Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 1, 2021 04:15 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes near Darfield, Selwyn District, Canterbury, New Zealand: September 2021

Updated Dec 1, 2021 04:15 GMT -
During Sep 2021, Darfield was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 10 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 12 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.6 quake 6.7 km east of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand, Sep 17, 2021 6:05 pm (GMT +12)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 30, 2021 14:22 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 1, 2021 3:22 am (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2021 14:22 GMT)
1.7

7.3 km
Ashburton District, 64 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 1, 2021 2:59 am (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2021 13:59 GMT)
1.8

5 km
21 km southeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 30, 2021 10:26 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2021 09:26 GMT)
1.9

5 km
21 km southeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 30, 2021 2:23 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2021 01:23 GMT)
3.1

5 km
22 km southeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 30, 2021 2:06 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2021 01:06 GMT)
3.4

7.7 km
22 km southeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 23:44 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 26, 2021 12:44 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 25, 2021 23:44 GMT)
3.2

5.6 km
21 km southeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 10:21 am (GMT +13) (Sep 25, 2021 21:21 GMT)
1.5

3 km
Selwyn District, 37 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 25, 2021 4:24 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 25, 2021 04:24 GMT)
2.2

5 km
Selwyn District, 92 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 15:19 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 23, 2021 3:19 am (GMT +12) (Sep 22, 2021 15:19 GMT)
2.6

2.9 km
Selwyn District, 44 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 21:26 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 22, 2021 9:26 am (GMT +12) (Sep 21, 2021 21:26 GMT)
2.9

8.4 km
Hurunui District, 79 km north of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, September 18, 2021 18:10 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 19, 2021 6:10 am (GMT +12) (Sep 18, 2021 18:10 GMT)
2.1

4 km
7 km southeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 18, 2021 4:35 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 18, 2021 04:35 GMT)
1.8

3.4 km
Selwyn District, 47 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 18, 2021 4:00 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 18, 2021 04:00 GMT)
?

n/a
3.4 km southeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, September 17, 2021 15:05 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 18, 2021 3:05 am (GMT +12) (Sep 17, 2021 15:05 GMT)
2.2

4.4 km
Selwyn District, 16 km southwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 6:05 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 17, 2021 06:05 GMT)
3.6

11 km
6.7 km east of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand 13 reportsMoreMap
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 08:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 15, 2021 8:33 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 08:33 GMT)
1.8

5 km
Selwyn District, 117 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Monday, September 13, 2021 13:02 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 14, 2021 1:02 am (GMT +12) (Sep 13, 2021 13:02 GMT)
3.1

2.9 km
Selwyn District, 41 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand 2 reportsMoreMap
Sep 13, 2021 10:00 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 13, 2021 10:00 GMT)
1.6

5 km
Selwyn District, 30 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, September 11, 2021 07:57 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 11, 2021 7:57 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 11, 2021 07:57 GMT)
2.3

5 km
Selwyn District, 98 km west of Rangiora, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 11, 2021 4:56 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 11, 2021 04:56 GMT)
2.5

5 km
Selwyn District, 22 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, September 10, 2021 22:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 11, 2021 10:53 am (GMT +12) (Sep 10, 2021 22:53 GMT)
1.3

3.5 km
Selwyn District, 38 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, September 9, 2021 08:29 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 9, 2021 8:29 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 9, 2021 08:29 GMT)
2.1

5 km
Selwyn District, 90 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, September 8, 2021 18:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 9, 2021 6:01 am (GMT +12) (Sep 8, 2021 18:01 GMT)
2.3

5 km
Selwyn District, 94 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sunday, September 5, 2021 04:42 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 5, 2021 4:42 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 5, 2021 04:42 GMT)
1.6

4.6 km
Selwyn District, 63 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 5, 2021 1:17 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 5, 2021 01:17 GMT)
1.5

5 km
Waimakariri District, 62 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 5, 2021 1:07 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 5, 2021 01:07 GMT)
1.5

5 km
Selwyn District, 98 km north of Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 5, 2021 12:43 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 5, 2021 00:43 GMT)
1.6

4.5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 16 km northeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, September 4, 2021 22:11 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 5, 2021 10:11 am (GMT +12) (Sep 4, 2021 22:11 GMT)
?

n/a
8.4 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Thursday, September 2, 2021 05:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 2, 2021 5:32 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 2, 2021 05:32 GMT)
2.0

5 km
Westland District, West Coast, 94 km northwest of Rangiora, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.7 x 1010 joules (10.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 8.79 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel