Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Masaya, Nicaragua, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated Apr 24, 2022 05:03 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 47 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 255 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Masaya has had 5 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 47 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 255 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.4 | North Pacific Ocean, 90 km SW of Managua, Nicaragua -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.7 | 92 km SW of Leon, Nicaragua -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (307 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Apr 23, 2022 4:10 pm (GMT -6) (Apr 23, 2022 22:10 GMT)
5.4

35 km
84 km (52 mi)42 Km SW of Masachapa, Nicaragua MoreMap
Apr 23, 2022 4:05 pm (GMT -6) (Apr 23, 2022 22:05 GMT)
5.3

10 km
123 km (76 mi)81 Km SW of Masachapa, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
Apr 21, 2022 1:42 am (GMT -6) (Apr 21, 2022 07:42 GMT)
6.7

25 km
97 km (60 mi)58 Km WSW of Masachapa, Nicaragua 350 reportsMoreMap
Jan 7, 2022 11:04 am (GMT -6) (Jan 7, 2022 17:04 GMT)
5.0

43 km
77 km (48 mi)56 Km S of Corinto, Nicaragua MoreMap
Jan 6, 2022 10:25 am (GMT -6) (Jan 6, 2022 16:25 GMT)
6.1

27 km
78 km (48 mi)58 Km S of Corinto, Nicaragua 143 reportsMoreMap
Nov 9, 2021 12:28 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 9, 2021 18:28 GMT)
5.0

23 km
104 km (65 mi)77 Km Al Oeste De San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua. MoreMap
Nov 9, 2021 12:24 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 9, 2021 18:24 GMT)
5.3

20 km
117 km (73 mi)90 Km Al Oeste De San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua. 1 reportMoreMap
Nov 9, 2021 12:25 am (GMT -6) (Nov 9, 2021 06:25 GMT)
6.3

33 km
106 km (66 mi)Near Coast of Nicaragua 344 reportsMoreMap
Nov 9, 2021 12:24 am (GMT -6) (Nov 9, 2021 06:24 GMT)
5.1

28 km
120 km (75 mi)Near Coast of Nicaragua MoreMap
Nov 8, 2021 8:53 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 9, 2021 02:53 GMT)
5.8

36 km
97 km (60 mi)Near Coast of Nicaragua 303 reportsMoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 6:57 am (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2021 12:57 GMT)
5.6

56 km
9 km (5.6 mi)Near Coast of Nicaragua 9 reportsMoreMap
21 Jul 7:28 pm (GMT -6) (Jul 22, 2021 01:28 GMT)
5.1

34 km
8 km (5 mi)Near Coast of Nicaragua 3 reportsMoreMap
12 Jul 5:26 pm (GMT -6) (Jul 12, 2021 23:26 GMT)
5.4

96 km
54 km (34 mi)Near Belen, Guanacaste, Costa Rica 63 reportsMoreMap
Feb 7, 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 7, 2021 18:02 GMT)
5.2

10 km
68 km (42 mi)NICARAGUA MoreMap
Nov 2, 2020 6:17 am (GMT -6) (Nov 2, 2020 12:17 GMT)
5.0

10 km
129 km (80 mi)67 Km Al Oeste De Rosario, Costa Rica 2 reportsMoreMap
2020-06-27 20:33:12 (Jun 28, 2020 02:33 GMT)
5.0

12 km
109 km (68 mi)66 Km al suroeste de Pochomil, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.8 x 1016 joules (13200 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.1 x 107 tons of TNT or 709.8 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Masaya Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Masaya?

The last earthquake in Masaya occurred 3 weeks ago: Strong mag. 5.4 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 90 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua, on Saturday, Apr 23, 2022 at 4:10 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Masaya since 1900?

Since 1900, Masaya, Nicaragua had 307 quakes up to magnitude 7.7.

What was the strongest quake in Masaya since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Masaya since 1900 occurred 30 years ago: Major magnitude 7.7 earthquake - 92 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua, on Wednesday, September 2, 1992 at 00:16 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 17, 2022 10:41 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.