Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Santiago de Chile City on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated May 3, 2022 02:10 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 8
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 7 and 8
  • 48 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 452 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Santiago de Chile has had 2 quakes of magnitude 8.0 or above, 6 quakes between 7.0 and 8.0, 48 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 452 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.0 | South Pacific Ocean, 83 km SW of San Antonio, Region de Valparaiso, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 8.2 | 17 km W of La Ligua, Petorca Province, Region de Valparaiso, Chile -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (508 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Apr 16, 2022 1:10 pm (GMT -4) (Apr 16, 2022 17:10 GMT)
5.0

6.1 km
203 km (126 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 83 km southwest of San Antonio, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
Nov 3, 2021 12:17 am (GMT -3) (Nov 3, 2021 03:17 GMT)
5.7

106 km
74 km (46 mi)Mendoza, Argentina, 64 km east of Los Andes, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 747 reportsMoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 12:35 am (GMT -3) (Oct 26, 2021 03:35 GMT)
5.0

89 km
94 km (58 mi)5.5 km east of Los Andes, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 313 reportsMoreMap
Oct 22, 2021 11:13 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 23, 2021 02:13 GMT)
5.0

40 km
177 km (110 mi)23 km south of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 57 reportsMoreMap
31 Jul 8:14 am (GMT -4) (Jul 31, 2021 12:14 GMT)
5.1

26 km
194 km (121 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 32 km north of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 64 reportsMoreMap
22 Jun 3:16 pm (GMT -4) (Jun 22, 2021 19:16 GMT)
5.3

77 km
183 km (114 mi)Coquimbo Region, 39 km north of La Ligua, Petorca Province, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 63 reportsMoreMap
19 Apr 9:05 am (GMT -4) (Apr 19, 2021 13:05 GMT)
5.1

37 km
206 km (128 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 77 km southwest of San Antonio, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 13 reportsMoreMap
19 Apr 7:13 am (GMT -4) (Apr 19, 2021 11:13 GMT)
5.1

38 km
188 km (117 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 82 km southwest of San Antonio, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 14 reportsMoreMap
19 Apr 12:11 am (GMT -4) (Apr 19, 2021 04:11 GMT)
5.0

34 km
198 km (123 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of San Antonio, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 47 reportsMoreMap
Mar 16, 2021 12:53 am (GMT -3) (Mar 16, 2021 03:53 GMT)
5.0

42 km
114 km (71 mi)O'Higgins, 55 km west of Curico, Maule Region, Chile 37 reportsMoreMap
Mar 8, 2021 9:48 am (GMT -3) (Mar 8, 2021 12:48 GMT)
5.2

98 km
129 km (80 mi)143 km southwest of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina 15 reportsMoreMap
Jan 23, 2021 9:07 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 24, 2021 00:07 GMT)
5.8

123 km
19 km (12 mi)42 km east of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile 147 reportsMoreMap
Jul 2, 2020 12:35 GMT
5.1

10 km
184 km (114 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 84 km southwest of San Antonio, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 10 reportsMoreMap
Jun 25, 2020 11:55 GMT
5.1

23 km
220 km (137 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 48 km northwest of La Ligua, Petorca Province, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 78 reportsMoreMap
May 23, 2020 13:11 GMT
5.3

122 km
14 km (8.7 mi)71 km east of Puente Alto, Provincia de Cordillera, Santiago, Chile 69 reportsMoreMap
Apr 14, 2020 16:02 GMT
5.0

100 km
43 km (27 mi)47 km northeast of Rancagua, Provincia de Cachapoal, O'Higgins, Chile 92 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 1017 joules (73146 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 6.3 x 107 tons of TNT or 3933.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Santiago de Chile Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Santiago de Chile?

The last earthquake in Santiago de Chile occurred 4 weeks ago: Strong mag. 5.0 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 83 km southwest of San Antonio, Region de Valparaiso, Chile, on Saturday, Apr 16, 2022 at 1:10 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Santiago de Chile since 1900?

Since 1900, Santiago de Chile City had 508 quakes up to magnitude 8.2.

What was the strongest quake in Santiago de Chile since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Santiago de Chile since 1900 occurred 116 years ago: Major magnitude 8.2 earthquake - 17 km west of La Ligua, Petorca Province, Region de Valparaiso, Chile, on Friday, August 17, 1906 at 00:40 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 17, 2022 01:17 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.