Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 22, 2021 14:23 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Oxford, Waimakariri District, Canterbury, New Zealand: past 7 days

Updated Oct 22, 2021 14:23 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Oxford was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 3.0 and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 2 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.0 quake Waimakariri District, Canterbury, New Zealand, Oct 18, 2021 4:22 am (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.5 quake South Island, Canterbury, 60 km south of Greymouth, New Zealand, Oct 22, 2021 9:28 am (GMT +13)
Most recent quake: 2.0 quake South Island, 90 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand, Oct 22, 2021 11:35 pm (GMT +13)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, October 22, 2021 10:35 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 22, 2021 11:35 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 22, 2021 10:35 GMT)
2.0

5 km
506 km (314 mi)South Island, 90 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, October 21, 2021 20:28 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 22, 2021 9:28 am (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2021 20:28 GMT)
2.5

5 km
469 km (291 mi)South Island, Canterbury, 60 km south of Greymouth, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 22, 2021 2:14 am (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2021 13:14 GMT)
1.9

5 km
494 km (307 mi)Pegasus Island, 28 km west of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 13:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 21, 2021 2:43 am (GMT +13) (Oct 20, 2021 13:43 GMT)
1.7

5 km
513 km (319 mi)South Island, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 23:43 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 18, 2021 12:43 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 17, 2021 23:43 GMT)
2.3

5 km
464 km (288 mi)Waimakariri District, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 4:22 am (GMT +13) (Oct 17, 2021 15:22 GMT)
3.0

4.6 km
472 km (293 mi)Waimakariri District, Canterbury, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 12:46 am (GMT +13) (Oct 17, 2021 11:46 GMT)
2.8

5 km
449 km (279 mi)Selwyn District, Canterbury, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.7 x 109 joules (1.02 megawatt hours, equivalent to 0.874 tons of TNT) More info

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.