Help Ukraine

Past earthquakes in Santiago de Chile City: December 2021 - list, stats and map

Updated May 17, 2022 02:45 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes during December 2021:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 44 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 52 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
During December 2021, Santiago de Chile was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 44 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 52 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.3 | 48 km SE of Rancagua, Provincia de Cachapoal, O'Higgins, Chile -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 4 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (103 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 31, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 31, 2021 1:59 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 31, 2021 16:59 GMT)
2.7

69 km
COQUIMBO, CHILE MoreMap
Dec 31, 2021 11:12 am (GMT -3) (Dec 31, 2021 14:12 GMT)
2.9

63 km
Near Coast of Central Chile MoreMap
Dec 31, 2021 12:51 am (GMT -5) (Dec 31, 2021 05:51 GMT)
3.7

19 km
Off Coast of Central Chile MoreMap
Thursday, December 30, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 30, 2021 6:16 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 30, 2021 21:16 GMT)
3.2

20 km
Off Coast of Central Chile MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 3:45 am (GMT -3) (Dec 30, 2021 06:45 GMT)
2.8

90 km
Chile-Argentina Border Region MoreMap
Dec 29, 2021 11:10 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 30, 2021 02:10 GMT)
3.3

53 km
Near Coast of Central Chile MoreMap
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 29, 2021 2:17 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 29, 2021 17:17 GMT)
3.1

95 km
Chile-Argentina Border Region MoreMap
Dec 28, 2021 11:27 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 29, 2021 02:27 GMT)
2.8

4.8 km
Chile-Argentina Border Region MoreMap
Tuesday, December 28, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 28, 2021 8:30 am (GMT -3) (Dec 28, 2021 11:30 GMT)
2.5

51 km
Near Coast of Central Chile MoreMap
Dec 28, 2021 3:53 am (GMT -3) (Dec 28, 2021 06:53 GMT)
3.5

5 km
Near Coast of Central Chile MoreMap
Monday, December 27, 2021 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 27, 2021 4:39 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 27, 2021 19:39 GMT)
3.0

40 km
LIBERTADOR O'HIGGINS, CHILE MoreMap
Dec 27, 2021 5:36 am (GMT -3) (Dec 27, 2021 08:36 GMT)
2.7

51 km
Near Coast of Central Chile MoreMap
Dec 27, 2021 4:53 am (GMT -3) (Dec 27, 2021 07:53 GMT)
2.8

2.8 km
Chile-Argentina Border Region MoreMap
Dec 27, 2021 12:51 am (GMT -3) (Dec 27, 2021 03:51 GMT)
2.7

154 km
Mendoza Province, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 26, 2021 9:40 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 27, 2021 00:40 GMT)
2.6

114 km
MENDOZA (Argentina) MoreMap
Sunday, December 26, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 26, 2021 4:04 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 26, 2021 19:04 GMT)
4.3

125 km
Chile-Argentina Border Region MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.6 x 1011 joules (238 megawatt hours, equivalent to 205 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 17, 2022 02:45 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.