Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 16, 2021 12:55 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Wairoa, Wairoa District, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand: past 7 days

Updated Oct 16, 2021 12:55 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Wairoa had 12 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 13 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 2.8 quake Hastings District, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, Oct 15, 2021 2:51 am (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 1.8 quake South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand, Oct 16, 2021 4:39 am (GMT +13)
Most recent quake: 1.5 quake Whakatane District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, Oct 16, 2021 5:47 pm (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (26 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 04:47 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 16, 2021 5:47 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 04:47 GMT)
1.5

38 km
51 km (32 mi)Whakatane District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 15:39 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Oct 16, 2021 4:39 am (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 15:39 GMT)
1.8

24 km
126 km (78 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 2:03 am (GMT +12) (Oct 15, 2021 14:03 GMT)
1.7

24 km
141 km (88 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 1:45 am (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 12:45 GMT)
2.0

15 km
131 km (81 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 1:16 am (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 12:16 GMT)
2.4

26 km
134 km (83 mi)Gisborne District, Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 11:40 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 10:40 GMT)
1.4

36 km
109 km (68 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 4:37 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 03:37 GMT)
1.9

18 km
132 km (82 mi)Wairoa District, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 2:09 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 01:09 GMT)
1.8

23 km
116 km (72 mi)Wairoa District, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 13:51 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 2:51 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 13:51 GMT)
2.8

35 km
67 km (42 mi)Hastings District, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 2:47 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 13:47 GMT)
1.5

25 km
112 km (70 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 14:25 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 14, 2021 3:25 am (GMT +13) (Oct 13, 2021 14:25 GMT)
2.2

18 km
166 km (103 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 12:15 am (GMT +13) (Oct 13, 2021 11:15 GMT)
2.0

39 km
146 km (91 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 8:08 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 13, 2021 07:08 GMT)
1.1

48 km
56 km (35 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 19:32 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 13, 2021 8:32 am (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 19:32 GMT)
2.5

23 km
138 km (86 mi)Wairoa District, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 5:29 am (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 16:29 GMT)
1.8

20 km
166 km (103 mi)Wairoa District, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 1:28 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 00:28 GMT)
2.2

15 km
128 km (80 mi)Gisborne District, Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Monday, October 11, 2021 10:37 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 11, 2021 11:37 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 11, 2021 10:37 GMT)
2.1

27 km
122 km (76 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 11, 2021 11:22 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 11, 2021 10:22 GMT)
1.9

25 km
144 km (89 mi)Gisborne District, Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 11, 2021 7:12 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 11, 2021 06:12 GMT)
1.8

26 km
139 km (86 mi)Gisborne District, Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 11, 2021 2:08 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 11, 2021 01:08 GMT)
2.1

6.8 km
132 km (82 mi)Gisborne District, Gisborne, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, October 10, 2021 22:54 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 11, 2021 11:54 am (GMT +13) (Oct 10, 2021 22:54 GMT)
?

n/a
143 km (89 mi)Gisborne District, Gisborne, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 11, 2021 1:17 am (GMT +13) (Oct 10, 2021 12:17 GMT)
1.8

23 km
116 km (72 mi)Wairoa District, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 10, 2021 1:33 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 10, 2021 00:33 GMT)
2.2

22 km
121 km (75 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 22 km east of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, October 9, 2021 22:47 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 10, 2021 11:47 am (GMT +13) (Oct 9, 2021 22:47 GMT)
2.0

21 km
90 km (56 mi)Wairoa District, 79 km north of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 10, 2021 9:58 am (GMT +13) (Oct 9, 2021 20:58 GMT)
1.5

28 km
76 km (47 mi)Hastings District, 34 km northwest of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 10, 2021 4:14 am (GMT +13) (Oct 9, 2021 15:14 GMT)
2.1

26 km
154 km (96 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 72 km east of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.8 x 109 joules (765 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.658 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.