Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Imperial, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, May 26, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 26, 2022 21:43 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 27 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Imperial had 1 quake of magnitude 3.3 and 2 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 27 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 3.3 earthquake was felt in California, USA, 12 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.5 | 20km SW of La Quinta, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.3 | 17 mi NW of Desert Hot Springs, Riverside County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Imperial, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:11 quakes | 2 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:84 quakes | 9 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:332 quakes | 37 quakes M2+ | 22 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:1,205 quakes | 148 quakes M2+ | 86 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:6,232 quakes | 735 quakes M2+ | 395 quakes M3+ | 20 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (30 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, May 26, 2022 GMT (26 quakes)
May 26, 2022 2:37 pm (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 21:37 GMT)
0.5

8.2 km
20km SW of La Quinta, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 2:07 pm (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 21:07 GMT)
0.9

9.4 km
16km NE of Borrego Springs, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 2:00 pm (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 21:00 GMT)
0.7

14 km
17km ESE of Anza, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 12:07 pm (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 19:07 GMT)
0.8

17 km
14km WNW of Barstow, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 11:56 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 18:56 GMT)
0.9

12 km
12km ESE of Anza, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 10:01 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 17:01 GMT)
2.3

16 km
10km SSE of Hemet, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 7:28 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 14:28 GMT)
1.2

15 km
4km SSE of Banning, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 6:28 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 13:28 GMT)
0.7

15 km
5km SW of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 6:12 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 13:12 GMT)
0.6

16 km
9km SW of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 3:30 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 10:30 GMT)
0.4

16 km
5km SSW of Calimesa, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 2:24 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 09:24 GMT)
3.3

13 km
17 mi northwest of Desert Hot Springs, Riverside County, California, USA
I FELT IT - 11 reports
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 1:43 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 08:43 GMT)
0.8

10.6 km
5km NW of Aguanga, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 12:58 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 07:58 GMT)
1.2

14 km
6km NW of Cabazon, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 12:40 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 07:40 GMT)
0.9

21 km
8km ESE of Yucaipa, CA MoreMap
May 26, 2022 12:07 am (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 07:07 GMT)
0.2

6.4 km
15km SSE of Anza, CA MoreMap
May 25, 2022 11:53 pm (GMT -7) (May 26, 2022 06:53 GMT)
0.6

17 km
6km NNW of Cabazon, CA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6 x 109 joules (1.65 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.42 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Imperial Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Imperial?

The last earthquake in Imperial occurred 6 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.5 earthquake - 20km SW of La Quinta, CA, on Thursday, May 26, 2022 at 2:37 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Imperial today?

In the past 24 hours, Imperial, California, USA had 30 quakes up to magnitude 3.3.

What was the strongest quake in Imperial today?

The strongest earthquake in Imperial today occurred 12 hours ago: Light mag. 3.3 earthquake - 17 mi northwest of Desert Hot Springs, Riverside County, California, USA, on Thursday, May 26, 2022 at 2:24 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 26, 2022 21:43 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.