Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Torrance, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 02:43 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 13 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Torrance had 1 quake of magnitude 2.0. There were also 13 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 2.0 earthquake occurred in 49km SSW of San Clemente, CA, 5 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.6 | 4km NW of Boron, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.0 | 49km SSW of San Clemente, CA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Torrance, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours11 quakes | 1 quake M2+
Past 7 days64 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 30 days285 quakes | 18 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 90 days847 quakes | 61 quakes M2+ | 11 quakes M3+
Past 365 days3,762 quakes | 363 quakes M2+ | 43 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (16 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 4:17 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 23:17 GMT)
1.6

0.8 km
4km NW of Boron, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 4:09 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 23:09 GMT)
0.8

10.7 km
7km SSW of Devore, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 2:04 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 22:04 GMT)
2.0

5.8 km
49km SSW of San Clemente, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 1:42 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 20:42 GMT)
1.0

0.5 km
2km WSW of Home Gardens, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 1:05 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 20:05 GMT)
1.2

13 km
7km E of Murrieta Hot Springs, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 1:04 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 20:04 GMT)
1.0

1 km
13km SE of Tehachapi, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 12:28 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 19:28 GMT)
1.4

0.5 km
4km SSE of Home Gardens, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 11:45 am (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 18:45 GMT)
?

n/a
Baja California, Mexico, 22 km southeast of Chula Vista, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 4, 2022 10:27 am (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 17:27 GMT)
1.0

12 km
12km N of Banning, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 10:04 am (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 17:04 GMT)
1.1

0.7 km
8km SSE of Home Gardens, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 4:55 am (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 11:55 GMT)
1.6

15 km
2km SSE of Loma Linda, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 2:48 am (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 09:48 GMT)
1.4

3.7 km
21km ENE of Boron, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 12:58 am (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 07:58 GMT)
0.9

3.4 km
4km ESE of Yorba Linda, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 12:57 am (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 07:57 GMT)
1.4

2 km
3km NNW of Ojai, CA More
Oct 3, 2022 9:39 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 04:39 GMT)
0.2

12 km
10km S of Idyllwild, CA More
Oct 3, 2022 8:54 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 03:54 GMT)
?

n/a
0.3 mi west of Riverside, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 108 joules (37.2 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Rancho Palos Verdes (RPV/CI network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Rancho Palos Verdes: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Torrance Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Torrance?

The last earthquake in Torrance occurred 3 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.6 earthquake - 4km NW of Boron, CA, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 4:17 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Torrance today?

In the past 24 hours, Torrance, California, USA had 16 quakes up to magnitude 2.0.

What was the strongest quake in Torrance today?

The strongest earthquake in Torrance today occurred 5 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.0 earthquake - 49km SSW of San Clemente, CA, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 2:04 pm (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 02:43 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings