Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Berkeley, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, December 4, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 4, 2022 13:17 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 25 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Berkeley had 1 quake of magnitude 2.9. There were also 25 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 2.9 earthquake was felt in California, USA, 13 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.7 | 2km NW of The Geysers, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.9 | 8.3 mi SE of Concord, Contra Costa County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Berkeley, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours14 quakes1 quake M2+
Past 7 days111 quakes13 quakes M2+
Past 30 days482 quakes66 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+
Past 90 days1,492 quakes211 quakes M2+16 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days5,651 quakes701 quakes M2+50 quakes M3+7 quakes M4+1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (28 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, December 4, 2022 GMT (14 quakes)
Dec 4, 2022 5:06 am (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 13:06 GMT)
0.7

2.5 km
2km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Dec 4, 2022 4:44 am (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 12:44 GMT)
1.2

1.2 km
2km N of The Geysers, CA More
Dec 4, 2022 4:31 am (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 12:31 GMT)
1.3

5.4 km
3km NNW of Middletown, CA More
Dec 4, 2022 3:36 am (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 11:36 GMT)
?

n/a
56 mi northeast of Gilroy, Santa Clara County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 4, 2022 3:00 am (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 11:00 GMT)
1.2

4.6 km
24km SW of Westley, CA More
Dec 4, 2022 2:46 am (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 10:46 GMT)
1.4

2 km
32km NE of Pinnacles, CA More
Dec 4, 2022 12:04 am (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 08:04 GMT)
0.8

2.6 km
6km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Dec 3, 2022 10:43 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 06:43 GMT)
1.1

2.7 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Dec 3, 2022 8:26 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 04:26 GMT)
1.1

1.3 km
5km W of Cobb, CA More
Dec 3, 2022 8:12 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 04:12 GMT)
1.0

9.9 km
3km SW of Hollister, CA More
Dec 3, 2022 7:40 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 03:40 GMT)
0.9

1.7 km
4km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Dec 3, 2022 6:28 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 02:28 GMT)
1.6

15 km
6km NNE of Diablo, CA More
Dec 3, 2022 4:27 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 00:27 GMT)
2.9

16 km
8.3 mi southeast of Concord, Contra Costa County, California, USA 11 reportsMore
Dec 3, 2022 4:07 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2022 00:07 GMT)
0.8

2.3 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Saturday, December 3, 2022 GMT (14 quakes)
Dec 3, 2022 3:11 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 3, 2022 23:11 GMT)
1.1

1.9 km
2km ENE of The Geysers, CA More
Dec 3, 2022 2:43 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 3, 2022 22:43 GMT)
?

n/a
15 mi northwest of Concord, Contra Costa County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 3, 2022 2:35 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 3, 2022 22:35 GMT)
0.4

0.2 km
1km WSW of The Geysers, CA More
Dec 3, 2022 1:33 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 3, 2022 21:33 GMT)
0.9

2.4 km
10km ENE of Cloverdale, CA More
Dec 3, 2022 12:06 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 3, 2022 20:06 GMT)
1.5

4.2 km
58 mi southwest of Lincoln, Placer County, California, USA More
Dec 3, 2022 11:11 am (GMT -8) (Dec 3, 2022 19:11 GMT)
0.4

2.6 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Dec 3, 2022 11:02 am (GMT -8) (Dec 3, 2022 19:02 GMT)
0.7

1.4 km
3km NE of The Geysers, CA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.5 x 109 joules (414 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.356 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA (MCCM/BK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Berkeley Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Berkeley?

The last earthquake in Berkeley occurred 11 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.7 earthquake - 2km NW of The Geysers, CA, on Sunday, Dec 4, 2022 at 5:06 am (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Berkeley today?

In the past 24 hours, Berkeley, California, USA had 28 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Berkeley today?

The strongest earthquake in Berkeley today occurred 13 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.9 earthquake - 8.3 mi southeast of Concord, Contra Costa County, California, USA, on Saturday, Dec 3, 2022 at 4:27 pm (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 4, 2022 13:17 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings