Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Big Lake, Alaska, USA, in the past 24 hours on Monday, May 23, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 23, 2022 02:53 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 14 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Big Lake had 1 quake of magnitude 2.2. There were also 14 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A minor magnitude 2.2 earthquake occurred in 20 Km WSW of Petersville, Alaska, 5 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.8 | 58 Km WNW of Ninilchik, Alaska -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.2 | 20 Km WSW of Petersville, Alaska -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Big Lake, Alaska, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:15 quakes | 1 quake M2+
Past 7 days:111 quakes | 14 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 30 days:513 quakes | 71 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:1,675 quakes | 282 quakes M2+ | 18 quakes M3+ | 0 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days:7,271 quakes | 1,238 quakes M2+ | 98 quakes M3+ | 11 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (15 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, May 23, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
May 22, 2022 5:52 pm (GMT -8) (May 23, 2022 01:52 GMT)
1.8

104 km
58 Km WNW of Ninilchik, Alaska MoreMap
Sunday, May 22, 2022 GMT (14 quakes)
May 22, 2022 2:01 pm (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 22:01 GMT)
1.6

40 km
5 Km SSE of Houston, Alaska MoreMap
May 22, 2022 1:27 pm (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 21:27 GMT)
2.2

90 km
20 Km WSW of Petersville, Alaska MoreMap
May 22, 2022 8:20 am (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 16:20 GMT)
1.6

69 km
31 Km WNW of Susitna, Alaska MoreMap
May 22, 2022 6:58 am (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 14:58 GMT)
1.5

19 km
30 Km NW of Willow, Alaska MoreMap
May 22, 2022 6:34 am (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 14:34 GMT)
1.5

57 km
11 Km S of Trapper Creek, Alaska MoreMap
May 22, 2022 6:20 am (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 14:20 GMT)
1.4

27 km
Southern Alaska MoreMap
May 22, 2022 5:12 am (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 13:12 GMT)
1.4

19 km
24 Km ENE of Susitna North, Alaska MoreMap
May 22, 2022 3:40 am (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 11:40 GMT)
1.4

19 km
5 Km SSE of Talkeetna, Alaska MoreMap
May 22, 2022 1:57 am (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 09:57 GMT)
1.5

250 km
19 Km WNW of Eureka Roadhouse, Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 11:59 pm (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 07:59 GMT)
1.0

47 km
Central Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 11:59 pm (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 07:59 GMT)
1.1

40 km
2 Km E of Big Lake, Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 11:55 pm (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 07:55 GMT)
1.9

48 km
64 Km E of Chase, Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 9:19 pm (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 05:19 GMT)
1.6

61 km
19 Km NE of Petersville, Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 8:33 pm (GMT -8) (May 22, 2022 04:33 GMT)
1.6

5.5 km
24 Km ENE of Susitna North, Alaska MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.3 x 108 joules (91.1 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Big Lake Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Big Lake?

The last earthquake in Big Lake occurred 1 hour and 1 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - 58 Km WNW of Ninilchik, Alaska, on Sunday, May 22, 2022 at 5:52 pm (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Big Lake today?

In the past 24 hours, Big Lake, Alaska, USA had 15 quakes up to magnitude 2.2.

What was the strongest quake in Big Lake today?

The strongest earthquake in Big Lake today occurred 5 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.2 earthquake - 20 Km WSW of Petersville, Alaska, on Sunday, May 22, 2022 at 1:27 pm (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 23, 2022 02:53 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.