Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Tirau, South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand: past 7 days

Updated Sep 17, 2021 03:06 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Tirau was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 16 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 11 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.2 quake 10.1 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, Sep 14, 2021 10:34 pm (GMT +12)
Biggest quake today: 2.5 quake Western Bay of Plenty District, 31 km south of Tauranga, New Zealand, Sep 16, 2021 8:52 pm (GMT +12)
Most recent quake: 2.3 quake Matamata-Piako District, Waikato, 32 km southwest of Tauranga, New Zealand, Sep 17, 2021 6:58 am (GMT +12)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (30 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thu, Sep 16, 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
Sep 17, 2021 6:58 am (GMT +12) (Sep 16, 2021 18:58:54 GMT)
2.3

236 km
37 km (23 mi)Matamata-Piako District, Waikato, 32 km southwest of Tauranga, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 16, 2021 10:59 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 16, 2021 10:59:29 GMT)
1.9
81 km (50 mi)Waikato District, 28 km northwest of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 16, 2021 8:52 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 16, 2021 08:52:40 GMT)
2.5

165 km
22 km (14 mi)Western Bay of Plenty District, 31 km south of Tauranga, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, Sep 15, 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
Sep 16, 2021 5:41 am (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 17:41:41 GMT)
1.8

142 km
19 km (12 mi)South Waikato District, 35 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 16, 2021 4:48 am (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 16:48:55 GMT)
2.5

209 km
60 km (37 mi)Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, 88 km south of Hamilton, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 16, 2021 4:28 am (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 16:28:51 GMT)
2.9

248 km
72 km (45 mi)Waitomo District, 92 km south of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 16, 2021 3:04 am (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 15:04:18 GMT)
2.0

127 km
55 km (34 mi)Waitomo District, 89 km south of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 15, 2021 7:56 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 07:56:03 GMT)
2.3

159 km
23 km (14 mi)South Waikato District, 19 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 15, 2021 5:57 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 15, 2021 05:57:42 GMT)
2.1

79 km
22 km (14 mi)8.6 km northeast of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, Sep 14, 2021 (GMT) (7 earthquakes)
Sep 15, 2021 11:47 am (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 23:47:46 GMT)
2.0

5 km
39 km (24 mi)10.4 km southwest of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 15, 2021 10:53 am (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 22:53:31 GMT)
2.0

197 km
16 km (9.9 mi)20 km northwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 15, 2021 8:42 am (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 20:42:59 GMT)
2.9

154 km
4 km (2.5 mi)9.2 km north of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 15, 2021 1:09 am (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 13:09:50 GMT)
2.3

66 km
17 km (10.6 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, 20 km northeast of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 15, 2021 12:20 am (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 12:20:35 GMT)
2.1

149 km
21 km (13 mi)24 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 10:34 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 10:34:11 GMT)
3.2

152 km
13 km (8.1 mi)10.1 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 3:56 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 14, 2021 03:56:58 GMT)
1.8

155 km
11 km (6.8 mi)25 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, Sep 13, 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
Sep 14, 2021 10:37 am (GMT +12) (Sep 13, 2021 22:37:32 GMT)
?

n/a
40 km (25 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 5.9 km north of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 8:52 am (GMT +12) (Sep 13, 2021 20:52:13 GMT)
1.5

174 km
14 km (8.7 mi)10.1 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 2:18 am (GMT +12) (Sep 13, 2021 14:18:09 GMT)
1.8

70 km
9 km (5.6 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, 24 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 13, 2021 8:58 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 13, 2021 08:58:29 GMT)
3.0

155 km
24 km (15 mi)28 km northwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 13, 2021 5:53 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 13, 2021 05:53:21 GMT)
2.4

150 km
15 km (9.3 mi)9.2 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, Sep 12, 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Sep 13, 2021 5:38 am (GMT +12) (Sep 12, 2021 17:38:15 GMT)
2.0

134 km
13 km (8.1 mi)4.2 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, Sep 11, 2021 (GMT) (7 earthquakes)
Sep 12, 2021 9:06 am (GMT +12) (Sep 11, 2021 21:06:04 GMT)
1.6

4.6 km
18 km (11 mi)21 km southeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 12, 2021 8:45 am (GMT +12) (Sep 11, 2021 20:45:08 GMT)
1.7

3.7 km
18 km (11 mi)20 km southeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 12, 2021 2:15 am (GMT +12) (Sep 11, 2021 14:15:52 GMT)
2.0

134 km
36 km (22 mi)34 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 11, 2021 10:11 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 11, 2021 10:11:32 GMT)
2.3

133 km
52 km (32 mi)Taupo District, 77 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 11, 2021 9:09 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 11, 2021 09:09:50 GMT)
1.9

115 km
26 km (16 mi)Taupo District, 85 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 11, 2021 6:56 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 11, 2021 06:56:45 GMT)
1.9

148 km
31 km (19 mi)South Waikato District, 29 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 11, 2021 12:17 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 11, 2021 00:17:55 GMT)
1.7

147 km
25 km (16 mi)27 km northwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, Sep 10, 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Sep 10, 2021 7:33 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 10, 2021 07:33:49 GMT)
1.0

3.1 km
8 km (5 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1010 joules (3.68 megawatt hours, equivalent to 3.17 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes
Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range!:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.