Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Iskenderun, Hatay, Turkey, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, February 9, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 9, 2023 00:15 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 88 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 103 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 3 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Iskenderun was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 9 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 88 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 103 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 3 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A strong magnitude 5.4 earthquake occurred in Malatya, Turkey, 13 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.1 | CENTRAL TURKEY -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.4 | Malatya, 18 km N of Gölbaşı, Adıyaman, Turkey -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Iskenderun, Hatay, Turkey (updated )

Past 24 hours205 quakes103 quakes M2+88 quakes M3+9 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 7 days661 quakes190 quakes M2+309 quakes M3+120 quakes M4+19 quakes M5+1 quake M6+2 quakes M7+
Past 30 days722 quakes204 quakes M2+312 quakes M3+122 quakes M4+19 quakes M5+1 quake M6+2 quakes M7+
Past 90 days917 quakes240 quakes M2+318 quakes M3+124 quakes M4+19 quakes M5+1 quake M6+2 quakes M7+
Past 365 days1,621 quakes453 quakes M2+357 quakes M3+130 quakes M4+20 quakes M5+1 quake M6+2 quakes M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3 or higher (129 out of 205 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, February 9, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 9, 2023 00:00 GMT
3.1

5 km
CENTRAL TURKEY
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 GMT (128 quakes)
Feb 9, 2023 2:58 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 23:58 GMT)
3.1

12 km
38 km west of Gaziantep, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 1:47 am (GMT +2) (Feb 8, 2023 23:47 GMT)
3.0

165 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 98 km northeast of Famagusta, Cyprus
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 2:47 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 23:47 GMT)
3.7

5 km
24 km northeast of Iskenderun, Hatay, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 2:37 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 23:37 GMT)
2.6

1.3 km
39 km northwest of Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 2:27 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 23:27 GMT)
3.2

6.9 km
47 km northeast of Kozan, Adana, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 2:25 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 23:25 GMT)
3.7

6.6 km
11 km east of Osmaniye, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 2:20 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 23:20 GMT)
3.4

5 km
12 km east of Göksun, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 2:15 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 23:15 GMT)
3.4

8 km
9.9 km east of Göksun, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 2:14 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 23:14 GMT)
3.6

2 km
Gaziantep, 35 km south of Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 2:08 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 23:08 GMT)
2.2

13 km
22 km southeast of Kahramanmaraş, Turkey More
Feb 9, 2023 1:57 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 22:57 GMT)
2.2

8.7 km
17 km southwest of Pazarcık, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey More
Feb 9, 2023 1:40 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 22:40 GMT)
2.8

4.3 km
Hatay, 18 km southwest of Göksun, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 1:36 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 22:36 GMT)
2.5

14 km
40 km west of Gaziantep, Turkey More
Feb 9, 2023 1:30 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 22:30 GMT)
2.8

6 km
19 km southeast of Dörtyol, Hatay, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 1:12 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 22:12 GMT)
2.8

27 km
17 km west of Göksun, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey More
Feb 9, 2023 1:06 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 22:06 GMT)
3.6

2 km
38 km west of Gaziantep, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 12:59 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 21:59 GMT)
2.5

6.7 km
Gaziantep, 16 km southeast of Bahçe, Adana, Turkey More
Feb 9, 2023 12:55 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 21:55 GMT)
2.6

5 km
5 km west of Göksun, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 12:54 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 21:54 GMT)
2.8

5.5 km
48 km north of Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 12:47 am (GMT +3) (Feb 8, 2023 21:47 GMT)
2.9

5 km
Adana, 27 km southwest of Göksun, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.5 x 1013 joules (4.2 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3617 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Ankara, Turkey (ANTO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Ankara, Turkey: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Iskenderun Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Iskenderun?

The last earthquake in Iskenderun occurred 15 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.1 earthquake - CENTRAL TURKEY on Thursday, February 9, 2023 at 00:00 GMT.

How many quakes were there in Iskenderun today?

In the past 24 hours, Iskenderun, Hatay, Turkey had 129 quakes up to magnitude 5.4.

What was the strongest quake in Iskenderun today?

The strongest earthquake in Iskenderun today occurred 13 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.4 earthquake - Malatya, 18 km north of Gölbaşı, Adıyaman, Turkey, on Wednesday, Feb 8, 2023 at 2:11 pm (GMT +3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 9, 2023 00:15 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings