Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Fern Forest, Hawaii, USA, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, September 28, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 28, 2022 09:03 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 17 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 11 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Fern Forest was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.5 and 17 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 11 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A moderate magnitude 4.5 earthquake was felt in Hawaii, USA, 10 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.1 | Island of Hawaii, Hawaii -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.5 | 39 mi SW of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Fern Forest, Hawaii, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours29 quakes | 17 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days270 quakes | 126 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days747 quakes | 395 quakes M2+ | 15 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 90 days1,998 quakes | 1,108 quakes M2+ | 41 quakes M3+ | 6 quakes M4+
Past 365 days8,394 quakes | 4,846 quakes M2+ | 190 quakes M3+ | 14 quakes M4+ | 0 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 GMT (15 quakes)
Sep 27, 2022 10:55 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 08:55 GMT)
2.1

33 km
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 9:52 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 07:52 GMT)
1.8

33 km
9 Km ENE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 7:45 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 05:45 GMT)
1.8

37 km
4 Km SW of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 7:19 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 05:19 GMT)
2.6

1.8 km
39 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA
I FELT IT
More
Sep 27, 2022 6:18 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 04:18 GMT)
1.8

30 km
Hawaii Region, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 6:15 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 04:15 GMT)
1.8

31 km
7 Km ENE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 6:13 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 04:13 GMT)
2.2

32 km
3 Km SW of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 5:46 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 03:46 GMT)
2.0

31 km
12 Km SE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 4:06 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 02:06 GMT)
1.8

0.4 km
7 Km SW of Volcano, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 3:38 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 01:38 GMT)
2.1

33 km
8 Km ENE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 3:15 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 01:15 GMT)
2.0

31 km
3 Km SSW of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 2:52 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 00:52 GMT)
1.9

3.4 km
21 Km E of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 2:51 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 00:51 GMT)
2.0

0.1 km
13 Km ENE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 2:38 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 00:38 GMT)
2.0

31 km
9 Km ENE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 2:06 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 28, 2022 00:06 GMT)
2.3

32 km
37 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 GMT (14 quakes)
Sep 27, 2022 1:49 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 27, 2022 23:49 GMT)
2.2

34 km
39 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Sep 27, 2022 1:18 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 27, 2022 23:18 GMT)
1.7

31 km
9 Km ENE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 12:55 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 27, 2022 22:55 GMT)
2.3

32 km
38 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Sep 27, 2022 12:43 pm (GMT -10) (Sep 27, 2022 22:43 GMT)
4.5

32 km
39 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA
I FELT IT - 43 reports
More
Sep 27, 2022 9:51 am (GMT -10) (Sep 27, 2022 19:51 GMT)
1.8

31 km
2 Km ESE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Sep 27, 2022 9:22 am (GMT -10) (Sep 27, 2022 19:22 GMT)
2.3

33 km
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.6 x 1011 joules (99.3 megawatt hours, equivalent to 85.4 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Pohakuloa, Hawaii, USA (POHA/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Pohakuloa, Hawaii, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Fern Forest Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Fern Forest?

The last earthquake in Fern Forest occurred 7 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.1 earthquake - Island of Hawaii, Hawaii, on Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022 at 10:55 pm (GMT -10).

How many quakes were there in Fern Forest today?

In the past 24 hours, Fern Forest, Hawaii, USA had 29 quakes up to magnitude 4.5.

What was the strongest quake in Fern Forest today?

The strongest earthquake in Fern Forest today occurred 10 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.5 earthquake - 39 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA, on Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022 at 12:43 pm (GMT -10).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 28, 2022 09:03 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings