Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Junction City, Kansas, USA, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: May 9, 2022 07:19 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 7 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 71 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 176 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 12 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Since 1900, Junction City has had 7 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 71 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 176 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 12 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.7 | 13 mi NE of Osborne, Kansas, USA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.9 | 8.2 mi N of Manhattan, Riley County, Kansas, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 1.7 or higher (266 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Aug 28, 2022 1:54 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 28, 2022 18:54 GMT)
2.7

5 km
732 km (455 mi)13 mi northeast of Osborne, Kansas, USA 2 reportsMore
Jul 26, 2022 7:04 am (GMT -5) (Jul 26, 2022 12:04 GMT)
3.6

5 km
758 km (471 mi)5.8 mi southwest of Superior, Nuckolls County, Nepalaka, USA 3 reportsMore
Jul 17, 2022 7:51 am (GMT -5) (Jul 17, 2022 12:51 GMT)
3.7

5 km
760 km (472 mi)4.6 mi southwest of Superior, Nuckolls County, Nepalaka, USA 27 reportsMore
Jul 7, 2022 4:09 am (GMT -5) (Jul 7, 2022 09:09 GMT)
2.4

1.8 km
866 km (538 mi)9 mi west of Junction City, Geary County, Kansas, USA 1 reportMore
Jun 17, 2022 4:52 pm (GMT -5) (Jun 17, 2022 21:52 GMT)
2.5

5 km
734 km (456 mi)13 Km N of Cawker City, Kansas More
Jun 4, 2022 11:23 am (GMT -5) (Jun 4, 2022 16:23 GMT)
3.0

5 km
832 km (517 mi)16 mi southeast of Salina, Saline County, Kansas, USA More
May 16, 2022 9:23 pm (GMT -5) (May 17, 2022 02:23 GMT)
2.2

5 km
801 km (498 mi)Kansas 2 reportsMore
Apr 30, 2022 11:06 am (GMT -5) (Apr 30, 2022 16:06 GMT)
2.5

5 km
867 km (539 mi)7 Km WSW of Woodbine, Kansas More
Apr 28, 2022 8:00 pm (GMT -5) (Apr 29, 2022 01:00 GMT)
2.6

5 km
826 km (513 mi)Near McPherson, Kansas, USA 2 reportsMore
Apr 15, 2022 4:59 am (GMT -5) (Apr 15, 2022 09:59 GMT)
2.6

5 km
825 km (513 mi)6 Km SE of Assaria, Kansas More
Mar 8, 2022 2:37 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 8, 2022 20:37 GMT)
3.0

5 km
831 km (516 mi)15 mi southeast of Salina, Saline County, Kansas, USA 1 reportMore
Feb 26, 2022 12:29 am (GMT -6) (Feb 26, 2022 06:29 GMT)
2.7

5 km
868 km (539 mi)21 mi southwest of Junction City, Geary County, Kansas, USA 1 reportMore
Feb 24, 2022 12:22 am (GMT -6) (Feb 24, 2022 06:22 GMT)
2.8

5 km
749 km (465 mi)19 mi northwest of Willow Springs, Mitchell County, Kansas, USA More
Feb 23, 2022 7:56 am (GMT -6) (Feb 23, 2022 13:56 GMT)
2.2

5 km
866 km (538 mi)8 Km WSW of Woodbine, Kansas More
Feb 12, 2022 5:47 am (GMT -6) (Feb 12, 2022 11:47 GMT)
2.5

5 km
869 km (540 mi)Near Abilene, Kansas, USA 1 reportMore
Feb 2, 2022 9:59 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 3, 2022 03:59 GMT)
2.5

5 km
870 km (541 mi)6 Km ENE of Hope, Kansas 2 reportsMore
Feb 1, 2022 12:25 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 1, 2022 18:25 GMT)
2.5

5 km
830 km (516 mi)6 Km WSW of Gypsum, Kansas 1 reportMore
Jan 29, 2022 8:05 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 30, 2022 02:05 GMT)
2.5

5 km
868 km (539 mi)6 Km SW of Woodbine, Kansas More
Jan 20, 2022 8:21 am (GMT -6) (Jan 20, 2022 14:21 GMT)
2.5

4.3 km
830 km (516 mi)5 Km WSW of Gypsum, Kansas 1 reportMore
Jan 15, 2022 2:41 am (GMT -6) (Jan 15, 2022 08:41 GMT)
3.0

5 km
830 km (516 mi)Kansas, USA 1 reportMore
Jan 14, 2022 6:35 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 15, 2022 00:35 GMT)
2.7

5 km
828 km (514 mi)Kansas, USA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.5 x 1012 joules (962 megawatt hours, equivalent to 828 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kansas State University--Konza Prairie, Kansas, USA (KSU1/US network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kansas State University--Konza Prairie, Kansas, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Junction City Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Junction City?

The last earthquake in Junction City occurred 4 weeks ago: Weak mag. 2.7 earthquake - 13 mi northeast of Osborne, Kansas, USA, on Sunday, Aug 28, 2022 at 1:54 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Junction City since 1900?

Since 1900, Junction City, Kansas, USA had 266 quakes up to magnitude 4.9.

What was the strongest quake in Junction City since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Junction City since 1900 occurred 117 years ago: Moderate mag. 4.9 earthquake - 8.2 mi north of Manhattan, Riley County, Kansas, USA, on Monday, January 8, 1906 at 00:15 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 26, 2022 09:06 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings