Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Opunake, South Taranaki District, Taranaki, New Zealand: past 7 days

Updated Sep 19, 2021 19:42 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Opunake was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.4 and 12 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 2 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.4 quake Tasman Sea, 170 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand, Sep 14, 2021 9:50 pm (GMT +12)
Most recent quake: 2.1 quake Tasman Sea, 52 km west of Whanganui, New Zealand, Sep 19, 2021 7:41 am (GMT +12)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (15 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, September 18, 2021 19:41 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 19, 2021 7:41 am (GMT +12) (Sep 18, 2021 19:41 GMT)
2.1

99 km
73 km (45 mi)Tasman Sea, 52 km west of Whanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 19, 2021 12:50 am (GMT +12) (Sep 18, 2021 12:50 GMT)
2.0

119 km
48 km (30 mi)Tasman Sea, 88 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 18, 2021 10:23 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 18, 2021 10:23 GMT)
2.1

112 km
46 km (29 mi)South Taranaki District, 68 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, September 16, 2021 16:07 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 17, 2021 4:07 am (GMT +12) (Sep 16, 2021 16:07 GMT)
1.9

196 km
33 km (21 mi)4.2 km north of Hawera, South Taranaki District, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 16, 2021 4:38 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 16, 2021 04:38 GMT)
2.6

129 km
72 km (45 mi)Tasman Sea, 98 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 21:49 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 16, 2021 9:49 am (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 21:49 GMT)
2.5

146 km
67 km (42 mi)Tasman Sea, 88 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 16, 2021 12:11 am (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 12:11 GMT)
2.2

122 km
42 km (26 mi)South Taranaki District, 60 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 15, 2021 9:13 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 09:13 GMT)
2.1

190 km
42 km (26 mi)6.7 km east of Hawera, South Taranaki District, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 21:06 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 15, 2021 9:06 am (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 21:06 GMT)
2.6

98 km
77 km (48 mi)Tasman Sea, 85 km west of Whanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 15, 2021 8:12 am (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 20:12 GMT)
2.1

17 km
48 km (30 mi)41 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 9:50 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 09:50 GMT)
4.4

205 km
86 km (53 mi)Tasman Sea, 170 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 1:41 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 01:41 GMT)
2.6

177 km
53 km (33 mi)Tasman Sea, 79 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Monday, September 13, 2021 19:44 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 14, 2021 7:44 am (GMT +12) (Sep 13, 2021 19:44 GMT)
1.7

17 km
14 km (8.7 mi)South Taranaki District, 31 km southwest of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 13, 2021 5:53 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 13, 2021 05:53 GMT)
2.8

104 km
56 km (35 mi)20 km southeast of Hawera, South Taranaki District, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 13, 2021 2:32 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 13, 2021 02:32 GMT)
2.3

17 km
48 km (30 mi)41 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 1011 joules (70.8 megawatt hours, equivalent to 60.9 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.