Latest quakes in or near Magalia, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 14:50 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
Over the past 24 hours, Magalia had 29 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and in or near Magalia.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.3 | 5km NW of The Geysers, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 1.8 | 30 Km NNW of Sutcliffe, Nevada -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Magalia, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:8 quakes
Past 7 days:67 quakes | 4 quakes M2+
Past 30 days:293 quakes | 30 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:908 quakes | 99 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:4,378 quakes | 467 quakes M2+ | 29 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, August 18, 2022 GMT (14 quakes)
Aug 18, 2022 7:33 am (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 14:33 GMT)
0.3

3.2 km
5km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 6:33 am (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 13:33 GMT)
0.9

2.1 km
8km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 6:27 am (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 13:27 GMT)
0.9

1.7 km
9km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 6:08 am (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 13:08 GMT)
1.0

2.3 km
8km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 5:52 am (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 12:52 GMT)
0.2

2.1 km
5km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 5:51 am (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 12:51 GMT)
0.4

1.2 km
5km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 3:04 am (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 10:04 GMT)
0.5

1.6 km
2km ENE of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:59 am (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 08:59 GMT)
1.2

3.7 km
2km SW of Redwood Valley, CA MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:02 am (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 08:02 GMT)
0.8

2.3 km
9km WNW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 11:42 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 06:42 GMT)
1.8

1 km
30 Km NNW of Sutcliffe, Nevada MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 9:54 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 04:54 GMT)
0.7

1.9 km
2km WNW of Anderson Springs, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 8:51 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 03:51 GMT)
0.6

1.4 km
12km ENE of Cloverdale, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 8:11 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 03:11 GMT)
0.9

3.1 km
5km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 8:03 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 03:03 GMT)
0.9

1.9 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (15 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 4:40 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 23:40 GMT)
1.2

3.6 km
3km SSW of Redwood Valley, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:01 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 22:01 GMT)
0.6

1.8 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 1:14 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 20:14 GMT)
0.9

1.7 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 12:19 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 19:19 GMT)
0.5

2.1 km
1km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 11:34 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 18:34 GMT)
1.1

3.9 km
7km SE of Cloverdale, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 11:22 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 18:22 GMT)
0.3

2.1 km
5km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 11:21 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 18:21 GMT)
0.9

1.9 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 108 joules (30.5 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Magalia Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Magalia?

The last earthquake in Magalia occurred 17 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.3 earthquake - 5km NW of The Geysers, CA, on Thursday, Aug 18, 2022 at 7:33 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Magalia today?

In the past 24 hours, Magalia, California, USA had 29 quakes up to magnitude 1.8.

What was the strongest quake in Magalia today?

The strongest earthquake in Magalia today occurred 8 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - 30 Km NNW of Sutcliffe, Nevada, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 11:42 pm (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 18, 2022 14:50 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings