Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 7, 2021 19:23 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes near Arrifes, Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal: 2020

Updated Dec 7, 2021 19:23 GMT -
During 2020, Arrifes was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 18 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 123 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 7 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.8 quake 68 km northwest of Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal, January, 27 2020 03:16 GMT
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (150 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, December 31, 2020 08:08 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 31, 2020 7:08 am (GMT -1) (Dec 31, 2020 08:08 GMT)
2.1
North Atlantic Ocean, 39 km south of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Friday, December 25, 2020 08:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 25, 2020 08:40 GMT
2.4
North Atlantic Ocean, 45 km northwest of Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Wednesday, December 23, 2020 03:14 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 23, 2020 2:14 am (GMT -1) (Dec 23, 2020 03:14 GMT)
2.0
North Atlantic Ocean, 21 km south of Povoação, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Tuesday, December 22, 2020 22:11 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 22, 2020 9:11 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 22, 2020 22:11 GMT)
2.0
North Atlantic Ocean, 16 km south of Povoação, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Monday, December 14, 2020 04:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 14, 2020 3:00 am (GMT -1) (Dec 14, 2020 04:00 GMT)
3.2
North Atlantic Ocean, 48 km northwest of Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Saturday, December 12, 2020 04:01 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Dec 12, 2020 3:01 am (GMT -1) (Dec 12, 2020 04:01 GMT)
2.0
North Atlantic Ocean, 1.4 km south of Povoação, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 12, 2020 2:57 am (GMT -1) (Dec 12, 2020 03:57 GMT)
3.0

8 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 2.2 km south of Povoação, Azores, Portugal 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 12, 2020 2:53 am (GMT -1) (Dec 12, 2020 03:53 GMT)
2.5
North Atlantic Ocean, 2.2 km south of Povoação, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 11:39 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 12, 2020 00:39 GMT)
2.1
Povoação Municipality, 16 km east of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 11:39 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 12, 2020 00:39 GMT)
2.4
16 km east of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 11:17 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 12, 2020 00:17 GMT)
2.3
North Atlantic Ocean, 16 km east of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 11:06 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 12, 2020 00:06 GMT)
2.0
North Atlantic Ocean, 16 km east of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Friday, December 11, 2020 23:55 GMT (9 earthquakes)
Dec 11, 2020 10:55 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 11, 2020 23:55 GMT)
3.7

1 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 16 km east of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal 10 reportsMoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 23:41 GMT
2.0
North Atlantic Ocean, 2 km south of Povoação, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 10:16 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 11, 2020 23:16 GMT)
2.1
17 km east of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 10:12 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 11, 2020 23:12 GMT)
2.2
North Atlantic Ocean, 3.1 km south of Povoação, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 10:11 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 11, 2020 23:11 GMT)
2.0
North Atlantic Ocean, 21 km east of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 9:57 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 11, 2020 22:57 GMT)
2.4
North Atlantic Ocean, 16 km east of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 9:13 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 11, 2020 22:13 GMT)
2.1
North Atlantic Ocean, 22 km east of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 9:01 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 11, 2020 22:01 GMT)
2.5
0.8 km southeast of Povoação, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 9:00 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 11, 2020 22:00 GMT)
2.9

8 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 16 km east of Vila Franca do Campo, Azores, Portugal 1 reportMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.9 x 1012 joules (525 megawatt hours, equivalent to 452 tons of TNT) More info

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel