Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near La Cruz, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica, in the past 24 hours on Monday, May 23, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 23, 2022 03:05 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, La Cruz was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 9 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 10 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A light magnitude 4.1 earthquake occurred in Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, 13 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 89 km W of Santa Cruz, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.1 | Provincia de Alajuela, 39 km NW of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near La Cruz, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica (updated )

Past 24 hours:22 quakes | 10 quakes M2+ | 9 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days:77 quakes | 41 quakes M2+ | 23 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:263 quakes | 130 quakes M2+ | 82 quakes M3+ | 17 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days:522 quakes | 263 quakes M2+ | 173 quakes M3+ | 36 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 365 days:1,707 quakes | 742 quakes M2+ | 699 quakes M3+ | 136 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (23 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, May 23, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
May 22, 2022 7:50 pm (GMT -6) (May 23, 2022 01:50 GMT)
2.8

8 km
North Pacific Ocean, 89 km west of Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 22, 2022 7:50 pm (GMT -6) (May 23, 2022 01:50 GMT)
3.6

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southwest of Liberia, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, May 22, 2022 GMT (21 quakes)
May 22, 2022 4:42 pm (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 22:42 GMT)
3.1

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 77 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 22, 2022 1:42 pm (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 19:42 GMT)
1.5

86 km
21 km southeast of Isla de Ometepe Island, Departamento de Rivas, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 22, 2022 1:42 pm (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 19:42 GMT)
2.3

86 km
30 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 22, 2022 12:41 pm (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 18:41 GMT)
4.0

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 99 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 22, 2022 11:52 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 17:52 GMT)
3.8

13 km
North Pacific Ocean, 98 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 22, 2022 8:42 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 14:42 GMT)
3.7

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 47 km west of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 22, 2022 7:56 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 13:56 GMT)
4.1

90 km
Provincia de Alajuela, 39 km northwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 22, 2022 6:09 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 12:09 GMT)
2.8

71 km
North Pacific Ocean, 26 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 22, 2022 6:07 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 12:07 GMT)
3.0

5 km
39 km north of Managua, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 22, 2022 3:41 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 09:41 GMT)
2.5

12 km
32 km east of Canas, Cañas, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
May 22, 2022 3:25 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 09:25 GMT)
2.1

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 22, 2022 3:25 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 09:25 GMT)
3.0

86 km
North Pacific Ocean, 68 km southwest of Nicoya, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 22, 2022 3:01 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 09:01 GMT)
2.6

24 km
North Pacific Ocean, 90 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 22, 2022 12:41 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 06:41 GMT)
3.4

13 km
North Pacific Ocean, 105 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.9 x 1011 joules (80.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 69 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

La Cruz Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in La Cruz?

The last earthquake in La Cruz occurred 1 hour and 15 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 89 km west of Santa Cruz, Costa Rica, on Sunday, May 22, 2022 at 7:50 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in La Cruz today?

In the past 24 hours, La Cruz, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica had 23 quakes up to magnitude 4.1.

What was the strongest quake in La Cruz today?

The strongest earthquake in La Cruz today occurred 13 hours ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - Provincia de Alajuela, 39 km northwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, on Sunday, May 22, 2022 at 7:56 am (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 23, 2022 03:05 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.