Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Cameron Park, California, USA, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated May 1, 2021 02:24 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 41 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 290 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Cameron Park has had 1 quake of magnitude 7.9, 8 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 41 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 290 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.0 | 37 mi SE of South Lake Tahoe, El Dorado County, California, USA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.9 | Yerba Buena, 5.7 mi NW of Daly City, San Mateo County, California, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (340 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mar 17, 2022 9:51 pm (GMT -7) (Mar 18, 2022 04:51 GMT)
4.0

0.5 km
73 km (45 mi)5km W of Walker, CA 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 20, 2021 12:10 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 20, 2021 20:10 GMT)
4.7

17 km
103 km (64 mi)Near Santa Cruz, California, USA 34 reportsMoreMap
Sep 18, 2021 12:20 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 18, 2021 19:20 GMT)
4.0

6.8 km
73 km (45 mi)30km SSW of Smith Valley, NV 6 reportsMoreMap
Aug 26, 2021 9:47 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 27, 2021 04:47 GMT)
4.6

1.9 km
71 km (44 mi)25km SSW of Smith Valley, NV 3 reportsMoreMap
8 Jul 10:10 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 9, 2021 05:10 GMT)
4.3

1.7 km
76 km (47 mi)27km SSW of Smith Valley, NV 49 reportsMoreMap
8 Jul 10:04 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 9, 2021 05:04 GMT)
4.1

5.7 km
72 km (45 mi)30km SE of Markleeville, CA 13 reportsMoreMap
8 Jul 6:46 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 9, 2021 01:46 GMT)
4.6

3.7 km
72 km (45 mi)30km SE of Markleeville, CA 30 reportsMoreMap
8 Jul 5:27 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 9, 2021 00:27 GMT)
4.4

4.8 km
73 km (45 mi)32km ENE of Dardanelle, CA 14 reportsMoreMap
8 Jul 4:58 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 8, 2021 23:58 GMT)
4.2

5.8 km
76 km (47 mi)29km SE of Markleeville, CA 5 reportsMoreMap
8 Jul 4:33 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 8, 2021 23:33 GMT)
4.6

1.6 km
76 km (47 mi)29km ENE of Dardanelle, CA 53 reportsMoreMap
Jul 8, 2021 22:50 GMT
5.2

10 km
15 km (9.3 mi)6 Km WSW of Walker, California 477 reportsMoreMap
Jul 8, 2021 22:49 GMT
6.0

7.5 km
70 km (43 mi)Antelope Valley, CA 3481 reportsMoreMap
Jun 12, 2021 11:54 pm (GMT -7) (Jun 13, 2021 06:54 GMT)
4.0

2.7 km
19 km (12 mi)7km WNW of The Geysers, CA 13 reportsMoreMap
28 May 8:25 am (GMT -7) (May 28, 2021 15:25 GMT)
4.2

7 km
110 km (68 mi)8km SE of Dollar Point, CA 290 reportsMoreMap
6 May 9:35 pm (GMT -7) (May 7, 2021 04:35 GMT)
4.7

10.1 km
124 km (77 mi)19km NW of Truckee, CA, USA 1255 reportsMoreMap
19 Apr 11:50 am (GMT -7) (Apr 19, 2021 18:50 GMT)
4.0

2.9 km
28 km (17 mi)3km SW of Anderson Springs, CA 112 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.6 x 1016 joules (12882 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.1 x 107 tons of TNT or 692.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Cameron Park Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Cameron Park?

The last earthquake in Cameron Park occurred 9 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.0 earthquake - 37 mi southeast of South Lake Tahoe, El Dorado County, California, USA, on Thursday, Mar 17, 2022 at 9:51 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Cameron Park since 1900?

Since 1900, Cameron Park, California, USA had 340 quakes up to magnitude 7.9.

What was the strongest quake in Cameron Park since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Cameron Park since 1900 occurred 116 years ago: Major magnitude 7.9 earthquake - Yerba Buena, 5.7 mi northwest of Daly City, San Mateo County, California, USA, on Wednesday, April 18, 1906 at 13:12 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 20, 2022 07:47 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.