Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2022 06:46 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes near Masaya, Nicaragua: 2020 - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 27, 2022 06:46 GMT -
During 2020, Masaya was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 13 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 72 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 107 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 46 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.5 quake 7.9 km south of Diriamba, Carazo, Nicaragua, January, 3 2020 15:28 GMT
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (241 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 28, 2020 23:23 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 28, 2020 5:23 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 28, 2020 23:23 GMT)
3.1

163 km
18 km north of Nicaragua, Departamento de Rivas, Nicaragua MoreMap
Dec 28, 2020 2:34 am (GMT -6) (Dec 28, 2020 08:34 GMT)
2.3

122 km
4.4 km southwest of Santa Teresa, Carazo, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sunday, December 27, 2020 07:05 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 27, 2020 1:05 am (GMT -6) (Dec 27, 2020 07:05 GMT)
3.1

187 km
8.4 km east of Nicaragua, Departamento de Rivas, Nicaragua MoreMap
Dec 26, 2020 11:13 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 27, 2020 05:13 GMT)
2.8

79 km
13 km southwest of Santa Teresa, Carazo, Nicaragua MoreMap
Wednesday, December 23, 2020 15:44 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 23, 2020 9:44 am (GMT -6) (Dec 23, 2020 15:44 GMT)
2.2

7 km
10.5 km northwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Friday, December 18, 2020 05:10 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 17, 2020 11:10 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 18, 2020 05:10 GMT)
2.7

152 km
Departamento de Rivas, 19 km south of Nandaime (Granada), Nicaragua MoreMap
Saturday, December 12, 2020 10:34 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 12, 2020 10:34 GMT
4.5

163 km
16 km southwest of Ciudad Sandino, Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thursday, December 10, 2020 19:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 10, 2020 1:54 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 10, 2020 19:54 GMT)
2.7

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Wednesday, December 9, 2020 11:15 GMT (6 earthquakes)
2020-12-09 05:15:29 (Dec 9, 2020 11:15 GMT)
1.8

12 km
1 km south of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
2020-12-09 05:15:29 (Dec 9, 2020 11:15 GMT)
1.8

11 km
5.1 km south of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Dec 8, 2020 10:51 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 9, 2020 04:51 GMT)
1.7

18 km
2.3 km east of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Dec 8, 2020 10:51 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 9, 2020 04:51 GMT)
1.8

14 km
2.2 km northwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
2020-12-08 22:28:48 (Dec 9, 2020 04:28 GMT)
1.8

8 km
1.2 km southeast of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
2020-12-08 22:28:47 (Dec 9, 2020 04:28 GMT)
1.7

10 km
3.8 km southeast of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Monday, December 7, 2020 07:38 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 7, 2020 1:38 am (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2020 07:38 GMT)
4.1

97 km
North Pacific Ocean, 8.3 km northeast of Masachapa, Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Friday, December 4, 2020 04:00 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 3, 2020 10:00 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 4, 2020 04:00 GMT)
1.8

10 km
9 km south of Nagarote, León, Nicaragua MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.3 x 1013 joules (6.47 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 5564 tons of TNT or 0.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel