Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Petaluma, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Saturday, March 2, 2024 - list, stats and map

Latest quake today
See all
Mag. 1.8 earthquake Sonoma County, California, USA -
Strongest todayMag. 2.9 5 mi southeast of Brentwood, California, USA -
Updated: Mar 2, 2024 04:19 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Petaluma, California, USA, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake near Petaluma, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.

In the past 24 hours, Petaluma has had 31 quakes of magnitudes up to 2.9 within up to 100 km (63 mi) distance:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 30 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
in sec
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 0.5 or higher, within up to 300 km (186 mi) distance (39 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Mar 2, 02:54 am (GMT +0)
Mar 2, 02:54 GMT

1.8

1.9 km
66 km (41 mi) to the N Sonoma County, 15 mi southwest of Clearlake, Lake County, California, USA More
Friday, March 1, 2024 GMT (38 quakes)
Mar 1, 03:51 pm (Los Angeles)
Mar 1, 23:51 GMT

0.9

0.1 km
63 km (39 mi) to the N 24 mi north of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA More
Mar 1, 02:02 pm (Los Angeles)
Mar 1, 22:02 GMT

1.1

6.7 km
282 km (176 mi) to the NE Storey County, 10.3 mi northeast of Carson City, Carson City County, Nevada, USA More
Mar 1, 01:49 pm (Los Angeles)
Mar 1, 21:49 GMT

0.8

1.7 km
66 km (41 mi) to the N Sonoma County, California, USA More
Mar 1, 01:18 pm (Los Angeles)
Mar 1, 21:18 GMT

0.9

4.1 km
70 km (43 mi) to the N 28 mi north of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA More
Mar 1, 12:14 pm (GMT -8)
Mar 1, 20:14 GMT

1.6

3.7 km
121 km (75 mi) to the NW 31 mi southwest of Ukiah, Mendocino County, California, USA More
Mar 1, 10:37 am (GMT -8)
Mar 1, 18:37 GMT

0.8

2.1 km
69 km (43 mi) to the N 28 mi north of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA More
Mar 1, 10:03 am (Los Angeles)
Mar 1, 18:03 GMT

0.8

2.2 km
69 km (43 mi) to the N 28 mi north of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA 1 reportMore
Mar 1, 10:00 am (Los Angeles)
Mar 1, 18:00 GMT

1.1

2.1 km
65 km (40 mi) to the N 25 mi north of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA More
Mar 1, 09:01 am (Los Angeles)
Mar 1, 17:01 GMT

1.7

3.7 km
156 km (97 mi) to the N 9.2 mi north of Little Lake, Mendocino County, California, USA More
Mar 1, 08:40 am (Los Angeles)
Mar 1, 16:40 GMT

0.7

2 km
68 km (42 mi) to the N 28 mi north of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.9 x 109 joules (534 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.459 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Petaluma Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA (MCCM/BK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 100,000 quakes on average per year in or near Petaluma, California, USA:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.01 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 100 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.03 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 33.3 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.09 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 11.1 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 2.1 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 32.1 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 491 quakes per year (or 41 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 4,100 quakes per year (or 11.1 quakes per day)
Petaluma has a high level of seismic activity. Petaluma has had at least 3 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 40 to 45 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Petaluma, California, USA, by magnitude

Past 24 hours
7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (31 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
1 quake
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (3.23%)
below M2
30 quakes
(96.77%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (321 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (0.31%)
2+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (2.49%)
below M2
312 quakes
(97.2%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (1,169 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (0.26%)
2+
31 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (2.65%)
below M2
1,135 quakes
(97.09%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (3,417 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
1 quake
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.03%)
3+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (0.12%)
2+
97 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (2.84%)
below M2
3,315 quakes
(97.01%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (13,559 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.04%)
3+
28 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (0.21%)
2+
390 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (2.88%)
below M2
13,136 quakes
(96.88%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (40,122 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
12 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.03%)
3+
88 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (0.22%)
2+
1,246 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (3.11%)
below M2
38,776 quakes
(96.65%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (101,560 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6
4+
29 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.03%)
3+
271 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (0.27%)
2+
4,679 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (4.61%)
below M2
96,578 quakes
(95.09%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 24 hours31 quakes131-----
Past 7 days321 quakes11981----
Past 30 days1,169 quakes522313----
Past 90 days3,417 quakes1,5109741---
Past 365 days13,559 quakes5,712390285---
Past 3 years40,122 quakes14,0071,2468812---
Past 10 years101,560 quakes36,3764,6792712912-
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 100 km (62 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Petaluma Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Petaluma, California, USA?

Petaluma has a high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 100,000 quakes on average per year in or near Petaluma, California, USA. Petaluma has had at least 3 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 40 to 45 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Petaluma?

The last earthquake in Petaluma occurred 1 hour and 26 minutes ago and had a magnitude of 1.8:

A light magnitude 1.8 earthquake hit 24 km (15 mi) away from Clearlake, California,  United States, in the early morning of Saturday, Mar 2, 2024 at 2.54 am local time (GMT +0). The quake had a very shallow depth of 1.9 km (1.2 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

How many quakes were there in Petaluma in the past 24 hours?

In the past 24 hours, Petaluma has had 1 quake of magnitude 2.9. There were also 30 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in Petaluma in the past 24 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Petaluma in the past 24 hours had a magnitude of 2.9 and occurred 22 hours ago:

A light magnitude 2.9 earthquake hit 8.1 km (5 mi) away from Brentwood, California,  United States, in the evening of Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 at 9.58 pm local time (America/Los Angeles GMT -8). The quake had a very shallow depth of 2.2 km (1.4 mi) and was felt widely in the area.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Petaluma, California, USA

Strongest in 10 years

Mag. 6.0 earthquake 5.5 mi south of Napa, California, USA - Aug 24, 2014 -
The largest quake that occurred in or near Petaluma, California, USA, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 6.0 earthquake that hit California,  USA, 10 years ago on Sunday, Aug 24, 2014, at 03:20 am local time (America/Los Angeles GMT -7).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 7.9 earthquake North Pacific Ocean, California, USA - Apr 18, 1906 -
118 years ago, California,  USA, was hit by a magnitude 7.9 quake on Wednesday, Apr 18, 1906, at 06:12 am local time (America/Los Angeles GMT -7). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Petaluma, California, USA, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes near Petaluma (within 100 km/62 mi) in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Jun 3, 2023 12:01 GMT
Jun 3, 2023 05:01 am (Los Angeles)
4.5

3.8 km
63 km (39 mi) to the N 25 mi north of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA 26 reportsMore
Apr 12, 2023 05:39 GMT
Apr 11, 2023 10:39 pm (Los Angeles)
4.4

2.5 km
69 km (43 mi) to the N 28 mi north of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA 49 reportsMore
Sep 14, 2022 01:39 GMT
Sep 13, 2022 06:39 pm (Los Angeles)
4.4

5.6 km
28 km (17 mi) to the N 2.4 mi north of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA 726 reportsMore
Dec 20, 2021 20:10 GMT
Dec 20, 2021 12:10 pm (Los Angeles)
4.7

17 km
24 km (15 mi) to the SW 11 mi southwest of Novato, Marin County, California, USA 34 reportsMore
Oct 15, 2019 05:33 GMT
Oct 14, 2019 10:33 pm (Los Angeles)
4.5

14 km
60 km (38 mi) to the SE 0.7 mi south of Pleasant Hill, Contra Costa County, California, USA 1894 reportsMore
Jan 4, 2018 10:39 GMT
Jan 4, 2018 02:39 am (Los Angeles)
4.5

13 km
54 km (34 mi) to the SE 2 mi southeast of Berkeley, Alameda County, California, USA 1731 reportsMore
Dec 14, 2016 16:41 GMT
Dec 14, 2016 08:41 am (Los Angeles)
5.1

1 km
68 km (42 mi) to the N Sonoma County, 6.3 mi west of Cobb, Lake County, California, USA 37 reportsMore
Aug 24, 2014 10:20 GMT
Aug 24, 2014 03:20 am (Los Angeles)
6.0

11 km
28 km (18 mi) to the E 5.5 mi south of Napa, Napa County, California, USA 1508 reportsMore
Aug 24, 2014 10:20 GMT
Aug 24, 2014 03:20 am (Los Angeles)
6.0

11 km
28 km (18 mi) to the E 5.5 mi south of Napa, Napa County, California, USA More
Jan 12, 2014 20:24 GMT
Jan 12, 2014 01:24 pm (Los Angeles)
4.5

2.5 km
67 km (41 mi) to the N Sonoma County, 5 mi west of Cobb, Lake County, California, USA 3 reportsMore
Jan 27, 1980 02:33 GMT
Jan 26, 1980 07:33 pm (Los Angeles)
5.4

14 km
98 km (61 mi) to the SE 5.7 mi northeast of Livermore, Alameda County, California, USA More
Jan 24, 1980 19:01 GMT
Jan 24, 1980 12:01 pm (Los Angeles)
5.1

6.5 km
89 km (55 mi) to the SE Contra Costa County, 8.9 mi north of Livermore, Alameda County, California, USA More
Oct 2, 1969 06:19 GMT
Oct 1, 1969 11:19 pm (Los Angeles)
5.1

10 km
25 km (16 mi) to the N 1.6 mi northeast of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, California, USA More
Mar 22, 1957 19:44 GMT
Mar 22, 1957 12:44 pm (Los Angeles)
5.3

0 km
64 km (40 mi) to the S 2.9 mi southwest of Daly City, San Mateo County, California, USA More
Oct 24, 1955 04:10 GMT
Oct 23, 1955 09:10 pm (Los Angeles)
5.4

0 km
59 km (37 mi) to the SE 1.3 mi southwest of Concord, Contra Costa County, California, USA More
Apr 18, 1906 13:12 GMT
Apr 18, 1906 06:12 am (Los Angeles)
7.9

12 km
54 km (34 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 8.7 mi southwest of White Island, San Francisco County, California, USA More
May 19, 1902 18:31 GMT
May 19, 1902 11:31 am (Los Angeles)
5.4

0 km
65 km (40 mi) to the E 6.2 mi southeast of Vacaville, Solano County, California, USA More

Map of largest quakes in or near Petaluma, California, USA

[smaller] [bigger]
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings