3 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Waiouru, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, June 30, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jun 30, 2022 18:37 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 9 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 11 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Waiouru had 9 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 11 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 2.9 earthquake occurred in Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, 8 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.0 | South Pacific Ocean, 29 km E of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.9 | 27 km SW of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Waiouru, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours:18 quakes | 9 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:211 quakes | 67 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:842 quakes | 337 quakes M2+ | 35 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:2,470 quakes | 939 quakes M2+ | 95 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:9,283 quakes | 3,504 quakes M2+ | 338 quakes M3+ | 17 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, June 30, 2022 GMT (13 quakes)
Jul 1, 2022 6:30 am (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 18:30 GMT)
2.0

15 km
South Pacific Ocean, 29 km east of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 5:43 am (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 17:43 GMT)
1.6

5 km
North Island, 22 km south of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 5:14 am (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 17:14 GMT)
2.3

16 km
South Pacific Ocean, 33 km east of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 10:58 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 10:58 GMT)
2.9

33 km
27 km southwest of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 10:46 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 10:46 GMT)
2.7

95 km
79 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 9:06 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 09:06 GMT)
2.3

27 km
Tasman Sea, 35 km northwest of Levin, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 8:55 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 08:55 GMT)
0.8

18 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 8:18 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 08:18 GMT)
1.8

15 km
82 km north of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 7:02 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 07:02 GMT)
1.9

21 km
34 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 6:09 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 06:09 GMT)
1.7

5 km
North Island, 20 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 6:07 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 06:07 GMT)
2.5

17 km
59 km northeast of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 3:03 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 03:03 GMT)
2.3

161 km
Waikato, 24 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 2:44 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 30, 2022 02:44 GMT)
1.9

66 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, June 29, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Jun 30, 2022 9:44 am (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 21:44 GMT)
1.2

32 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 9:25 am (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 21:25 GMT)
2.2

149 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 30, 2022 9:06 am (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 21:06 GMT)
0.8

17 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.8 x 109 joules (1.34 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.15 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Waiouru Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Waiouru?

The last earthquake in Waiouru occurred 7 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.0 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 29 km east of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, on Friday, Jul 1, 2022 at 6:30 am (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Waiouru today?

In the past 24 hours, Waiouru, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand had 20 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Waiouru today?

The strongest earthquake in Waiouru today occurred 8 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.9 earthquake - 27 km southwest of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, on Thursday, Jun 30, 2022 at 10:58 pm (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jun 30, 2022 18:37 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.