Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Lazaro Cardenas, Baja California, Mexico, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated Apr 30, 2022 22:15 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 9 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 48 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 615 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Lazaro Cardenas has had 9 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 48 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 615 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.2 | Baja California, 199 km SW of Puerto Peñasco, Sonora, Mexico -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.8 | 35 km E of Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (672 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Apr 19, 2022 12:19 am (GMT -7) (Apr 19, 2022 07:19 GMT)
4.2

12 km
27 km (17 mi)Baja California, 199 km southwest of Puerto Peñasco, Sonora, Mexico MoreMap
Apr 16, 2022 10:38 pm (GMT -7) (Apr 17, 2022 05:38 GMT)
4.1

20 km
176 km (109 mi)68 km east of Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico 11 reportsMoreMap
Apr 14, 2022 9:30 pm (GMT -7) (Apr 15, 2022 04:30 GMT)
4.7

20 km
191 km (119 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 40 km west of Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico 1053 reportsMoreMap
Jan 21, 2022 11:04 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 22, 2022 07:04 GMT)
4.0

10 km
112 km (70 mi)Mexico MoreMap
Dec 27, 2021 8:28 am (GMT -8) (Dec 27, 2021 16:28 GMT)
4.1

11 km
19 km (12 mi)Baja California, 257 km southwest of Heroica Caborca, Mexico MoreMap
Dec 13, 2021 10:36 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 14, 2021 06:36 GMT)
4.1

10 km
152 km (94 mi)Baja California, 97 km south of San Luis Rio Colorado, Sonora, Mexico 3 reportsMoreMap
Nov 27, 2021 9:44 pm (GMT -8) (Nov 28, 2021 05:44 GMT)
4.0

10 km
198 km (123 mi)97 km east of Rodolfo Sanchez Taboada, Mexico MoreMap
Nov 19, 2021 8:03 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 20, 2021 03:03 GMT)
4.0

18 km
94 km (58 mi)4.4 km southeast of Santa Clara, San Luis Rio Colorado, Sonora, Mexico MoreMap
Oct 20, 2021 10:49 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 21, 2021 05:49 GMT)
4.1

10 km
105 km (65 mi)47 km northeast of San Felipe, Mexicali Municipality, Baja California, Mexico 2 reportsMoreMap
Oct 8, 2021 7:09 am (GMT -7) (Oct 8, 2021 14:09 GMT)
4.1

10 km
177 km (110 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 108 km south of Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 2:49 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 27, 2021 21:49 GMT)
4.0

10 km
90 km (56 mi)61 km southeast of San Felipe, Mexicali Municipality, Baja California, Mexico MoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 10:52 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2021 17:52 GMT)
4.0

3 km
7 km (4.3 mi)165 km southwest of Puerto Peñasco, Sonora, Mexico MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 2:00 am (GMT -7) (Sep 17, 2021 09:00 GMT)
4.0

10 km
82 km (51 mi)65 km southeast of San Felipe, Mexicali Municipality, Baja California, Mexico MoreMap
Jul 24, 2021 12:33 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 24, 2021 19:33 GMT)
4.3

10 km
133 km (83 mi)10.6 km northwest of San Felipe, Mexicali Municipality, Baja California, Mexico MoreMap
30 May 1:03 am (GMT -7) (May 30, 2021 08:03 GMT)
4.0

10 km
179 km (111 mi)34 km north of Lazaro Cardenas, Ensenada Municipality, Baja California, Mexico MoreMap
2021-04-26 00:12:07 (Hora de México) (Apr 26, 2021 05:12 GMT)
4.1

19 km
192 km (119 mi)86 km northwest of San Felipe, Mexicali Municipality, Baja California, Mexico 3 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.9 x 1015 joules (816 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7 x 105 tons of TNT or 43.9 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Lazaro Cardenas Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Lazaro Cardenas?

The last earthquake in Lazaro Cardenas occurred 4 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.2 earthquake - Baja California, 199 km southwest of Puerto Peñasco, Sonora, Mexico, on Tuesday, Apr 19, 2022 at 12:19 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Lazaro Cardenas since 1900?

Since 1900, Lazaro Cardenas, Baja California, Mexico had 672 quakes up to magnitude 6.8.

What was the strongest quake in Lazaro Cardenas since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Lazaro Cardenas since 1900 occurred 66 years ago: Major magnitude 6.8 earthquake - 35 km east of Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico, on Thursday, February 9, 1956 at 14:32 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 15, 2022 15:52 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.