Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes near Merced, Merced County, California, USA, during March 2021

Updated 13 May 2021 12:24 GMT -
During Mar 2021, Merced had 12 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 5 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 2.8 quake Fresno County, 22 mi southeast of Los Banos, Merced County, California, USA, 9 Mar 2021 11:08 pm (GMT -8)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
29 Mar 2021 16:49:10 GMT
1.9

1.9 km
176 km (109 mi)21km SSW of South Dos Palos, CA, USA MoreMap
29 Mar 2021 9:46 am (GMT -7) (29 Mar 2021 16:46:55 GMT)
2.0

0.7 km
193 km (120 mi)28km SSW of Los Banos, CA, USA 1 reportMoreMap
29 Mar 2021 12:04 am (GMT -7) (29 Mar 2021 07:04:38 GMT)
2.2

0.5 km
193 km (120 mi)28km SSW of Los Banos, CA, USA 4 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 28 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Mar 2021 16:14:14 GMT
1.4

0.8 km
191 km (119 mi)27km SSW of Los Banos, CA, USA MoreMap
Tue, 23 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
23 Mar 2021 23:36:33 GMT
1.8

27 km
90 km (56 mi)13km S of Mariposa, CA, USA MoreMap
23 Mar 2021 13:56:05 GMT
2.1

2 km
176 km (109 mi)22km S of South Dos Palos, CA, USA MoreMap
23 Mar 2021 6:54 am (GMT -7) (23 Mar 2021 13:54:39 GMT)
2.7

4.3 km
184 km (114 mi)Fresno County, 23 mi south of Los Banos, Merced County, California, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 21 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Mar 2021 16:07:58 GMT
2.0

1.4 km
197 km (122 mi)25km W of Los Banos, CA, USA MoreMap
Wed, 17 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Mar 2021 5:56 pm (GMT -7) (17 Mar 2021 00:56:17 GMT)
1.9

7.5 km
211 km (131 mi)14km E of Tres Pinos, CA, USA MoreMap
Sat, 13 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Mar 2021 4:14 am (GMT -8) (13 Mar 2021 12:14:29 GMT)
2.1

2.7 km
200 km (124 mi)24km NE of Tres Pinos, CA, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 10 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Mar 2021 11:08 pm (GMT -8) (10 Mar 2021 07:08:42 GMT)
2.8

4.2 km
180 km (112 mi)Fresno County, 22 mi southeast of Los Banos, Merced County, California, USA 5 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 9 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Mar 2021 12:17 am (GMT -8) (9 Mar 2021 08:17:02 GMT)
2.1

2.2 km
177 km (110 mi)22km S of South Dos Palos, CA, USA MoreMap
Sat, 6 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Mar 2021 23:35:47 GMT
2.1

18 km
94 km (58 mi)21km S of Mariposa, CA, USA MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 8:22 am (GMT -8) (6 Mar 2021 16:22:49 GMT)
1.5

25 km
87 km (54 mi)14km SSW of Bootjack, CA, USA MoreMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Mar 2021 6:11 pm (GMT -8) (5 Mar 2021 02:11:48 GMT)
2.5

17 km
88 km (55 mi)12km S of Mariposa, CA, USA MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Mar 2021 1:52 am (GMT -8) (1 Mar 2021 09:52:35 GMT)
2.3

2.5 km
183 km (114 mi)23km SSW of South Dos Palos, CA, USA MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 11:11 pm (GMT -8) (1 Mar 2021 07:11:25 GMT)
2.4

0.6 km
185 km (115 mi)24km SSW of South Dos Palos, CA, USA MoreMap
Show more
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.2 x 109 joules (900 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.774 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.