Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 19, 2021 10:17 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Rancho Palos Verdes, Los Angeles County, California, USA: past 7 days

Updated Oct 19, 2021 10:17 GMT -
There were 12 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and 1.8 in or near Rancho Palos Verdes during the past 7 days.
Biggest quake: 1.8 quake 1km S of Commerce, CA, Oct 17, 2021 3:39 pm (GMT -7)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
Hide 7 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (19 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 22:39 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 3:39 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 17, 2021 22:39 GMT)
1.8

18 km
164 km (102 mi)1km S of Commerce, CA MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 9:26 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 17, 2021 04:26 GMT)
1.1

5.3 km
157 km (98 mi)2km SW of Anaheim, CA MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 14:29 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 16, 2021 6:29 am (GMT -8) (Oct 16, 2021 14:29 GMT)
1.8

0.8 km
221 km (137 mi)25km SSE of Malibu, CA MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 1:26 am (GMT -7) (Oct 16, 2021 08:26 GMT)
1.1

14 km
131 km (81 mi)3km SSE of San Dimas, CA MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 12:15 am (GMT -7) (Oct 16, 2021 07:15 GMT)
1.0

12 km
142 km (88 mi)5km N of Yorba Linda, CA MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 23:19 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 4:19 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 23:19 GMT)
?

n/a
157 km (98 mi)0.3 mi west of Anaheim, Orange County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 1:54 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 20:54 GMT)
?

n/a
160 km (99 mi)0.6 mi northwest of Mission Viejo, Orange County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 11:11 am (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 18:11 GMT)
?

n/a
172 km (107 mi)1.8 mi southwest of Burbank, Los Angeles County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 10:12 am (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 17:12 GMT)
1.8

13 km
174 km (108 mi)1km S of Sylmar, CA MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 9:29 am (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 16:29 GMT)
1.5

11 km
175 km (109 mi)1km SE of Sylmar, CA MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 12:23 am (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 07:23 GMT)
?

n/a
131 km (81 mi)5.1 mi southeast of Chino Hills, San Bernardino County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 11:20 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 06:20 GMT)
1.3

4.2 km
179 km (111 mi)1km S of Orange, CA MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 08:58 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 14, 2021 1:58 am (GMT -7) (Oct 14, 2021 08:58 GMT)
0.9

17 km
170 km (106 mi)4km W of Laguna Niguel, CA MoreMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 23:57 GMT (6 earthquakes)
Oct 13, 2021 4:57 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 23:57 GMT)
1.4

0.8 km
169 km (105 mi)2km WSW of Burbank, CA MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 2:33 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 21:33 GMT)
1.8

12 km
163 km (101 mi)2km N of Stanton, CA MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 1:26 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 20:26 GMT)
?

n/a
190 km (118 mi)0.6 mi west of Santa Monica, Los Angeles County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 8:19 am (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 15:19 GMT)
1.4

14 km
175 km (109 mi)2km ESE of Long Beach, CA MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 9:56 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 04:56 GMT)
?

n/a
157 km (98 mi)1.9 mi southwest of Fullerton, Orange County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 8:27 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 03:27 GMT)
?

n/a
125 km (78 mi)2.7 mi west of Ontario, San Bernardino County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 108 joules (46.7 kilowatt hours) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.