Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Snowville, Utah, USA, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated Apr 14, 2022 18:07 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 15 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 102 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Snowville has had 2 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 15 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 102 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.2 | 10 mi SE of Souda Springs, Caribou County, Idaho, USA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.6 | Box Elder County, 54 mi NW of Ogden, Weber County, Utah, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (119 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jan 2, 2021 10:35 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 3, 2021 05:35 GMT)
4.2

5.1 km
132 km (82 mi)10 mi southeast of Souda Springs, Caribou County, Idaho, USA 20 reportsMoreMap
2020-04-16 06:41:29 -07:00 (Apr 16, 2020 13:41 GMT)
4.2

9.5 km
139 km (86 mi)2.8 mi northeast of Magna, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 580 reportsMoreMap
2020-04-14 19:56:09 -07:00 (Apr 15, 2020 02:56 GMT)
4.2

9 km
139 km (86 mi)4.2 mi northwest of West Valley City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 692 reportsMoreMap
2020-03-18 12:12:23 -07:00 (Mar 18, 2020 19:12 GMT)
4.6

10.7 km
140 km (87 mi)5.1 mi northwest of West Valley City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 267 reportsMoreMap
2020-03-18 07:02:12 -07:00 (Mar 18, 2020 14:02 GMT)
4.6

9.1 km
142 km (88 mi)3.9 mi northeast of Magna, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 75 reportsMoreMap
2020-03-18 06:09:31 -07:00 (Mar 18, 2020 13:09 GMT)
5.7

12 km
140 km (87 mi)3.1 mi north of Magna, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 3429 reportsMoreMap
Jan 26, 2018 03:32 GMT
4.3

10 km
130 km (81 mi)8.6 mi southeast of Souda Springs, Caribou County, Idaho, USA 22 reportsMoreMap
Oct 11, 2017 01:24 GMT
4.1

10 km
135 km (84 mi)5.3 mi northwest of Georgetown, Bear Lake County, Idaho, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
2017-09-13 19:53:10 -07:00 (Sep 14, 2017 02:53 GMT)
4.0

7.3 km
136 km (85 mi)4.7 mi north of Georgetown, Bear Lake County, Idaho, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
Sep 11, 2017 13:26 GMT
4.5

10 km
135 km (84 mi)5.1 mi northwest of Georgetown, Bear Lake County, Idaho, USA 4 reportsMoreMap
2017-09-11 02:36:32 -07:00 (Sep 11, 2017 09:36 GMT)
4.3

7.6 km
136 km (85 mi)4.9 mi north of Georgetown, Bear Lake County, Idaho, USA MoreMap
Sep 10, 2017 19:05 GMT
4.2

12 km
134 km (83 mi)5.7 mi north of Georgetown, Bear Lake County, Idaho, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
2017-09-10 04:12:39 -07:00 (Sep 10, 2017 11:12 GMT)
4.6

3.6 km
132 km (82 mi)6.6 mi northwest of Georgetown, Bear Lake County, Idaho, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
2017-09-10 02:47:11 -07:00 (Sep 10, 2017 09:47 GMT)
4.7

5 km
133 km (83 mi)6.5 mi northwest of Georgetown, Bear Lake County, Idaho, USA 18 reportsMoreMap
Sep 9, 2017 08:23 GMT
4.1

7 km
134 km (83 mi)5.9 mi northwest of Georgetown, Bear Lake County, Idaho, USA 1 reportMoreMap
2017-09-07 05:13:38 -07:00 (Sep 7, 2017 12:13 GMT)
4.1

5.6 km
134 km (83 mi)10.2 mi southeast of Souda Springs, Caribou County, Idaho, USA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.9 x 1014 joules (220 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.9 x 105 tons of TNT or 11.8 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Snowville Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Snowville?

The last earthquake in Snowville occurred 1 year 20 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.2 earthquake - 10 mi southeast of Souda Springs, Caribou County, Idaho, USA, on Saturday, Jan 2, 2021 at 10:35 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Snowville since 1900?

Since 1900, Snowville, Utah, USA had 119 quakes up to magnitude 6.6.

What was the strongest quake in Snowville since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Snowville since 1900 occurred 88 years ago: Major magnitude 6.6 earthquake - Box Elder County, 54 mi northwest of Ogden, Weber County, Utah, USA, on Monday, March 12, 1934 at 15:05 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 24, 2022 19:44 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.