Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Masaya, Nicaragua, in the past 7 days - list, stats and map

Updated May 27, 2022 12:20 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 7 days:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 19 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 44 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 12 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 7 days, Masaya was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.0, 5 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 19 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 44 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 12 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!
A weak magnitude 3.0 earthquake occurred in North Pacific Ocean, Nicaragua, 15 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.3 | 23 km SW of Managua, Nicaragua -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.0 | North Pacific Ocean, 95 km SW of Managua, Nicaragua -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Masaya, Nicaragua (updated )

Past 24 hours:5 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:80 quakes | 44 quakes M2+ | 19 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days:337 quakes | 167 quakes M2+ | 95 quakes M3+ | 16 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days:811 quakes | 381 quakes M2+ | 211 quakes M3+ | 38 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 365 days:2,196 quakes | 1,019 quakes M2+ | 724 quakes M3+ | 109 quakes M4+ | 11 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 5 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.3 or higher (63 out of 81 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, May 27, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
May 26, 2022 6:59 pm (GMT -6) (May 27, 2022 00:59 GMT)
2.3

40 km
23 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thursday, May 26, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
May 26, 2022 5:14 pm (GMT -6) (May 26, 2022 23:14 GMT)
2.7

5 km
6.7 km north of Esteli, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 5:14 pm (GMT -6) (May 26, 2022 23:14 GMT)
2.9

34 km
North Pacific Ocean, 53 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 26, 2022 3:12 pm (GMT -6) (May 26, 2022 21:12 GMT)
3.0

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 89 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 1:38 pm (GMT -6) (May 26, 2022 19:38 GMT)
2.7

28 km
6.2 km west of Nicaragua, Departamento de Rivas, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 26, 2022 8:46 am (GMT -6) (May 26, 2022 14:46 GMT)
?

n/a
15 km east of Managua, Nicaragua (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 6:07 am (GMT -6) (May 26, 2022 12:07 GMT)
4.8

37 km
15 km northwest of Managua, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 5:12 am (GMT -6) (May 26, 2022 11:12 GMT)
3.4

55 km
Departamento de Jinotega, 20 km east of Esteli, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 4:21 am (GMT -6) (May 26, 2022 10:21 GMT)
2.6

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 87 km southwest of Nicaragua, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 25, 2022 10:04 pm (GMT -6) (May 26, 2022 04:04 GMT)
3.4

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 30 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 GMT (13 quakes)
May 25, 2022 1:19 pm (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 19:19 GMT)
3.9

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southwest of Jinotepe, Carazo, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 12:58 pm (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 18:58 GMT)
5.0

42 km
49 Km WSW of Masachapa, Nicaragua
I FELT IT - 6 reports
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 12:58 pm (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 18:58 GMT)
4.9

10 km
Honduras
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 12:49 pm (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 18:49 GMT)
3.0

20 km
5 Km Al Noreste De San Carlos, Nicaragua
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 8:50 am (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 14:50 GMT)
3.8

26 km
94 Km Al Oeste De Caba Santa Elena, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 8:50 am (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 14:50 GMT)
4.5

29 km
96 Km Al Oeste De San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua.
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.4 x 1012 joules (1.5 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1286 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Masaya Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Masaya?

The last earthquake in Masaya occurred 11 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.3 earthquake - 23 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua, on Thursday, May 26, 2022 at 6:59 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Masaya past week?

In the past 7 days, Masaya, Nicaragua had 63 quakes up to magnitude 5.0.

What was the strongest quake in Masaya past week?

The strongest earthquake in Masaya past week occurred 1 day 17 hours ago: Moderate mag. 5.0 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 95 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua, on Wednesday, May 25, 2022 at 12:58 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 27, 2022 12:20 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.