Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Ferndale, California, USA, in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 1, 2023 10:29 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 32 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 20 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 30 days, Ferndale was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 8 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 32 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 20 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.1 | 4.4 mi SW of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.3 | 17 mi NE of McKinleyville, Humboldt County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Ferndale, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours2 quakes
Strongest quake: Mag. 1.5 on Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023 at 4:23 pm (GMT -8) – 18km SE of Petrolia, CA
Past 7 days14 quakes4 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+
Past 30 days62 quakes32 quakes M2+8 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days376 quakes200 quakes M2+34 quakes M3+8 quakes M4+1 quake M5+1 quake M6+
Past 365 days935 quakes426 quakes M2+62 quakes M3+15 quakes M4+1 quake M5+1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 15 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 1.7 or higher (67 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 24, 2023 5:47 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 25, 2023 01:47 GMT)
2.7

4.7 km
15 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Tuesday, January 24, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 24, 2023 10:20 am (GMT -8) (Jan 24, 2023 18:20 GMT)
2.7

24 km
26 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Sunday, January 22, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 22, 2023 1:49 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 22, 2023 21:49 GMT)
3.3

17 km
North Pacific Ocean, 23 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Jan 22, 2023 8:56 am (GMT -8) (Jan 22, 2023 16:56 GMT)
2.8

8.9 km
North Pacific Ocean, 48 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Jan 22, 2023 6:08 am (GMT -8) (Jan 22, 2023 14:08 GMT)
?

n/a
7.9 mi southeast of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMore
Saturday, January 21, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 21, 2023 3:58 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 21, 2023 23:58 GMT)
2.6

0.5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 24 mi northwest of Fort Bragg, Mendocino County, California, USA More
Jan 20, 2023 10:42 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 21, 2023 06:42 GMT)
1.9
25 mi northeast of Ukiah, Mendocino County, California, USA More
Jan 20, 2023 10:29 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 21, 2023 06:29 GMT)
1.7

4.1 km
50km W of Petrolia, CA More
Friday, January 20, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Jan 20, 2023 8:55 am (GMT -8) (Jan 20, 2023 16:55 GMT)
2.0

21 km
5.5 mi south of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Jan 20, 2023 12:32 am (GMT -8) (Jan 20, 2023 08:32 GMT)
2.1

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 24 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Jan 20, 2023 12:32 am (GMT -8) (Jan 20, 2023 08:32 GMT)
2.1

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 24 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Jan 20, 2023 12:01 am (GMT -8) (Jan 20, 2023 08:01 GMT)
4.3

25 km
17 mi northeast of McKinleyville, Humboldt County, California, USA 47 reportsMore
Thursday, January 19, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 19, 2023 12:30 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 19, 2023 20:30 GMT)
3.7

26 km
17 mi northeast of McKinleyville, Humboldt County, California, USA 1 reportMore
Jan 18, 2023 8:55 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 19, 2023 04:55 GMT)
2.0

17 km
North Pacific Ocean, 23 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Jan 18, 2023 8:55 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 19, 2023 04:55 GMT)
1.8

17 km
North Pacific Ocean, 14 mi southwest of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Wednesday, January 18, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 18, 2023 2:51 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 18, 2023 22:51 GMT)
?

n/a
16 mi north of Hydesville, Humboldt County, California, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMore
Jan 18, 2023 11:14 am (GMT -8) (Jan 18, 2023 19:14 GMT)
?

n/a
31 mi north of Klamath, Del Norte County, California, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMore
Jan 18, 2023 1:30 am (GMT -8) (Jan 18, 2023 09:30 GMT)
?

n/a
23 mi southeast of Crescent City, Del Norte County, California, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMore
Tuesday, January 17, 2023 GMT (7 quakes)
Jan 17, 2023 12:22 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 17, 2023 20:22 GMT)
2.0

14 km
15 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Jan 17, 2023 12:22 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 17, 2023 20:22 GMT)
2.0

14 km
15 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Jan 17, 2023 12:22 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 17, 2023 20:22 GMT)
2.0

14 km
15 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.7 x 1011 joules (103 megawatt hours, equivalent to 88.5 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA (MCCM/BK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Ferndale Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Ferndale?

The last earthquake in Ferndale occurred 1 day 19 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.1 earthquake - 4.4 mi southwest of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA, on Monday, Jan 30, 2023 at 7:20 am (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Ferndale past month?

In the past 30 days, Ferndale, California, USA had 67 quakes up to magnitude 4.3.

What was the strongest quake in Ferndale past month?

The strongest earthquake in Ferndale past month occurred 12 days ago: Light mag. 4.3 earthquake - 17 mi northeast of McKinleyville, Humboldt County, California, USA, on Friday, Jan 20, 2023 at 12:01 am (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 1, 2023 10:29 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings