Past earthquakes in Salem (Oregon), USA: 2021 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 16, 2022 07:30 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in 2021:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 35 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 841 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In 2021, Salem (Oregon) was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 35 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 841 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.2 | 18 mi N of Eugene, Lane County, Oregon, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 1.6 or higher (232 out of 880 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, December 30, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 30, 2021 12:53 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 30, 2021 20:53 GMT)
?

n/a
Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 29, 2021 11:41 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 30, 2021 07:41 GMT)
?

n/a
Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 29, 2021 10:45 am (GMT -8) (Dec 29, 2021 18:45 GMT)
?

n/a
0.3 mi northeast of Hillsboro, Washington County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 29, 2021 8:04 am (GMT -8) (Dec 29, 2021 16:04 GMT)
?

n/a
3.9 mi south of Waldport, Lincoln County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 29, 2021 7:07 am (GMT -8) (Dec 29, 2021 15:07 GMT)
?

n/a
Washington, 19 mi northwest of The Dalles, Wasco County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, December 26, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 25, 2021 7:25 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 26, 2021 03:25 GMT)
2.9

73 km
7.7 mi northwest of Albany, Linn County, Oregon, USA MoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 7:20 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 26, 2021 03:20 GMT)
?

n/a
1.4 mi west of Eugene, Multnomah County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, December 25, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 25, 2021 2:48 am (GMT -8) (Dec 25, 2021 10:48 GMT)
?

n/a
4.6 mi north of Florence, Lane County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 24, 2021 4:20 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 25, 2021 00:20 GMT)
?

n/a
14 mi northeast of Salem (Oregon), Marion County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, December 24, 2021 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 23, 2021 9:21 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 24, 2021 05:21 GMT)
3.1

76 km
19 mi southeast of Eugene, Lane County, Oregon, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Wednesday, December 22, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 22, 2021 2:54 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 22, 2021 22:54 GMT)
1.7

12 km
14 Km E of Lacomb, Oregon MoreMap
Dec 22, 2021 11:17 am (GMT -8) (Dec 22, 2021 19:17 GMT)
?

n/a
9.7 mi southwest of Hillsboro, Washington County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Dec 22, 2021 10:18 am (GMT -8) (Dec 22, 2021 18:18 GMT)
2.6

5 km
29 mi west of McMinnville, Yamhill County, Oregon, USA MoreMap
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 20, 2021 10:32 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 21, 2021 06:32 GMT)
?

n/a
14 mi northeast of Salem (Oregon), Marion County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Monday, December 20, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 20, 2021 12:11 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 20, 2021 20:11 GMT)
4.2

5.4 km
18 mi north of Eugene, Lane County, Oregon, USA 6 reportsMoreMap
Dec 20, 2021 4:29 am (GMT -8) (Dec 20, 2021 12:29 GMT)
?

n/a
10.9 mi southeast of Eugene, Multnomah County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, December 17, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 17, 2021 8:18 am (GMT -8) (Dec 17, 2021 16:18 GMT)
?

n/a
1.2 mi west of Eugene, Lane County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Dec 17, 2021 4:02 am (GMT -8) (Dec 17, 2021 12:02 GMT)
2.9

36 km
North Pacific Ocean, 5.9 mi southwest of Lincoln City, Lincoln County, Oregon, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 16, 2021 9:05 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 17, 2021 05:05 GMT)
?

n/a
8 mi west of Warm Springs, Jefferson County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Thursday, December 16, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 15, 2021 9:06 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 16, 2021 05:06 GMT)
1.7

0.9 km
37 Km NNE of Amboy, Washington 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 15, 2021 7:23 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 16, 2021 03:23 GMT)
?

n/a
1.6 mi northwest of Wilsonville, Clackamas County, Oregon, USA (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 1011 joules (59.3 megawatt hours, equivalent to 51 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 16, 2022 07:30 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings