Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Newark, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, May 22, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 22, 2022 07:07 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 25 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Newark had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 25 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 2.5 earthquake occurred in 5km NW of The Geysers, CA, 1 hour and 55 minutes ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.0 | 2km ESE of The Geysers, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.5 | 5km NW of The Geysers, CA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Newark, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:10 quakes | 4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:107 quakes | 10 quakes M2+
Past 30 days:470 quakes | 64 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:1,460 quakes | 171 quakes M2+ | 13 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 365 days:5,487 quakes | 746 quakes M2+ | 60 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (30 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, May 22, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
May 21, 2022 11:53 pm (GMT -7) (May 22, 2022 06:53 GMT)
2.0

1.1 km
2km ESE of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 11:28 pm (GMT -7) (May 22, 2022 06:28 GMT)
2.1

5.4 km
4km S of San Juan Bautista, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 10:21 pm (GMT -7) (May 22, 2022 05:21 GMT)
0.8

1.7 km
5km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 10:12 pm (GMT -7) (May 22, 2022 05:12 GMT)
2.5

1.7 km
5km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 8:44 pm (GMT -7) (May 22, 2022 03:44 GMT)
1.4

1.9 km
4km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 8:41 pm (GMT -7) (May 22, 2022 03:41 GMT)
0.8

2.8 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 8:08 pm (GMT -7) (May 22, 2022 03:08 GMT)
0.9

0.8 km
2km ENE of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 7:10 pm (GMT -7) (May 22, 2022 02:10 GMT)
0.8

2.8 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Saturday, May 21, 2022 GMT (22 quakes)
May 21, 2022 4:50 pm (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 23:50 GMT)
0.8

3.8 km
3km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 4:50 pm (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 23:50 GMT)
0.8

1.1 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 11:14 am (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 18:14 GMT)
?

n/a
1.1 mi east of Berkeley, Alameda County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 21, 2022 10:40 am (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 17:40 GMT)
1.3

10.7 km
15km NE of Chualar, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 10:02 am (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 17:02 GMT)
0.4

1.9 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 9:31 am (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 16:31 GMT)
0.5

1.4 km
2km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 9:02 am (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 16:02 GMT)
0.9

1.6 km
8km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
May 21, 2022 8:57 am (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 15:57 GMT)
1.1

5.5 km
15km NW of Pinnacles, CA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.4 x 108 joules (179 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.154 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Newark Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Newark?

The last earthquake in Newark occurred 15 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.0 earthquake - 2km ESE of The Geysers, CA, on Saturday, May 21, 2022 at 11:53 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Newark today?

In the past 24 hours, Newark, California, USA had 30 quakes up to magnitude 2.5.

What was the strongest quake in Newark today?

The strongest earthquake in Newark today occurred 1 hour and 55 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - 5km NW of The Geysers, CA, on Saturday, May 21, 2022 at 10:12 pm (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 22, 2022 07:07 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.