Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Ontario, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, February 7, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 16:27 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 17 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Ontario had 1 quake of magnitude 2.8. There were also 17 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 2.8 earthquake occurred in North Pacific Ocean, California, USA, 3 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.1 | 18km SE of Julian, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 39 mi SW of Torrance, Los Angeles County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Ontario, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours11 quakes1 quake M2+
Past 7 days104 quakes15 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+
Past 30 days429 quakes47 quakes M2+5 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 90 days1,359 quakes116 quakes M2+8 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 365 days5,512 quakes500 quakes M2+53 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 4 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (22 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 GMT (14 quakes)
Feb 7, 2023 7:38 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 15:38 GMT)
1.1

12 km
18km SE of Julian, CA More
Feb 7, 2023 6:46 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 14:46 GMT)
0.9

1.5 km
5km WNW of Borrego Springs, CA More
Feb 7, 2023 5:27 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 13:27 GMT)
0.8

13 km
18km SE of Julian, CA More
Feb 7, 2023 5:18 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 13:18 GMT)
2.8

4.5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 39 mi southwest of Torrance, Los Angeles County, California, USA
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 5:08 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 13:08 GMT)
1.0

4.5 km
4km WNW of Borrego Springs, CA More
Feb 7, 2023 4:01 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 12:01 GMT)
1.2

5.2 km
25km NE of Pine Valley, CA More
Feb 7, 2023 3:34 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 11:34 GMT)
?

n/a
31 mi south of Apple Valley, San Bernardino County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 7, 2023 3:15 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 11:15 GMT)
?

n/a
14 km north of Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 7, 2023 1:08 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 09:08 GMT)
0.8

4.6 km
13km SSE of Anza, CA More
Feb 7, 2023 12:13 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 08:13 GMT)
1.3

0.3 km
5km SSE of Crestline, CA 1 reportMore
Feb 6, 2023 11:16 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 07:16 GMT)
0.8

13 km
10km S of Idyllwild, CA More
Feb 6, 2023 9:36 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 05:36 GMT)
0.8

8.6 km
14km SE of Anza, CA More
Feb 6, 2023 9:15 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 05:15 GMT)
1.2

8.9 km
2km E of Chino Hills, CA More
Feb 6, 2023 5:22 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 01:22 GMT)
1.3

7.1 km
11km WSW of Ocotillo, CA More
Monday, February 6, 2023 GMT (8 quakes)
Feb 6, 2023 3:26 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 6, 2023 23:26 GMT)
?

n/a
23 mi north of Palmdale, Los Angeles County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Feb 6, 2023 1:48 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 6, 2023 21:48 GMT)
1.0

1.8 km
15km ENE of San Clemente, CA More
Feb 6, 2023 12:25 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 6, 2023 20:25 GMT)
?

n/a
2.6 mi north of Poway, San Diego County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 8 reports
More
Feb 6, 2023 12:10 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 6, 2023 20:10 GMT)
0.9

3.8 km
3km NW of Borrego Springs, CA More
Feb 6, 2023 11:34 am (GMT -8) (Feb 6, 2023 19:34 GMT)
1.4

13 km
18km ESE of Anza, CA More
Feb 6, 2023 10:22 am (GMT -8) (Feb 6, 2023 18:22 GMT)
0.8

14 km
18km ESE of Anza, CA More
Feb 6, 2023 9:27 am (GMT -8) (Feb 6, 2023 17:27 GMT)
1.3

14 km
5km SW of Redlands, CA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 109 joules (294 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.253 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Mt. Baldy Ranger Station (BFS/CI network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Mt. Baldy Ranger Station: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Ontario Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Ontario?

The last earthquake in Ontario occurred 49 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.1 earthquake - 18km SE of Julian, CA, on Tuesday, Feb 7, 2023 at 7:38 am (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Ontario today?

In the past 24 hours, Ontario, California, USA had 22 quakes up to magnitude 2.8.

What was the strongest quake in Ontario today?

The strongest earthquake in Ontario today occurred 3 hours ago: Light mag. 2.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 39 mi southwest of Torrance, Los Angeles County, California, USA, on Tuesday, Feb 7, 2023 at 5:18 am (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 16:27 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings