Latest quakes in or near Hunterville, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, August 9, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 9, 2022 05:27 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 12 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 14 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Hunterville had 12 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 14 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A minor magnitude 2.9 earthquake occurred in Taranaki, New Zealand, 16 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.6 | 32 km NW of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.9 | 70 km E of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Hunterville, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours:26 quakes | 12 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:190 quakes | 74 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:772 quakes | 320 quakes M2+ | 27 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:2,350 quakes | 912 quakes M2+ | 86 quakes M3+ | 6 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:8,751 quakes | 3,127 quakes M2+ | 303 quakes M3+ | 20 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (26 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 4:19 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 9, 2022 04:19 GMT)
2.6

136 km
32 km northwest of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 3:57 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 9, 2022 03:57 GMT)
2.0

20 km
69 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:28 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 9, 2022 01:28 GMT)
1.5

20 km
72 km north of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Monday, August 8, 2022 GMT (23 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 11:29 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 23:29 GMT)
2.7

21 km
51 km south of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 10:13 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 22:13 GMT)
2.0

5 km
Tasman Sea, 32 km southwest of Whanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 9:21 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 21:21 GMT)
1.5

20 km
37 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 8:40 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 20:40 GMT)
1.5

5 km
North Island, 22 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 8:19 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 20:19 GMT)
1.6

21 km
20 km northwest of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 7:51 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 19:51 GMT)
2.5

21 km
51 km south of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 6:58 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 18:58 GMT)
2.3

4.8 km
12 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 6:39 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 18:39 GMT)
1.3

21 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 5:49 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 17:49 GMT)
2.7

118 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 5:03 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 17:03 GMT)
2.3

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 4:53 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 16:53 GMT)
1.8

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 4:06 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 16:06 GMT)
1.9

34 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 3:01 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 15:01 GMT)
1.9

35 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 2:18 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 14:18 GMT)
2.1

47 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:41 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 13:41 GMT)
2.6

11 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:19 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 13:19 GMT)
2.9

195 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 10:52 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 10:52 GMT)
1.9

57 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 10:24 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 10:24 GMT)
1.0

3.4 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.1 x 109 joules (1.42 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.22 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Hunterville Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Hunterville?

The last earthquake in Hunterville occurred 1 hour and 9 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.6 earthquake - 32 km northwest of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 4:19 pm (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Hunterville today?

In the past 24 hours, Hunterville, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand had 26 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Hunterville today?

The strongest earthquake in Hunterville today occurred 16 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.9 earthquake - 70 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand, on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 1:19 am (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 9, 2022 05:27 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings