 quakes | 14 quakes M2+
Past 30 days:461 quakes | 63 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:1,462 quakes | 173 quakes M2+ | 14 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 365 days:5,511 quakes | 749 quakes M2+ | 59 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (32 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
May 17, 2022 10:22 pm (GMT -7) (May 18, 2022 05:22 GMT)
1.2

1.8 km
7km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
May 17, 2022 8:50 pm (GMT -7) (May 18, 2022 03:50 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Salinas, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 8:09 pm (GMT -7) (May 18, 2022 03:09 GMT)
0.6

1.7 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA 1 reportMoreMap
May 17, 2022 6:22 pm (GMT -7) (May 18, 2022 01:22 GMT)
0.4

1.8 km
6km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
May 17, 2022 6:05 pm (GMT -7) (May 18, 2022 01:05 GMT)
1.2

2.1 km
7km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 GMT (27 quakes)
May 17, 2022 3:48 pm (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 22:48 GMT)
0.9

1.7 km
9km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
May 17, 2022 3:02 pm (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 22:02 GMT)
0.4

2.1 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 17, 2022 2:39 pm (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 21:39 GMT)
0.4

0.9 km
3km SE of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 17, 2022 2:26 pm (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 21:26 GMT)
1.3

2.6 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA 1 reportMoreMap
May 17, 2022 1:56 pm (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 20:56 GMT)
0.4

2.2 km
10km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 17, 2022 1:48 pm (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 20:48 GMT)
?

n/a
Near San Jose, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 1:13 pm (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 20:13 GMT)
0.7

1.6 km
8km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
May 17, 2022 12:46 pm (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 19:46 GMT)
0.8

1.4 km
4km NNW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 17, 2022 12:26 pm (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 19:26 GMT)
1.0

2 km
8km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
May 17, 2022 11:39 am (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 18:39 GMT)
0.8

1.1 km
2km NNW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 17, 2022 11:03 am (GMT -7) (May 17, 2022 18:03 GMT)
0.9

2.9 km
6km WNW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.5 x 108 joules (41 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Mountain View Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Mountain View?

The last earthquake in Mountain View occurred 1 hour and 2 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.2 earthquake - 7km W of Cobb, CA, on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 at 10:22 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Mountain View today?

In the past 24 hours, Mountain View, California, USA had 32 quakes up to magnitude 2.0.

What was the strongest quake in Mountain View today?

The strongest earthquake in Mountain View today occurred 13 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.0 earthquake - 6km WNW of The Geysers, CA, on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 at 10:51 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 18, 2022 06:24 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.